Kuumba Made Egyptian Musk

4.2

28 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/17/2015 3:21:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Per 4/27/15 US Weekly magazine "What's in my bag?" article (pg. 10) -- it showed the purse contents of Carole Radziwill, 51, from Real Housewives of New York. She says she always carries her roll-on bottle of Egyptian Musk perfume in her bag -- and she says she bought it from a subway vendor.

In the article's photo, they pictured a Kuumba Made Egyptian Musk roll-on bottle. I doubt Kuumba Made was the actual brand she bought from a subway vendor -- maybe it was? -- but it was pictured in the article's photo.

I bought 2 Kuumba Made Egyptian Musks (1/8 oz roll-on) from a health food store last year, making it my freshest, newest Egyptian Musk. I like this brand pretty well, compared to my others (I have several brands). I think it's best if Egyptian Musk oil is as freshly-bought as possible, since I find it can go "off". But then, oils touch skin, which could be part of the problem with the freshness factor of this -- or any -- perfume oil.

I have several brands of Egyptian Musk -- Oil Hut, Body Time, Nemat, Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess, plus several nameless roll-ons I picked up in various musk kiosks. Although I'm a musk fiend, I don't wear my Egyptian oils very often. I keep buying new brands trying to find *the one* I finally fall in love with -- but I feel like I still haven't found my perfect Egyptian Musk oil.

Somehow, I never get that light, clean effect that everyone talks about -- mine always feel cloying & smothering to me -- a bit heavy -- thick and oily -- and sometimes they even smell bad or like they've gone "off".

I wish Egyptian Musk actually smelled cleaner -- or I could find a brand of it that smells strong, yet clean. Carole Radziwill says in the article that she always carries her roll-on in her bag and that people stop her and tell her, "You smell good!". She said, "It's an aphrodisiac".

So I pulled out my Kuumba Made, and I'm wearing it today -- but as usual, I'm not particularly enjoying it. Too heavy, too cloying, too smothering, not fresh-smelling enough -- I don't know why I just can't get Egyptian Musk oil to work for me. It seems to have such a huge following and is the signature scent of so many.

Legend has it that Caroline Bessette Kennedy made the Al-Rehab Egyptian Musk brand her signature? (I've never tried that brand) and that Sarah Jessica Parker used to wear a 3-layer combo that included a street vendor's Egyptian Musk plus CdG Avignon and Bonne Bell Skin.

I'm a huge fan of the "Narciso Rodriguez For Her" fragrance line -- and they say Egyptian Musk is Narciso's favorite scent -- and he based his "For Her" line on that scent. I really prefer his "For Her" line to any of my straight up Egyptian Musk oils -- but then I generally prefer to use sprays over perfume oils.



on 1/29/2013 8:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If I hadn't experienced Auric Blends' take on Egyptian musk before Kuumba Made's I would probably love this. I got worried at first because I DID get a fecal note as others have mentioned but luckily it went away quickly and left a nice if plain musk scent. A little more quiet and powdery than Egyptian Goddess, this is the skin scent of all skin scents, virtually indetectable as a "perfume." Good for cuddling and days where you don't want to smell like a bouquet of flowers or a dessert, but rather a slightly more fragrant version of you. I prefer Egyptian Goddess as it just has a little extra "oomph" but ultimately they are both good and I think it comes down to personal preference. Docking lippies for oil texture and price; I was left with sticky shiny patches on my skin even after attempting to rub it in, and I'm not crazy about forking over several dollars more than similar brands for significantly less product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2011 5:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I too sampled this at Whole Foods and thought it was wonderful - the very scent that I've been searching for. I bought it (at $9.99 for a miniscule bottle), took it home, applied it to my wrists and...nothing. No scent apart from a vague, weak woodsy smell (like an old wooden attic). I didn't even get a scent from sniffing the bottle directly. However, I tried rubbing a few drops into freshly washed hair and, after several minutes...there it was... the delicious scent I was looking for. Clean, feminine, a little floral, delicious.

