Laura Mercier • Mineral Powder SPF 15 • Powder

rated 4.0(565 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nathalierae on 8/6/2014 12:59:00 AM more reviews by nathalierae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm not one to splurge on makeup products, but I'm glad I spent $38 on this the other day. I absolutely love it! I'm very much a bb/cc/tinted moisturizer kind of girl, but I've been trying to find a decent mineral foundation for sensitive skin--one that didn't contain a bunch of unnecessary ingredients. In addition to being very sensitive, my skin can get somewhat oily in the T-zone with mild acne from time to time, and the rest of my face is normal to dry depending on the season. Without a primer, this lasts about 5-6 hours without looking shiny on me. It doesn't cake up and has excellent coverage. I have yet to try it with a primer, but I can only assume that it will look flawless all day. I'm in college & I commute for quite a ways in the mornings, so I don't like spending a vast amount of my time applying makeup. A little concealer, topped off with this and my skin looks great! The shade "real sand" works very well with my half white and half latino complexion. The packaging is also very practical--it has a plastic swivel lid inside to close the sifter. I wish every loose powder could be packaged this way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harls321 on 8/4/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by harls321

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It is a good mineral foundation but it didn't wow me like the high reviews I read all over the internet. I am a medium skin tone and matched to Rich Vanilla. The match was good and the coverage was nice but I found it to be too shimmery for my oily skin. I prefer LM oil free tinted moisturizer instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 addkg777 on 8/1/2014 7:27:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this powder was pretty nice. theres sooo much product and itll last forever. the only thing that killed it for me was the shimmer. i cant do it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 6/26/2014 6:23:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only tried a couple of mineral powders but I think I might have to give up. I like the fact that this didn't irritate my sensitive skin, but that's about it.

BareMinerals was super-drying and heavy on me, and broke me out. SilkNaturals looked really cakey and felt itchy. I figured I'd try LM's version to try and achieve that nice sheer-matte finish with just a little bit of coverage for my trouble spots and redness. The good news: it didn't dry me out at all and I was able to find a color match right off the bat -- the lightest one was a little too dark for me in winter, but it's perfect for summertime.

The bad news: it "gave" me pores. My skin is not even close to oily and my pores are, thankfully, pretty small. However, with this stuff, my pores were more emphasized than if I were wearing no makeup at all. I tried it without moisturizer underneath and it was better, but still pretty pore-y. I've attempted every technique and brush type known to man and I just can't get it to smooth out. If there's a learning curve to MMU, I've either missed it by a mile or my skin type is just not compliant with mmu formulations.

I guess I could use it with a primer, but that kind of defeats the purpose of an easy, light, one-step process. So this powder has been demoted to my concealer-setting powder in summertime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lillyalice on 6/20/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by lillyalice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I reviewed this after the 2nd day i wore it and gave it 5 lippies, as I thought it was outstanding. After 2 weeks my skin has broken out and I am now noticing this powder accents pores. I never have even noticed pores on my face before i used this foundation.....This powder really accentuates them!

Im so disappointed as it does give a beautiful finish except for the pore enhancing, and its also a tad too pearly shimmer. (even used with primers)

I have used estee lauder double wear powder for years and its been my holy grail, dont know why i though i was ever going to find better, i will be going back to my estee lauder tomorrow.

