Dove • Cool Moisture Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 flappergirl35 on 1/31/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by flappergirl35

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine, color treated hair and I love Dove! It moisturizes, doesn't weigh my hair down and I love the soft scent. I have been using this for awhile and it has made my brittle, damaged hair soft and shiny.

This is one of the best shampoos I've used.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pixelsicle on 10/25/2013 6:08:00 AM more reviews by pixelsicle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have thick, course, color treated hair and have been using doves moisture line for awhile now. I've tried more expensive lines and even they don't compare to how this line makes my hair feel. I recently fried my hair after a coloring and after a week of trying two other treatments, both left in for an hour, they didn't help nearly as much as my regular treatment. One was a argan oil treatment and one was a kolestral treatment. Though they both didn't hurt I didn't feel like my hair was back to normal until I left in the conditioning portion of dove's daily moisture for about 5 minutes. Bottom line, if you find something that works, stick with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/3/2013 8:01:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a huge bottle of this from BJs (because I had a coupon, not because I had heard good things about it, I picked this up purely for the price) and it has taken me months and months to get through it. It cleans my hair really well, lathers nicely and smells really fresh. My very fine limp hair is bouncy afterwards (if I don't use any conditioner) and feels very healthy. I don't get any buildup on my hair like other reviewers have noticed, but then I don't use any styling products at all on my hair. I still have to wash my hair every day or else it gets greasy, but this shampoo is great for making my hair feel clean and fresh without stripping it of moisture. I will definitely buy this one again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xxsteff07 on 6/22/2013 7:03:00 PM more reviews by xxsteff07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

My dad bought a big bottle of this at Costco for himself by mistake - he has very fine natural dark blonde hair that tends to get oily, so this was definitely not for him ! So I decided to try it. I have very thick hair that can get quite dry because I frequently use a flat iron. At first, I was very happy with it because I had no flyaways whatsoever and it weighed my hair down a bit, which I liked because I have too much volume ! It gave me a very sleek look. But I noticed after a few washes that it left a waxy feeling in my hair, which I DIDN'T like at all - this often happens with moisture shampoos. My fringe was especially oily and it never is normally. I don't understand how someone with fine hair could use this. Your hair has to veeeery damaged for this to work correctly, imo.
I thought this was going to be the right shampoo for me :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caralee419 on 9/29/2011 10:43:00 AM more reviews by Caralee419

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo because i wanted to try everything in doves cool moisture line, I really liked this shampoo at first, i was surprised that a "moisturizing" shampoo cleaned my oily and fine hair that well. All they had at the store was a huge salon pump 25 ounce bottle so i am still using it. I noticed after a while though that it really started to weigh my hair down, i guess there is just too much product build up in this shampoo for me, ill have to go back to a clarifying shampoo that super cleans my hair. I love the scent and since i have so much of it i use it as a body wash too! i would recommend this to someone with medium/thick hair as i think it would work better on those hair types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 goldieb19 on 8/15/2011 12:38:00 AM more reviews by goldieb19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For me, this is just a so-so, very basic shampoo. The scent of the product is lovely and extremely long lasting (I promise--you will catch whiffs of it in your hair throughout the day), it gets my hair squeaky clean, and it has never caused any build up. So for that, I do like the Dove Cool Moisture Shampoo. However, I don't feel like it really adds anything to my hair or improves its condition in any way. I mean, sure, it gets it clean, but I don't experience any more softness or added moisture than I would with a non-moisturizing shampoo. The Dove Cool Moisture shampoo is one of the hair products that I normally use as a "default"--if I'm in the grocery store and in need of shampoo, but I'm not really sure which one to pick, I'll get this one just because it's cheap, smells nice, and will make me hair look okay. But there's nothing special about it, and I doubt that it will be anyone's HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bonobogirl on 6/21/2011 11:33:00 AM more reviews by bonobogirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo smells great. It has a cool, fresh scent, like candied cucumbers, with a slight crisp bite of green apple underneath. I got whiffs of the smell from my hair throughout the day, so the scent does last. It also kept my straight-ish, virgin, oily, fine hair from looking greasy and flat after a few hours. However, this shampoo also made my hair dull looking. I don't think it necessarily dried out my hair, but it just killed all reflectivity, and my hair is usually very shiny. Conditioner and shine products didn't help. Oh well, I'm back to using Johnson's Head-to-Toe Baby Wash for my shampoo. I'll use the cool moisture conditioner and spray the cool essentials body mist in my hair, so I'll still get the lovely fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 susanwylie67 on 9/8/2010 9:48:00 PM more reviews by susanwylie67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was really impressed with this shampoo and conditioner. I switch around all the time, and this may actually be the first shampoo that I buy again when I run out. My hair is dry, color treated, and although I try to be kind to it, it still takes a beating and seems frizzy and straw like a lot of the time. But the Dove shampoo and conditioner made my hair clean, soft and bouncy, like run your fingers through it bouncy. I did not give it a five, because I'm sure there is some million dollar shampoo out there that is fabulous...but why spend a million dollars?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ScholarBeauty12 on 5/28/2010 12:55:00 PM more reviews by ScholarBeauty12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually really like this. My hair loves it. It makes my hair bouncy and grease-free for the whole day. (I have oily skin and oily hair, so finding a shampoo that doesn't make my hair greasy by nightfall is difficult). It doesn't cause build up and it smells great. No frizziness, no grease, just beautiful bouncy hair. My hair is very fine, so it's great that something can prevent it from weighing it down. The damage control aspect of it works well, too. I blow dry and straighten each day and have yet to see any visible damage. Awesome stuff! The only gripe I have is that the shampoo goops up at the top of the cap, but no biggie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarolinaMidwife on 5/23/2010 8:15:00 PM more reviews by CarolinaMidwife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Like.

I think this is a good grocery store available shampoo. I go back and forth, one month I will feel like I have to have something like Bumble and Bumble and the next I will want to keep it cheap. This line is good for when you want to keep it cheap but don't want haystack hair.

I have fine, dry, wavy, hair that I beat into submission with highlights and straightening and this shampoo (with it's matching conditioner) work fine for my relatively difficult hair. No build up, not heavy, good smell. Like.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Shampoo products