Alima • eyeshadows - all • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 AKmedic on 7/16/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by AKmedic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought five full-size Alima shimmer eyeshadows: Milan, Venus, London, Sphinx, and Aubergine. I have samples of Opal, Nymph, Sky, and Mahogany. All of these shadows are poorly pigmented. They all have a lot of fallout whether used wet or dry. They are all sheer and don't have the same predictable application that the Bare Escentuals eyeshadows do.

I had hoped for better color payoff and easier blendability. I will stick with the other eyeshadows I was using before: Kat von D Beethoven palette, the Urban Decay Naked2 palette, and most of the Bare Escentuals eyeshadows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hoyman on 9/25/2011 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Hoyman

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I own 2 shades Venus & Apperditz they look great together. Very pigmented little go along way. Compare to the highend eye shadow this brande is great just like those brand name one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Manue on 9/18/2011 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Manue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love Alima eyeshadows. I love that you can order the cheap samples to try different colours and looks. My lids are greasy, so I need to use Urban Decay Primer Potion to prevent creasing when using them.
The bottom line is that these eyeshadows are chemical-free, not too expensive, and come in very interesting shades.
My favourites: Gold, Sky, Chai, Camel, Buttercream, Soleil, etc.
I did not like so much: Platinum (looks dirty), Meringue (too glittery!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cbailey4111 on 6/23/2011 9:28:00 PM more reviews by cbailey4111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Somewhat disappointed by these shadows. I bought 10 samples of varying finishes and colors and depths and they were all very unpigmented. I don't like to use shadow wet, so I guess these will pretty much be regulated to barely-there day looks. Texture and staying power are alright.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nguyen8733 on 2/12/2011 8:52:00 PM more reviews by nguyen8733

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a bunch of samples to try and but overall, I would not buy the full size. When used dry, there is some fallout and the colors are not pigmented enough. The colors are nicer when used wet but it is really hard to blend. I have oily eyelids so it creased really bad by midday. Also, the loose minerals can be messy and time consuming to use. They do have some great colors though. I like their eyeliners, doesn't smear and has pretty good staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pkrs on 1/29/2011 12:23:00 PM more reviews by pkrs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a bunch of these eyeshadows and I have to say:

They do not stay put.

They ran down my face and I always ended up like a raccoon by the end of the day. I just don't get it. I also tried to eyeliner (you wet it) and that disappeared within one hour.

I am trying to only purchase healthy makeup, but this isn't the one, unfortunately.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ltorres17 on 10/4/2009 6:29:00 AM more reviews by ltorres17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love shimmer es so I think these are great. I have not tried the bright colors as Im not a fan of them but the dark ones and neutrals ones that Ive tried I am quite pleased with. They have not faded on me which I love and blend very well. I used my Ecco Tools es blending brush and this works great for me. I love how Alima send you evry samples w/ their iteams and they have excellent cs. Def will continue to buy.
updated- the color payoff on these suck, wears off in a couple of hours

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* knightranch on 6/26/2009 3:01:00 PM more reviews by knightranch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've never really cared for loose mineral shadows as I always seem to get them on my face when applying, but I really like Alima's pearluster shadows. The lighter colors are easier to apply and show less mess, although I do use darker and brighter shades over my liquid liner to set it provide staying power. My current fave shadow is Cassis, a soft lilac (more pink than purple toned) that is a good neutral for me. Samples are generous and only a buck so you can try before commiting to a regular size shadow and they always throw in more samples with purchases.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tobyleota on 10/30/2008 4:16:00 PM more reviews by tobyleota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

For me, all except the most vivid colors ended up fading to a bruise like sick yellow after an hour or so The dark colors not only faded to post bruise yellow, but didn't blend well. But-the vivid colors (like azure and black orchid) look really great when used as eye liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ccj36 on 9/27/2008 10:55:00 AM more reviews by ccj36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Alima's eye shadows are wonderful. I recently bought two new shades (Grace and Cappucino) after enjoying samples from my most recent order. Alima's eye shadows are soft, but they last all day. Yesterday I brushed Fawn (a neutral matte shade) all over the lid, then added Cappucino (applied damp---just spritzed my shadow brush with water) over the lower part of the lid. At the end of a VERY hectic Friday here in humid Texas, my eye makeup looked great----no creasing or rubbing off. The shades don't apply as thick or as dark as the regular eye shadows I've used in the past, but Alima's colors are so pretty. They come in small pots with sifter tops. The two new shades I just bought make my eyes look really blue. I will definitely be purchasing again.
UPDATE 6/13/2010: I still use these shadows. I've found that I get the best staying power when I apply with a damp brush. The pearluster texture is my favorite. They are easy to blend and you can have subtle or intense color, depending on whether or not you wet the brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Eye Shadow products