If your skin can handle this product, then im sure its a beautiful product for some people. My skin is not overly sensitive, and I couldnt handle this a day longer...would not
recommend unless your skin handles anything you slap on it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Songbird222 on 6/11/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by Songbird222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my daily foundation. It does not oxidize and turn orange; the color is a perfect match for my skin; it has fantastic buildable coverage; and looks completely natural. It's not cakey, and a little bit goes a long way. It's expensive, but it lasts so long it's totally worth it. Non-comedogenic and safe for acne prone skin. I love this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Uletbulu on 5/13/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by Uletbulu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I like this product. It's a bit pricey but I do believe that high-end foundation is unlikely to oxidize, which was one of my biggest problem with other drugstore foundation. And really, this product doesn't oxidize. It's easy to apply with kabuki brush. If I want more coverage, I apply it more. But the max coverage it can do didn't give me medium to full coverage. I still can see my acne scars, they are just not red like when I didn't wear this product. I usually use this over my moustouriser. It shines at my face because I hear this product contain crushed pearl. It is not matte. But I think it makes my face glowing and look younger. Even though after few hours my face still get oily and I have to blot it. And this product doesn't make me break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 5/1/2014 1:04:00 AM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've now come to the conclusion that Laura Mercier face products and myself are just not meant to be. They just never work for me and this mineral powder regrettably, was not an exception. I bought this mineral powder cause my favourite youtuber, Estée from essiebutton raves about this powder and we like a lot of the same face products so I thought I'd give this a go. I bought it for $42+ tax at Sephora in Canada in the shade Soft Porcelain. The shade selection for fair skinned girls has to be the best thing about this powder. I rarely find foundations that are light enough for my porcelain skin in the winter and this one matches it perfectly. First off, the packaging sucks. I cannot believe that for $42, Laura Mercer didn't put this powder in a smoked glass jar, but instead put it in smoked plastic. If Revlon can turn profit putting their products in plastic jars, so can Laura Mercier- no excuses. The next thing which doesn't work about this powder is application. As with every face product I test, I try applying it and using it in every way known to mankind as I did with this one as well. Water based primer, silicone based primer, no primer, 4 different moisturizers, kabuki brush, stippling brush, beauty blender, paddle brush, round kabuki, flat kabuki, angled kabuki, I could just not get this stuff to not apply super patchy with the first few times resulted in me using way more product than was necessary. Now when it is on my face for the first hour in the areas it did apply evenly to, the powder looks beautiful. It provides me with medium coverage, gives me skin the most gorgeous radiance finish- it looks completely airbrushed and my dry, dead, flaking skin looks healthy for once! But literally an hour later, it is mostly gone and the little that remains of the powder has settled in to my smile lines and girl, I'm only 17, this should not be happening to a baby faced, wrinkle- free teen. I tried the powder on my mom just to add a bit more coverage to her liquid foundation and it settled in to all the lines on her face within a matter of minutes. Yikes.... I wouldn't say that this powder has no redeeming qualities because the porcelain shades and the finish of this powder are completely flawless but I could not for the life of me, get it to apply evenly or last. This powder seems to have clearly worked for quite a few people so don't lose complete faith in it after reading this review but it didn't work for me and I will be going back to Sephora for a refund.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karensmua on 4/13/2014 8:53:00 AM more reviews by karensmua

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Firstly, does anyone else find that this sits in fine lines? I haven't had this problem with Bare Minerals but this does seem to accentuate fine lines on me. Having said that, I do prefer the coverage it gives, especially over my melasma; I barely have to conceal it after applying the powder. And ignoring the fine lines issue I'm having, the overall effect is definitely far more dewy and natural than bare minerals which always looks good when I apply it but seems to oxidise and turn me into an oompah loompah as the day wears on! I should also add that on the second day of wearing this I was asked for ID buying alcohol (you have to be 18 here in the uk). The girl who asked for my ID was probably 20/21 years old and her face was a picture when she studied my ID and realised I was actually 36! So maybe I'm being a bit paranoid about the lines....

As far as application goes, this is really easy to blend on my face. I did find that the perfectionist in me wasn't happy with the initial application and so I found myself layering more on. But purely by chance, my phone rang after the first application the other day, which meant I went back to the mirror after about 5 minutes and found that the product seemed to have settled into my skin better and didn't require that second application that I'd been doing. So now I just put one application on and then wait for the magic to happen!

As far as packaging goes, this is also much better than Bare Minerals. A nice big pot that you can really swirl the product in, and the twist lid doesn't cake up and jam like the bare minerals does.

I have said that I will buy this product again, and I would, despite the fine line's issue I'm having. I think I just need to amp up my moisturising a bit - I tend to suffer from dry skin on my face and I think it's just getting worse with age. But despite my dry skin, this does leave a really dewy/glowy look on my face. I actually thought it was making my skin oily when I first started using it - which pleased me no-end (dry skin sucks!), but then I realised that it just gives me a luminous glow which isn't glittery or fake in any way.

So to sum up, I do actually love this foundation. Within a week of using it I've been age checked, and had a few people tell me that my skin looks great. My boss even asked me if I'd changed my makeup because my skin was looking so radiant (I'm known for my skin issues....I must obsess more than I thought about it!)

EDIT: I should say I've only given this 3 lippies at the moment because of the fine line issue and if anyone else is like me they start with the less than perfect reviews to find out what the issues are. I'm going to try hydrating my face a bit more and will see if it makes a difference, so I'll update when I've given that a go.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wenqing on 4/1/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by wenqing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

my holy grail mineral foundation. the powder is the creamiest and most finely milled out of all the mineral foundations i've used, and extremely airy and lightweight. covers minor redness and undereye darkness with just a sheer layer and can be built up to a fuller coverage with one more layer. only complaint is that none of the colors matches me perfectly, i'm golden fair in bareminerals original, 117 in MUFE HD, porcelain in laura mercier tinted moisturizer, the shade soft porcelain is just a lil too light and not yellow enough, real sand is too dark/orange, rose tender although i never tried is obviously pink. i would mix the two but just can't be bothered on some mornings. it has a pearlescent sheen to it, when i look in the mirror in sun light i can see tiny shimmer particles, but it's more natural than bareminerals original with that almost metallic sheen if you buff too much. tried laura mercier mineral foundation primer(the one that comes in a tube) with the powder but that did nothing and kind of drying my skin out, so now i just apply it on top of sunscreen, it blends easily too. rescently bought a new jar but the packaging doesn't state spf15 like it used to.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Powder products