L'Oreal • Pro Manicure Nail Polish - Stroke of Midnight 580 • Polishes

rated 3.4(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 strokegirl on 6/7/2013 12:39:00 PM more reviews by strokegirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure what these other reviewers are talking about, but the color "Stroke Of Midnight" has no burgundy tones whatsoever...at least mine does not. Stroke Of Midnight is a beautiful graphite/deep blue color, which I found to be very classy looking. Love the brush, and find that the color goes on more evenly and streak free because of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 10/15/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous dark burgundy color but formula and wear was horrible. Formula was streaky and this chipped so quick, even with my trusty seche vite top coat. Def would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleogirl on 5/12/2010 7:31:00 PM more reviews by cleogirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just put this on to give me a break from all the spring / summer shades I've been wearing and wow! This is such a gorgeous deep dark burgundy, Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction red! I needed 3 coats to get this even but am sooo in love with it! Vixen from Revlon just didn't work for me for some reason but this definitely does!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diana6 on 1/28/2010 9:04:00 PM more reviews by diana6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Lovely dark, purplish color, but the staying power is terrible! It chips way too quickly and easily for such a dark color. I even used it together with the base coat and top coat from the same Pro Manicure line- it peeled right off in the shower! Ugh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Noboho on 9/3/2009 1:11:00 PM more reviews by Noboho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my favorite nail polish color. I'm beginning to fall madly in love with L'oreal's nail polishes. They make a fantastic selection of shades and the finish is always stunning. Stroke of Midnight is a VERY deep violet infused burgundy color. It's super dramatic and I prefer it to black which a lot of people are into. This gives all the intensity and edge of a black polish without being so grungy looking. This nail polish is one word : CHIC. Will certainly repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gseymour on 2/23/2009 6:53:00 PM more reviews by gseymour

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

One word. Yum!

This is an amazing color for me, with my medium toned skin, I can wear this day in and night out. The only real criticism I have is that it seems to dry quite slowly, and I have to extremely careful ot to nick or smudge it before it dries completely. Once dry, it lasts a long time without any chipping problems (and I am *not* that careful with my nails). Love it, love it, love it! A staple in my makeup box.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 1/11/2009 9:09:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like Milani Black Cherry, this is a great affordable vampy nail color. This is more flattering than OPI LPAD/LPAD and is not as black/brown as OPI Boris & Natasha. Fantastic shiny creme finish and a steal at BOGOF for $5. The first coat applies sheer and streaky but it recovers on the second coat. I personally wear three coats and topped with a durable topcoat, it lasts all week. Looks great on toes or short trimmed fingernails. I'd definitely repurchase this shade when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mojie on 9/12/2008 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my favorite nail polishes in spite of being cheap and having a tendency towards peeling within a few days of application (I'm sure it doesn't help that I apply a good 3 coats to some my toenails - I don't have issues with the smaller nails, but my big toes need more coats - to get the coverage and color I want).



The color is really appealing to me, but could be boring to some people. It's a very deep, nearly black red that has a great shine when applied in several coats, especially if you put a top coat on it. No glitter, no shimmer, no fancy effects, just a simple dark, dark red. Which is just what I want.



I have several bottles of this laying around because it's my favorite color to paint my toenails and I won't hesitate to buy more as I run out, but it's not incredible nail polish. I love it for the color and the price is decent, so for those things it gets a 4. I'd rather have an OPI polish in the same shade for quality and packaging reasons (OPI's brushes are easier to use and leave less streaks), but so far I haven't found a good replacement (Black Cherry Chutney has come closest, but it has shimmer).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 h0cusp0cus on 8/26/2008 1:21:00 AM more reviews by h0cusp0cus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a fantastic dark color. For those that want almost black but not black this is it. I have bought it 2 times. Yes after a while the polish gets thick..had to but a second bottle. But I mean it's 2-2.50 on sale so whatever. The first coat is more dark purple with streak but the second coat evens it all out. Does take a steady hand to make sure its not streaky.

I love the pro line from Loreal I think it rivals OPI and its 1/4 the price when it is on sale.

BEWARE i didn't see a review for the light colors but the light colors from this pro line are so light they are barely noticeable on your nail even with multiple layers...didn't know where to put this so I just wrote it here :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nikkifreakinnb on 6/23/2008 11:17:00 PM more reviews by nikkifreakinnb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my favorite nail polish color everrr! this is seriously my main nail polish that i turn to for special events. i love dark nail polish, even in the summer! it's a pretty dark wine color. i'm not usually partial to straight-black nail polish, i like colors that are well-rounded and rich with color and this color is absolutely perfect.

i also find this nail polish formula to be really surprising. for it's price ( i believe it's usually under $4), there is minimal chipping. sometimes i'll leave nail polish on when i'm clipping my nails down to a shorter shape and the nail polish is still on my nails with ZERO chipping. that's some pretty amazing staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Polishes products