New York Color Ultra Moist Lip Wear Retro Red 308B

4.4

124 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 2/27/2015 11:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Moisturizing, great color, lasts all day. I love this color, and it's so cheap you can buy several! Great buy. I will be buying again and different colors. The only con is the packaging makes it easy to bump the lipstick with the top. Not a very big con, honestly.hh



Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This was my first red lipstick! I always thought red wasnít my color, but having this latest trend (you look around and everyoneís wearing red these days..right?!), I wanted to try it. I didnít felt like spending a lot since I wanted to experiment. I read quite positive reviews on NYC Lipsticks and decided to buy it. Cost wise itís very cheap (under $3 Canadian with tax). I love the pigmentation; the color is deep and bright which gives you a perfect finish in just one go. However, you can apply 2 layers or more if you want to achieve an intense dramatic look. As the name suggests ďultra moistĒ, itís quite moisturizing for my lips and I never have any issues of dried lips when I put the lipstick on.

As far as the packing goes, I never had any issues but I read a lot of reviews where people were complaining about the packaging and breaking off the product while opening and closing it. I agree itís a bit difficult when you open it for the first time but all you have to do is be a little careful and not put too much pressure on the cap while opening/ closing it. I have been using this product for over a year now and never damaged my lipstick. All in all, I am happy with my purchase and would recommend to anyone.


on 11/5/2014 11:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm not really a lipstick kind of lady, but with everyone rocking red lips around me, I wanted to try it out for myself. Retro Red seemed like a good place to start; it was cheap ($1 at Duane Reade!), the perfect, classic shade of red, and had great reviews. One complaint is the initial packaging; mine did not have perforations along the plastic so it was nearly impossible to get it out of the plastic and I ended up scratching up the tube. You also need to be very precise when putting the cap back on or you'll end up with lipstick all over it.

Sadly for me, I could not quite pull it off. I feel like bold red lips would look best on ladies with a very defined lip line, and smooth skin on their lips (neither of which apply to me). The staying power is amazing, as I am struggling to get the color off my lips to no avail (it has faded a bit, but still quite pigmented all around).

I am willing to give it another go though (I need to work on my application as I can't just "swipe and go" for this bold hue), because the color is lovely and it's the only red lipstick I've tried so far that actually looks like it could work with my warm skintone (I am an NC 25/30). I've played around with my other makeup and seems like it would work best if I evened out my skintone (thanks, BB cream) and kept my brows bold but neat. No blush or eyemake up for me, my high cheekbones tend to make bold makeup look drag queen like on me (no offense to my Queens).

Have fun with this one, it's low risk for $1, but be prepared to have stained lips through the day (which may not be the worst thing).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2014 7:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Retro Red FLOORED me when I tried it on for the first time. Itís so pigmented that it covers my lips with one pass, and it applies so easily that I donít need liner--and, whatís more, I havenít noticed it bleeding on me. It lasts for a long time and scarcely fades, but when it does fade, it fades evenly, while feeling moist and non-drying on my lips. Its only drawbacks are its plasticky scent and finicky packaging. I donít know if Retro Red is a dupe for Russian Red. I donít expect Iíll ever know, because I will keep buying this classic red lippie for as long as itís in production. I broke a no-buy for this product. But, NYC Ultra Moist Lipwear products cost, what, two dollars Canadian apiece? hashtag worth it.


on 8/10/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

The perfect red for warm skintones. This is THE red lipstick for me--I was going to buy MAC Ruby Woo, but after rediscovering Retro Red I realized I really don't need Ruby Woo--this $1 drugstore lippie is creamy, pigmented, applies easily from the bullet or with a brush, doesn't bleed and wears down elegantly if I decide I don't feel like maintaining a red lip throughout the day. I can make it matte by dusting some transluscent powder over it. I can't really ask for more.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

Do you have warm undertones and have difficulty finding the right red lipstick? If so try this lipstick out. This is my go to red lipstick. And best of all it cost only $1 and it does not have any cheap plastic scent to it. Mine is unscented. This is also moisturizing and feels comfortable on the lips, not heavy at all and when it wears off, it leaves a nice reddish stain on my lips as shown in picture at the end of my video.

Retro red is the perfect shade of red for me. I am Asian and have warm undertones. It is hard to find an affordable red lipstick since most are blue tone which usually looks flattering on cool undertones.
You can find this at CVS, Walgreens, and Rite Aid





1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2014 5:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really wanted to like this red, but the colour is unnatural and appears orange against my skin tone. My b/f burst out laughing when he saw me wearing it and said that it looked awful, and I had to agree with him and switched to a more pink-leaning lippy. Otherwise, the formula is great and it has good staying power. Dislike the packaging, as it's difficult to recap without damaging the product. I'd highly recommend this IF it goes with your skin tone :(


on 5/13/2014 12:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

loooooove this lipstick. the color is timeless. it's super matte but not drying. it does tend to bleed a little due to the creaminess but using a lipliner should help. transfers quite a bit but that's to be expected with such a pigmented product. on the plus side, even with transfer there's a lot of pigment left on the lips so it lasts fairly long.


on 4/2/2014 10:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm going to start off by saying that the packaging is not the most luxurious thing in the world, but what can you expect from a $2 lipstick?
Besides that minor complaint, the colour is beautiful! It's a bright pin-up girl red that I think would look fantastic on almost anyone.
The formula is very moisturizing without being greasy. After a few hours, the colour does fade. (It just isn't really vibrant anymore, but I think that goes for all lip colours. Reapplying every now and then isn't a tough thing to do)
What I'm most impressed with though is that the lipstick doesn't apply splotchy, and it's such an inexpensive product.
I will definitely buy this again if I ever run out!


on 2/23/2014 7:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For $0.99, what more could you ask for? The shade is definitely a retro pin-up style red and flattering on my blemished slightly olive slightly yellow complexion. Stays put after a light meal, but we'll have to see over the course of a whole workday. Goes on smooth and intense. Slightly drying, but a coat of lip balm pre-application takes care of that. I didn't quite like the taste, but it's very mild.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

PERFECT RED LIPSTICK (ASIAN/WARM UNDERTONES) New York Color 308B Retro Red Review by Orange mint Pop

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top