Giorgio Armani • Designer Shaping Foundation Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.8(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/26/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very good brush - I use this to apply GA Luminous Silk, L'oreal True Match Lumi, NARS The Radiant Cream, etc and other foundations as well. It surprisingly blends very well and doesn't leave streaks and is smaller than most foundation brushes so it is easy to get into all the smaller areas of your face. It's super soft, never scratchy or uncomfortable on skin and I have no problems with it absorbing too much product like some natural hair brushes do. I use this by either dotting foundation on the skin, then using the brush to blend it out, or by pouring out a bit of foundation onto the top of my hand and dabbing the brush into the foundation while I work in sections on my face. It really gives a nice, imperceptible finish when used with a good foundation. I've had this for probably 1.5-2 years and it has never shed during application or washing, and the handle and ferrule are still in perfect condition so I would say this is excellent quality and well-made. Expensive - but brushes are an investment and can last forever if you take good care of them.

Although I would repurchase, at this time, I find myself reaching more often for fluffier, more rounded brushes (for example the Sephora Professional Airbrush Foundation brush) to apply foundation because I feel they give a more natural sheer application. The GA is better for a heavier, medium-fuller coverage application, especially with cream foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mommyandmore on 3/29/2013 11:03:00 AM more reviews by Mommyandmore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this to apply liquid foundation and I've found it makes a big difference. It makes application much faster and more professional looking. I squirt a bit of foundation (half a pump) onto the back of my hand, and tap this brush into it to pick up only a little dot. I trace the nasal folds on my face towards the nose, dotting as I go, and then across my cheekbones under my eyes. I quickly blend in tiny circles, and then do the same for my nose, chin, and forehead. I've found that this allows me to get the most coverage where I have the most redness. If I tap a tiny bit more foundation on my nose and then swirl softly, I can cover up my pores in 2 seconds.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AsianDiva123 on 1/12/2012 1:08:00 AM more reviews by AsianDiva123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The most expensive and best brush I own. It blends foundation smoothly and beautifully. I've even used it for contouring and it works just as well. The hair is soft. Every time after I wash it, the hair goes back to the same shape. It's expensive but worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ibrusat on 1/16/2010 5:40:00 AM more reviews by ibrusat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Very good brush, it is smaller than the usual foundation brush and blends liquid very well (it does not "drag" foundation). Very expensive as it is made of real hair, but very good quality. I use it to apply foundation and GA sheer illuminators. If you have to invest in a brush this it!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hcyvKAY on 11/3/2009 8:31:00 PM more reviews by hcyvKAY

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this brush!!! Of course, it works the best with luminous silk foundation and lasting silk uv foundation, but i have also used it with other liquid foundations, and I dare to say that this is the best brush I have ever used (I have used Shu Uemura, MAC, and Bobbi Brown). It is a bit more expensive than the other products, but it is definately worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* citylady on 10/15/2009 11:48:00 PM more reviews by citylady

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best foundation brush I have used. I have Bobbi brown's, Trish McEvoy's & Chanel's. They are all good but this is excellent. It may be because the Armani brush has both natural & synthetic hair while the others are totally synthetic.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 saintsvalentine on 6/19/2009 6:02:00 PM more reviews by saintsvalentine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's a good brush, no doubt. One of the best I've used. I think it's very hard to find a good foundation brush, and I've tried many of them. Either they shed, or they're too stiff or fluffy, or the handle is too long. This one is basically perfect for applying liquid or cream foundation. There's nothing I didn't like about it. Except the pricetag. I've found ones that work just as well for $30 or less. I used it, and then used synthetic brushes from benefit and philosophy, and got the same results. Not worth $50, so it's going back. If I were really desperate and absolutely could not find anything as good as this brush, I would keep it. But it's really just a luxury, not a necessity since I have others I like.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swolf123 on 3/28/2009 6:11:00 PM more reviews by swolf123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was introduced to this brush by a GA SA, while I was looking for a new foundie. I actually love my BB foundie brush, but I'm always open to new & better products. Since I rely on MUA for most of my MU purchases, I decided to check out the reviews before I dropped $50. I've used it a few times and I do like it. Compared to my BB brush, it has smaller/denser brush head, shorter in length & made w/ different materials. The smaller size make it a little more portable, the hairs don't split/spread from only one use (which causes streaking), and I'm able to spread my foundation even thinner and smoother. Good so far, just wish it was as big as my BB brush; but that might be the reason it doesn't tend to split from use.


Update: I really like this brush, maybe even more than BB's. It really improves the look of my foundie. For reference, I use more of a patting motion, instead of a sweeping one, to apply. My EL DWL looks airbrushed with this. I thought I had a so-so foundie, but w/ this brush I think I like my foundie again. Who knew. So is it worth $50+? I think it is if you don't have perfect skin already or if you want to be able to achieve expert application with any foundie.


UpdateII: Sheds worse than a dog in the summer, but still my favorite foundie brush by far. 1 lippie off for making me deal with shedding every morning.


UpdateIII: This $50+ brush is already ready for the trash. I've about given up on all Foundie brushes and have moved on to sponges.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loci on 1/11/2009 11:36:00 PM more reviews by loci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The King of the foundation brushes, this is the IT brush!
Its good for both liquid and cream foundation products, I've tried more than 20 high end foundations and this works for all (except Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer which is better to applied with fingers). The shape of the bristles is perfect for even application and you get th eright amount on your face. Sometime its not the foundation that's wrong, its the brush :)
The only thing I do not like is the natural smell when I first got it. But after a few washes it went away. I use this everyday and it speeds up my makeup time, I only need 2 min to apply foundations now! YAY!
Click continue to see comparision pics of #13 and #15:





The one with thicker handle, lighter color of bristles, and less fluffy is #15.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atsugari on 12/15/2008 4:06:00 PM more reviews by atsugari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The SA used this brush to apply the LSF on me and I looked flawless. Even better than when the MAC SA applied MAC mineralized satin finish. It looked airbrushed. I'm considering buying this brush even if the brush costs almost that same as buying the foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Makeup Brushes products