Burt's Bees • Carrot Nutritive Day Creme • Moisturizers

rated 2.6(152 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 alicia148 on 8/12/2013 9:03:00 AM more reviews by alicia148

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like Burt's Bees products but unfortunately I'm not a fan of this one for two main reasons:

1. It's greasy and sits on the skin. It doesn't absorb in very quickly and is very thick, so this leaves your skin feeling a bit sticky and shiny. Some people will be happy with that, especially if they have dry skin, but I didn't like this.

2. It has a very strong smell. It's not an awful smell, it's just very strong and it lingers for a long time.

It does moisturise though so I think instead of using as a day cream I will use it as a night cream or maybe a hand cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LaOreja on 6/28/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by LaOreja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturiser but it takes a bit of getting used to, especially if you're used to regular face creams. The texture is quite thick and heavy, it feels quite sticky at first. However I found that It really suits my dry skin, especially through the winter. I spend time rubbing it in properly and then leave it to 'settle' for 5 minutes before applying makeup.The smell is a bit unusual (reminds me of cake mix) but I soon got used to it. I like the fact it is mainly natural ingredients and also very moisturising. I imagine it might be a bit heavy for oilier skin, and during warm weather I have switched to the Burt's Bees clary sage day cream which is a bit lighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flor1201 on 4/10/2011 2:49:00 AM more reviews by flor1201

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I primarily use this as an eye cream because it is very moisturizing for a long time and does not irritate my eyes. I have used so many different brands of eye creams that would irritate my eyes. I asked my mom what she has been using and she suggested this . I wish it would come in a tube because it tends to dry out over time ): I dont recommend to use it all over your face because it is thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tati77 on 2/26/2011 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Tati77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've always liked this product as a heavy-duty moisturizer. It's not so much a "day creme" for me, as it's quite rich (and doesn't contain SPF) but I use it at night and in the winter months. A light application is all you need.

It does take time to absorb into the skin and the fragrance isn't anything to write about, but a light application at the right time of day (i.e. when not in a rush to apply makeup) leaves me with soft, dewy, very hydrated skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 viscousbadgerjelly on 12/17/2010 5:27:00 AM more reviews by viscousbadgerjelly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG moisturiser since my OH bought me some for Christmas on a whim 2 years ago because I like natural products. I can't imagine using anything else now.

It leaves my combination skin dewy, soft and glowing all day and doesn't break me out at all unlike moisturisers that contain mineral oil - even when I use it in the summer.

You do need to leave it to soak in for 10 mins before applying make up but it makes a lovely smooth base, especially if you prefer a dewy rather than a matt finish.

A jar lasts me about 3 months and it's rich enough to be used as a night cream as well.

Never sufferd with an "orange cast" and though I disliked the smell to start with, I have really grown to like it.

The only way they could improve it for me is if they added SPF - however I make up for it by using an SPF foundation.

23/07/2012 - Edited to say....4 years after receiving my first jar, this is STILL my favourite moisturiser and I use it every morning and night and have never used anything else. I am now 30 (argh) and hope this moisturiser keeps doing such a good job of keeping my skin soft, plump and hydrated. Love it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anisola on 10/14/2010 2:44:00 PM more reviews by anisola

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I'm not using an spf lotion, I use this. It doesn't break me out and i really do like the smell as I do all Burt's Bee's products. It really moisturizes and does give you a glow. I've had several people comment on the glow of my skin, once person even thinking I was pregnant, and no, that's not the kind of comment a woman who's not pregnant wants, but it's good to my skin looks healthy. hahhhhh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elzbt on 8/25/2010 1:43:00 PM more reviews by Elzbt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product looks like it needs some reviews to redeem its name. I have been using it as a day and night cream with great results. It is very moisturizing. You just need a dab on your finger for your whole face.

People that are calling it greasy may be using too much, but I will say, like a lot of heavy moisturizers, it is something that you need to allow to absorb into your skin before you continue with doing your makeup.

Another common complaint I saw was the smell. It smells very sweet like cake batter. The scent does not linger after it absorbs into your skin. I happen not to think it smells delicious like something I want to eat but you might hate sweet smells.

And finally, it does not make you look yellow or jaundiced. Again, these people must be using a lot of the product to be noticing this. Apply sparingly until you feel you've lightly covered your face. Again, you do not need a lot of this product! This little jar will last you a long time.

Since I have been using it day and night for 2 weeks, I will say I have noticed that my complexion and tone have become very even.

PROS
quantity- a little goes a long way
quality ingredients
97.67% natural. really.
paraben-, petrochemical-, sulfate-, phthalate-free
not tested on animals
moisturizing
yummy smell
creamy texture
dewy complexion
doubles as night cream

CONS
if it is hot, the cream becomes viscose . you might spill it easily if you do not carefully open the jar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rebemdee on 4/17/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by rebemdee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product more frequently when I lived in New England, those harsh winters were killer on my skin. I used this on my face, neck, legs, arms, and it really helped keep my skin moisturized. I never turned yellow. I did find that the product was less appealing as it sat around, it would seperate and get a weird oily layer. I haven't bought it again since moving to a sunny place, I just don't need that level of moisturizer now, but if I lived in a harsh climate I would stock up on this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brendatroyer on 2/3/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by brendatroyer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe all the negative comments about the smell of this stuff! For me the smell is one of its selling points, it's extremely addictive. But I guess scent likes and dislikes are a very personal and subjective thing. Just read some perfume reviews on popular fragrances and you'll find the same thing - intense love and intense hate. This is one of the first moisturizers I used when I first started to moisturize in my early 20's. I think it was probaly too heavy for me back then but I loved it anyway for the smell (of couse :) and for the way it left my complexion so bright and dewy. I now live in CO which is a very dry climate, and being in my early 30's, this is a perfect night cream for me. I think its a little too heavy for day, I prefer Mary Kay Timewise lotion for that. Although I will sometimes use it for day because I'm just craving the smell !!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sabbles on 12/8/2009 12:11:00 AM more reviews by sabbles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Love this moisturizer. I use it twice a day and also dab it around my eyes. The pure carrot oil kick starts skin cell growth. It's thick, so you have to watch how much you put on. If you use sparingly, you're face will not turn orange (like the other reviewers.)

EDIT: After years of using the product, it has failed me. The consistency has changed in that it's thicker, and it just sits on top of my skin, making my MMU streaky. Sadly, I can no longer recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Moisturizers products