Evening primrose oil

4.0

56 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/24/2015 9:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Reviewing this as a topical skincare product.

I have very complicated skin and it drives me crazy, especially in the winter. It's dry, sensitive, prone to redness and acne with pores that clog at the drop of a hat. I literally have to look at a conventional moisturiser and my pores start clogging. I had some success with jojoba oil in the past but it ended up triggering mild but annoying seborrheic dermatitis around my nose and eyes. I read about the different levels of oleic acid and linoleic acid in oils and how that effects different skin types and chose EPO because of the high linoleic acid content and inoffensive smell. So glad I did. My skin is looking and feeling amazing, the dryness has totally vanished, the redness that I thought might be the start of roseacea is gone, it's plumper, clearer and best of all stubborn clogged pores that wouldn't clear even with extractions and glycolic peels are disappearing. I bought a high quality, organic 100% EPO in a bottle with a dropper, I love how light it is and it goes onto my skin really smoothly. As it's still winter I'm currently using it to remove my make up and as a moisturiser, really happy with the results.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 1/6/2015 10:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the topical application of the evening primrose oil from Garden of Wisdom.

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone skin. I originally tried evening primrose oil as I had heard good things about it, but unfortunately I haven't seen any noticeable difference in my skin (good or bad) from using nearly an ounce of this product. I also haven't gotten used to the musty salt smell which is frankly, somewhat reminiscent of urine to me. It's not quite as fast-absorbing as rosehip seed or argan oil, similar in texture to avocado oil.

I use oils as a second layer over my regular moisturizer and this is as effective as any other in locking the moisture in. I did try it for makeup removal and it was effective enough but again not any more effective than others. I also read that some people use it for the treatment of eczema, and gave it a shot on some eczema patches. There wasn't any difference (save for what any oil would provide) for me after nearly a week of use.

Overall, this is a decent enough reasonably priced oil but it isn't at the top of my list for any of the tasks I use oil for (skin, makeup removal, hair, cuticles) and it has an unpleasant, albeit faint, smell.


on 9/7/2014 10:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I took the EPO softgel tablets. The first week all went well. I even noticed my complexion was a bit rosier.

However, in the second week, a few tiny pimples appeared on my cheeks. This is highly unusual for me. I maybe get 1 pimple per year, and only during menstruation. Never have I gotten many pimples at once, and outside of my menstruation timeframe at that.

I discontinued use and the acne went away, along with the rosy coloration.

If you can use it without getting pimply - go for it! I wish that were the case for me.


on 8/24/2014 11:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Have been taking this in capsule form roughly a month for acne. I thought it was starting to help a bit, because it did give the clear parts of my skin a nice glow, usually it's pretty dull. It also seemed to fix my mild rosacea. I have been giving it time, but now I have a bunch of hyperpigmentation spots under the surface of my skin and it hasn't helped my existing acne at all, it has just given me more, in places I have never had it before. Usually it is only on the sides of my cheeks, now its in front and along the bottom of my jaw. Never in my life have I gotten that, so this isn't the "worse before it gets better" thing, or irritation from something else, it's just worse. (plus it's been over 3 weeks) I know for some people this works, and that as I said, it DID have it's benefits, so yeah, if you are not breakout prone I highly recommend it for healthy skin, but if you are breakout prone it is definitely a risk.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I have thyroid issues with PCOS and because of the PCOS NOTHING has been able to clear my skin. So, I've had bad skin for the past 10 years. 10 years ago my acne was severe, today it's moderate as I'm very healthy but the inflammation was terrible. My face is always a different color from my body.

Now: Shockingly.... my skin is now mostly clear after just about a week on evening primrose oil at 3000mg.Like really clear. The skin on my face has that dewy nearly pore-less look. If I could hug a flower...

side effects: Only negative side effect has been breast tenderness and seemingly bloating. It does seem to have upset my hormones a bit. However, my mood is great.

Yay, little flower!

OH, also... I put an inch on in hip measurement in this past week...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am reviewing evening primrose oil for topical use . as for one of the reviewers advice I
used it as face & hair serum. for hair I did not notice a remarkable change on my hair
it added a hint of moist that is it. for my face I put 3 times a week before bed it is a
light oil & my skin really absorb it quickly & in the morning my skin became soft.
but not as bright & hyderated as it is when I use vitamine E oil
but I like it for summer as vitamine E oil is thick for a summer use it work best for
winter

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2014 8:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

No no. Gave me deep, painful cysts on my neck. It didn't help with any of the things this oil is so well known for. Not for me.


on 1/19/2014 4:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I started taking this oil to see if it helps my facial eczema. I took this oil orally. One tea spoon a day for 6 weeks.

The results:
- skin was softer and more hydrated
- no improvement on acne (though hard to judge since eczema is where the acne is used to be)
- no improvement on eczema
- unusual increased appetite, followed by weight gain (around 1.5 kg)*

* I am one of those people who NEVER gains weight. I am now nearly 40 and my weight hasn't changed since I was 16, so this weight gain was highly unusual. Since I stopped the oil 10 days ago my weight has dropped back to normal, so I am sure it was the oil.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For anyone suffering debilitating PMS or peri-menopausal symptoms, where evening primrose oil doesn't seem to be helping enough, try Agnus Castus. You have to take it every day of your cycle and after every few months have a break. I noticed the difference in my temperament the first month I took it - I genuinely didn't feel like punching anyone for the first time in months. Yes, it was that bad ..!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2013 4:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I take this internally and I rub it into my face at night before bed and in the morning before my makeup routine. It has cleared my face completely!!! I just started this about 2 weeks ago, so we shall see if it keeps up the good work several months from now ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top