Smashbox • High Definition Healthy FX Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.2(325 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/26/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It's great coverage but for me too heavy and oily. It's not great for long term except when used on clear skin in conjunction with the other primers/concealers/products in their line.. They all seem to have the same texture going on & go great all together. This foundation alone is just "ok" almost like a cheaper "Matte Lumiere" by Chanel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cati93 on 6/23/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by cati93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Was really happy with the coverage as it did give me a really nice overall finish but made me break out horribly on my cheeks which I'm still trying to get rid of now 1 year later.. loved it but unfortunately would not buy again due to my oily/combo skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KB333 on 1/19/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by KB333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I totally thought this would have higher reviews. I have to use this foundation now along with my HALO powder because it just leaves my skin looking flawless. I just can't achieve this appearance with any other foundation (then again I can only compare it to drug store foundations). The only downside is that the foundation is a shade lighter than me, but if I pair it with my HALO powder it doesn't matter because the color blends in. The color starts to look better after each hour, by the end of the day I feel like my face is so beautiful, flawless, and glowing.

I just can't go without this stuff. It's amazing! Yes expensive..but I believe this has ingredients that enhance your overall skin after some uses. So it's worth it.

You can check out a review at youtube.com/xoKEEBUUxo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 volcaniclungs on 9/16/2013 7:10:00 PM more reviews by volcaniclungs

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for so many months, and it is a decent, but expensive product. There were days when the foundation looked great on my skin, and others when they didn't. It is pretty thick, and sometimes watery. I pump it on the back of my hand and when it comes out watery, I just tilt my hand so the watery stuff separates and runs off. It gives a medium coverage because I can still see some spots under it, but it helps even out everything. I guess it can be buildable coverage, but if I add another layer of this foundation on, it gets a little thicker and harder to smoothly apply - and then looks noticeable. The first layer looks more natural. It does last for a long time, but if I touch my face, it can come off. Maybe it's the oils on my face that build up after a couple hours, but I hate having to be careful not to touch my face. Sometimes I want to scratch my nose or something but instead I have to poke it because I don't want any foundation to come off haha. Sometimes, after a while, the foundation looked uneven on my smile line, so I would have to lightly wipe it to blend it back in. It didn't contribute to giving me break outs, and I like how there is an SPF and a pump (which once broke), though there are probably better foundations, but it also depends on your skin tone and type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lucym98 on 9/1/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by lucym98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Buying this foundation was the worst mistake. It is too expensive for what it is. Firstly, it is so watery and really hard to mix with the actual foundation, it comes out of the pump like water. The colors are orange based, I ordered the color light but when on it is a cakey-orange blob on my face. Another problem with this foundation is the coverage is terrible, it didn't cover acne scars or even my freckles, which is my personal preference. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT! Although, there is one good thing about the brand, I emailed a complaint about the foundation and I didn't hear anything for 2 months until a package came from them with the complexion perfection box.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JulieTaboulli on 8/25/2013 11:10:00 AM more reviews by JulieTaboulli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Preface: On the hunt for perfect foundation. I have fair, dry-combination skin, with a few red marks in my cheek/nose area. Other than that, I do not need a full-coverage product, just something that evens, covers where it needs to, and sinks into my skin correctly.

Oh, I wanted to love this so badly! The color was perfect, and I had high hopes that the thicker consistency would provide awesome coverage while still being a light-wear foundation. And it was SO close. The coverage was mostly flawless, and it didn't feel like I was wearing gallons of makeup. But it didn't absorb into my skin well at all -- it covered my pores awkwardly, and you could definitely tell I was wearing makeup. When I asked my boyfriend his honest opinion, he confirmed my suspicions saying it looked "powdery." I do have combination-dry skin in some places, so perhaps this would work better for those with oilier skin.. But perhaps not. My nose (oil & shine prevalent) had each pore perfectly outlined by Smashbox's HD.. Sadness.

Bottom line: Won't repurchase. Doesn't absorb into skin well at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JayLeigh32 on 8/20/2013 9:26:00 AM more reviews by JayLeigh32

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product over a year ago as my first real liquid foundation but I regret the purchase. It separates easily and gives MINIMAL coverage which drives me insane. It feels oily on the skin and the pump breaks very easily. It just stops working. It has happened to me with 2 different bottles. The longer you own the product the gloopy-er it gets and after a few months it feels gross to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sandra310 on 8/5/2013 7:37:00 PM more reviews by Sandra310

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product caused me too break out . I had to return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ll297 on 7/31/2013 7:36:00 PM more reviews by ll297

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Used the whole bottle, didn't hate it, but I probably won't repurchase. It never fully sinks in, or as a MAC counter girl told me once, "dries down," so if you like the dewy look, this is for you. If you hate accidentally brushing your face and leaving a scuff mark in your foundation, this isn't your stuff. Medium coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glitter22 on 7/11/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by glitter22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really wanted to like this foundation but the colours were just too wrong. I tried 3 different shades (F1, F2, L1) to make sure but they all looked quite dark no matter how light I went. In the end it just resulted in the same colour which was orange. The more lighter you go the more pink and orange you look, I looked peachy! The darker shades make you look obviously tanned. I noticed these foundations don't have enough yellow in them hence why everything looks so orange. The feel of the foundation was smoothly soft and the pump was great but the only thing that let it down was essentially the colour range. They need to be more perfected. I also noticed the same problem with the studio fix foundation too. I would not recommend for Asian skin tones as they need some yellow tones to balance skin out and not be overloaded with orange. Foundations shades need to look like skin colours and not something artificial looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Foundations products