I don't know if something's off about the product or if my body chemistry just doesn't jive with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2011 5:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I tried this at Whole Foods and loved the way the tester smelled on me. (I love the scent of Egyptian Musk.) Several days later I returned and bought a vial, but after wearing if for the last few days, I'm really disappointed. The rollerball itself smells like Egyptian Musk, but after I apply it on my skin, all I smell is sandalwood. The scent also fades very quickly. I'm not sure why there's such a discrepancy between the way the tester smelled on me versus the take-home product, but I'm going to keep looking till I find an Egyptian Musk that smells like, well, Egyptian Musk on my skin.


on 12/29/2010 10:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I tested this at Whole Foods and was mind-blowingly unoverwhelmed by it. It definitely not obtrusive and it's a soothing/comfort scent. Right out of the vial, it has very low silage (and that's coming from a person who's nervous to wear a soft floral in public!) and which barely develops after application. I don't find it terribly unique, but I guess it's a good basic musk.


on 9/25/2010 4:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

oh well i had high hopes for this one. it started off with a watery scent and a little tar. it took about three hours to dry down then i got the very and i mean very slight scent of the clean laundry smell im looking for.
i couldn't smell it!neither could my sister and she has a great nose. i tried it on three other people and they couldn;t smell it either. very mysterious. the great egyptian musk hunt continues....


on 7/16/2009 8:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wow, I was so surprised to read the review by the user that said she got a "manure" scent...that is exactly how it smells to me, too...and I LOVE Egyptian Musk! I have tried Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess (which smells like eraser and just "off"), Body Time's version (nice!) and the one from Fragrant Body Oilz on ebay (the best I have found...PLUS it comes in a spray!). I love the idea of a perfume being all-natural and had really high hopes for this one, I was expecting it to be the best yet based on the reviews and that it is natural, but I get a definite smell of horse manure. It is the strangest thing. Maybe I got a bad batch? I certainly hope so, because I really like some of their other scents. I might re-try this one, but I won't be using the bottle I have...it's AWFUL! LOVE the company, though.
UPDATE 9.29.12 - Ahhh...righteous vindication! I am an Egyptian Musk Devotee. I LOVE it. I think I have tried almost all that are out there, including Auric Blends, Body Time, Fragrant Body Oilz, Attar Bazaar, Narciso Rodriguez, etc., and then a few days ago (since I ADORE Kuumba Made products and just the whole company), when I was in Whole Foods, I picked up the sample for this (again) and rolled it on. I continued my shopping and sniffed at random intervals, and a blissful hope rose in my heart...could it be? Is this finally "IT?" could it be "THE ONE"? It smelled so delicious and delectable that I ignored the "but it smells like manure on you!" voice in my head from the past, and boldly purchased a brand new vial ($9.99). I've been wearing it for a few days now, both on its own and mixed with various other Kuumba Made fragrance oils and IT IS DIVINE! GONE from this batch is that horse manure note. I guess I just had gotten a bad batch or bottle last time, but this one has MORE than made up for it! How do I describe it? Um...it's clean, soft, a little soapy, fresh, languid, SEXY, dreamy, ultra-feminine and unlike anything I have ever smelled before. This stuff is a certified man magnet. It also has the same effect mixed with Persian Garden and Amber Paste...and elicits blissfully scent-intoxified men more so than any other fragrance I've ever worn with the sole exception of A Zaftig Woman's Blackberry Musk from long ago. (Does ANYONE know of a great dupe for that precious oil elixir that is available now? - If so PLEASE message me and I'll be eternally grateful!) Anyway, this stuff ROCKS. I do have to caution that you sniff before you buy, because I know I am not the only one to have gotten a manure-y bottle before, but let me tell you, when it is done right, this perfume oil is everything a woman's fragrance should be. It invites a "high", "blissed-out" feeling in me every time I get a whiff of my own scent when I wear this, everyone around me loves it and comments on it, and I never get tired of it. You know your favorite lippie that is MLBB? This is My Skin Scent But Better. How else can I say it? Holy Grail of not only Egyptian Musks, but my HG signature fragrance. I flat out simply adore this.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This smells delicious! I ordered the 1/8 oz. size from Kuumba Made after hearing great reviews here on MUA. This is supposed to be a close match to Narciso Rodriguez's Musc oil. It is close, but I like the NR better. However, it's a good alternative.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow. I really had high hopes when I ordered this because of all the awesome reviews. This straight up stinks on me. Smells like manure. No kidding. I guess it must be my chemistry, but I am so disappointed. I've worn other Egyptian musk with no problem. I get the same manure smell with the vanilla musk I got from them too. Obviously, I would not purchase again unless I am longing for the farm life.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2009 4:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm absolutely in love with fragrance. I stopped wearing perfume when I was pregnant and had not found a fragrance that I liked since having my baby more than a year ago. Someone on the fragrance board suggested Egyptian Musk and I thought I'd give it a try when I was at my local whole foods. I can't tell you how perfect this is. I've gotten so many compliments from co-workers and family. My husband loves it too. I also don't have to worry about it being overbearing for my one year old either. It's so soft and clean yet still very feminine. It has really good staying power and it's reasonably priced. I've tried Egyptian Goddess which is really nice too but Kuumba's still smells softer and less spicier to me so this is definitely the winner. Big thank you to the fragrance board for this great recommendation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top