Neutrogena • Acne Stress Control Foam Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.3(163 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 auntita on 1/12/2014 12:13:00 AM more reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

The scent of this was ok and it felt like a very gentle face wash, maybe a little to gentle for me. It didn't break me out terribly but it just didn't leave my skin feeling really clean or like it was preventing any future breakouts. It did nothing for my oily skin and just left if feeling clogged the longer I use it. Not one I would use again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 desiremua on 10/8/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by desiremua

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After a ton of research, I decided to purchase this product in order to help prevent future breakouts and help attack my clogged pores. I used this product for about 3 weeks. Well, I am very aware when using a face wash, there is a high probability that your skin will get worse before it gets better.. But geez!! I have never had acne prone skin and the breakouts I have gotten around my nose area have been so awful to look at and painful to the touch, I'm not even sure what to do about it! They're finally just starting to dry up, but with that being said, my combination skin is also drying up and looking rather flakey. I moisturize every AM and PM, so it's definitely not lack of moisturizer. I wear makeup on a daily basis and the last few days, my skin looks awful underneath my makeup. You can see the flakey skin and the dry spots breaking through my foundation and powder. NOT ATTRACTIVE! I'm not exactly sure this face wash is something I'm going to be reaching for as a daily cleanser considering it's so overly drying to my skin, but maybe I'll continue to use it once a week in combination with a more hydrating cleanser instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBrittanyM on 6/27/2012 2:42:00 PM more reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up at Target when I was experiencing some odd acne (I very, very rarely get acne). I didn't do any research on it or linger in the aisle, I just skimmed the shelf and picked this. I must say I hate the scent. Few things make me gag as quickly as cucumber. The product itself is a gel-like texture, not particularly foamy, and lathers easily on the face. I feel like it got most, but not all, of my makeup off and didn't overdry my skin. However, I noticed no improvement in my skin or change in acne with about 10 days of use so I stuck it on my husband's side of the shower. Oddly enough, he loves it and it cleared up his skin and has kept it clear! I'm giving it 3 stars because it did work for one of us, but the scent and the fact that it didn't do what I needed it to keep me from repurchasing. We will go back to our Cetaphil and he can rebuy this one if he likes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 acam on 5/18/2012 3:04:00 AM more reviews by acam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Smells SOO good, but this stuff is FREAKING EVIL. You would think this product would be okay for my sensitive, acne-prone skin being that it only contained 0.5% Salicylic Acid, but nope. I used this maybe twice I think? Right away, noticed my skin was getting dry, but I wanted to believe that this stuff would clear my mild acne and it did, but I had a really bad reaction the second time around. My skin became not only dry, but ROUGH. I had to slather Vitamin E Oil on my face for DAYS. Had to return ASAP! Also burns!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilmissanxious on 2/2/2012 12:47:00 PM more reviews by lilmissanxious

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried being pacient with this product hoping it would help due to the fact i do have problems with stress. The only thing that this has prevented is me having soft clear skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kaileycrayons on 12/24/2011 9:26:00 PM more reviews by kaileycrayons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i used this product for about 2 months trying to be patient with it but no i could not take it any longer it did nothing for my skin and im experiencing the worst breakout of my entire life right now maybe not because of this exactly but either way it didnt work for me. it removes make up sort of and kind of cleanses ur face but no not really but it might might might have some positive effect on you but i doubt it this product sucks

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kjrose101 on 10/16/2011 12:21:00 PM more reviews by kjrose101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use this product about four years ago, and it worked like a dream. I was in the drug store and had a few blemishes I wanted to clear up, so I decided to pick up the old" tried and true." When I used this product it washed my makeup off but, I felt like it wasn't cleaning my pores, and boy was I right.I now suffer from break outs on my chin, and They won't go away. I'm so upset.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xxxoxoxo on 8/20/2011 5:58:00 PM more reviews by xxxoxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i don't use this as a daily cleanser but it's a great product to keep in the medicine cabinet to whip out when you feel a break-out coming through or have a few pimples you want to rid yourself of.

* seems to help "clean out" break-outs and/or pimples not just on the face, but neck/ back as well.
* i also sometimes use it preventatively - when my skin is either being extra nasty or i've put something disgustingly oily or possibly pore-clogging on it.
* would probably make a good daily cleanser for oilier-skinned people - i would've probably loved this in high school.

* neutrogena's "oil-free acne stress control 3-in-1 hydrating acne treatment" (a 2% salicylic acid acne treatment lotion) is also worth looking into for simple acne especially for dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 7/10/2011 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was just an okay cleanser for me. Did it cleanse my face? Yes. But did it get rid of acne? Not even close. Actually I suffered my worst breakout ever while using it. I don't blame this for that. I blame my job because I jump around and sweat in the Florida sun. But for a cleanser that has salicylic acid and is supposed to help with acne, I would have expected my breakout to clear up faster. And for that, I wouldn't re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 midnightblue1536 on 6/7/2011 7:37:00 PM more reviews by midnightblue1536

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This an ok cleanser for me. It didn't have any bad or positive result on my skin, it was just like another cleanser. The foam action just makes washing my face more fun...I guess. Although, it did dry my skin which is good since I have oily skin, I probably wouldn't rebuy this product. It really didn't do anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products