Dr. Denese • HydroShield Ultra Moisturizing Face Serum • Skincare - Face

rated 4.3(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 flowerlover on 2/12/2014 9:53:00 AM more reviews by flowerlover

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Just received this in a trial kit from Dr. Denes's website a few days ago and I love it! It feels like silk and goes on beautifully. For my dry skin, it is not greasy at all and better than any other serum I have used. Too soon to know if it will be a staple in my skin care, but I am going to purchase a larger size of it along with her Wrinkle RX Moisturizer Surge and will report back after I have used it longer. It is costly, but nothing else has really pleased me. Maybe I have finally found my HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karriwhel on 8/2/2013 9:51:00 AM more reviews by karriwhel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was just okay for me. I have certainly tried other serums that were of better value & created far better results for the money. Highlighting the good things about this serum is easy, it did not break me out and that says a LOT. It was hydrating although it goes on almost oily/shiny like so you have to make sure to have a bit of time to allow soaking in, after that there was no oily feeling or residue left so I thought that was a huge plus. I have combo skin & it hydrated well, not sure how it would do with oily skin. This product did absolutely nothing for changing skin tone, pores or wrinkles and that is the only reason I would not purchase again. Sure it hydrates, but it does nothing else a good moisturizer wouldn't do. So for the price on this one, no way!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whocareswhoiam on 2/22/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by whocareswhoiam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased a 4oz bottle because it was the best value size. One pump of the serum covers my entire face. It spreads evenly and takes less than a minute to fully absorb into my skin. It does not feel greasy or tacky, my skin does feel hydrated after the application. I do apply a night cream over the serum. Application of the second product does not result in pilling. I believe this serum helps to hydrate my skin. I believe it really helps to renew skin, the retinol does an excellent job creating skin cell turnover. I will continue to use this product not just for the hydration benefit, but more for the benefits of the retinol - so effective, my skin texture has dramatically improved. This is the first retinol product that does not adversely affect my sensitive skin. The ingredient list is impressive. The 4oz. size is the best value, but is not good for "carry-on" travel. Unfortunately, the smaller sizes of this product are even more costly. When QVC offers Dr. Denese TSV, it is the best value. Otherwise, register at the Dr. Denese website. The site periodically emails some special offers and does provide free shipping w/minimum purchase. Dermstore and Skin Store websites now carry this line, they too periodically offer discounts to those registered on the site.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leamarie1 on 1/27/2013 3:14:00 AM more reviews by leamarie1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this product!!! Cannot use on oily or normal skin, just on eyes & it's fantastic in the eye area. So moisturizing! Cannot live without it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfumequeen on 10/21/2012 8:22:00 AM more reviews by perfumequeen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a staple for me - it is the best I've found for adding moisture, smoothing skin, and prepping for makeup/treatments. I got Dr. Denese's book from the public library - interesting tips and recommendations there from diet to skin care. I know it's pricey, but worth a lot more than buying cheaper stuff that doesn't provide consistent results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MiaBella0517 on 10/8/2012 4:27:00 PM more reviews by MiaBella0517

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Hello. I found a 5 pc set on Craigslist for $50 bucks. It had 60 firming facial pads, Wrinkle Rest Exoression Line Peptide Concentrate, Hydro Shield Ultra Moisturizing Face Serum, Baggage Lost Puff Reducing Eye Gel & Hydro Shield Body Serum. The facial pads are fabulous! I only use them once a week at night. I love the wrinkle rest. I use it on my forehead only and it's awesome! The face serum is oily so I only use it in my eyes every night & it's great. If I wake up with puffy eyes I use the baggage lost. I use the body serum on my feet & put socks on them. Great products. I always shop on Craigslist. All products were sealed in the book like box. All products were full size & will last a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 StarBlazerM31 on 8/20/2012 4:15:00 AM more reviews by StarBlazerM31

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know I'm still relatively young to be using retinol, but I want to tame the.signs of aging early. This product feels slimy on my very oily skin, so I use just a small amount. Don't much care for the texture, and I don't get the velvety matte finish it boasts. But since it was so crazy expensive, I'm going to keep using it until it's gone. Gonna find a different retinoid after though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemistzitzikilakis on 7/17/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by artemistzitzikilakis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After seeing Dr. Denese on PBS I became very interested in her products, all aimed at correcting aging skin. I bought from her site the glycolic acid pads and this serum, and I use at night the EL night repair with Retin A. My skin looked pretty good with just the EL and retin A, but I was not exfoliating and the EL, which until I got this product I also used in the AM (it's amazing stuff) has absolutely no moisture, it is water based. This serum is not water based and gives me enough moisture in the AM, followed by Kiel's sunscreen, somewhat moisturizing, to not use a seperate mositurizer. My skin really loves the Dr. Denese serum and Facial glycolic pads. I see fewer lines as there seems to be a plumping effect from the serum and it is so beautifully hydrating that it has allowed me to cut out one of my morning products, the straight on mositurizer. I have found since that the products are better priced on the QVC site. Highly recommend at any age, start using a serum before I did, my late 40's!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cnvalle on 1/28/2012 7:41:00 PM more reviews by cnvalle

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this stuff. But a 2 oz bottle is $125!!!!!! Granted I just swipe the outside of the glass eye dropper and use on my whole face, eyes, and neck...Still the price bothers me. But I have desert dry skin and this does seem to form a barrier between me and dryness. I only like this packaging. The four ounce size comes in one of those awful pump things that I think waste product.

Never had any issues with irritation etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 8/25/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this because of a good recommendation from Paula Begoun and there was a deal where you got this product and the peel pads for $38, which is a pretty good deal. This product hasn't broken me out, which is surprising considering how much silicone is in it (my skin doesn't like silicone). But that's really the onlu good thing I can say about it. When you first apply it, it's slippery and downright greasy feeling (some people call this "velvety") and your face feels like an oil slick for about 15 minutes after you apply it. Then it absorbs and your face feels dry! How can this be? So strange. I can't stand that greasy feeling and even worse is the fact that it does nothing, including moisturize my skin. And the packaging is ugly and feels cheap. So I will not repurchase and I can't recommend because it's too greasy for people with oily skin and it's too drying for people with dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Denese products

More Skincare - Face products