New York Color • Ultra Moist Lip Wear Retro Red 308B • Lipstick

rated 4.4(116 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 iwikiwii on 4/2/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by iwikiwii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to start off by saying that the packaging is not the most luxurious thing in the world, but what can you expect from a $2 lipstick?
Besides that minor complaint, the colour is beautiful! It's a bright pin-up girl red that I think would look fantastic on almost anyone.
The formula is very moisturizing without being greasy. After a few hours, the colour does fade. (It just isn't really vibrant anymore, but I think that goes for all lip colours. Reapplying every now and then isn't a tough thing to do)
What I'm most impressed with though is that the lipstick doesn't apply splotchy, and it's such an inexpensive product.
I will definitely buy this again if I ever run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eightysix on 2/23/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Eightysix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For $0.99, what more could you ask for? The shade is definitely a retro pin-up style red and flattering on my blemished slightly olive slightly yellow complexion. Stays put after a light meal, but we'll have to see over the course of a whole workday. Goes on smooth and intense. Slightly drying, but a coat of lip balm pre-application takes care of that. I didn't quite like the taste, but it's very mild.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 1/5/2014 4:39:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite red lipstick! It is hydrating and complements my pale skin very well. It made my teeth pop and look white, too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katniss2000527mano on 11/11/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Katniss2000527mano

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I usually buy Chanel lipsticks. But this has an amazing colour, a nice bright red shade that will look gorgeous on anyone. I have a natural light tan and this doesn't look bad on me. I bought this at shoppers drug Mart for about $2.66 (CDN) The packaging Is nice, It applies nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ixSNOWBUNNYx3 on 10/20/2013 8:52:00 PM more reviews by ixSNOWBUNNYx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this color! The formula is rich and pigmented, and the color's simply gorgeous. This color would work for any skin tone, and any lip shape!

I bought this one for $2 roughly at Target, and I completely fell in love with it!

Only cons are that you have to be really careful to close the cap, because the stick doesn't twist down allll the way, and I broke one and had to buy another one....... Also, lining your lips does miracles.

5 Lippies! LOVE!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smitten1054 on 9/26/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by smitten1054

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The best red, looks great on my warm toned skin without (this sounds crazy) bringing out the red in my face in an unflattering way. I just look good, with or without alot of foundation and or skin prep. My favorite red lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/24/2013 12:58:00 AM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If only this was matte....well for 93 cents its not a big issue. I like this red but its definitely not a Russian Red dupe. It NEEDS a lip liner otherwise its a huge bleeding mess in the middle of the day though. but for under a dollar for a more than decent red lipstick, its worth the extra effort to use a liner

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jpando on 6/28/2013 12:52:00 PM more reviews by jpando

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this red! It really is the classic, retro, pin-up girl lipstick I have been looking to find! I am pale and most reds read fuchsia on me. This one does not, and stays true to the color you see in the tube. It is pretty bright, so I like to blot it down because otherwise my big lips take over my face! :) At this price, this is an item I stock up on!!!! Must try!!!
P.S. The only problem I find with this product is that the packaging does not allow you to twist the color below the tube so you have to be super careful when removing the top. But at this price, who cares?!?!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrygyrl on 6/21/2013 7:52:00 PM more reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Look for .99 and sometimes .69 I can't complain to much about this little red lipstick. Its a good red. Many people say its a dupe for MAC Russian Red but no, its not (and I have Russian Red). It is similar (hence the "dupability factor" ) but its far from a spot on dupe, especially in color . Retro Red is a creamy (more so than Russian red) , yet full coverage (just like Russian red) , satin finish (Russian red is more matte), and more or less neutral medium/bright red upon initial application. Its much brighter and orange, but not too orangey( if that makes sense) compared to Russian Red. Retro Red is less bright than say Wet -n -wilds Stoplight Red (which on me is a true bright red, red). I actually like Retro Red better than Russian Red colorwise. Compared to NYC Sheer Red, Retro red is far fuller coverage, longerlasting and more red. Sheer Red is a darker berryish red to me. Now, Retro red can be messy and smear and its not touch up proof for all day wear like Covergirls lip perfection in Hot . So I apply, blot, then dust a bit of translucent powder on my lips especially around the edges, ( I actually use cornstarch or baby powder), then re- blot then reapply and fix with a lipbrush and blot again to a matte finish. This may seem like alot but its not and it really helps to stop the smearing and gives me a more long wearing finish. I donot use lipliner so if you do use a lipliner I advise filling in your whole lip, applying the lipstick, blotting then reapplying. With my method I still have to touch up about 3 times a day, especially after eating and beware of greasy stuff- you can wind up looking like a demented clown. With my method , before touching up, Retro Red does not disappear but wears to a nice neutral, natural red slightly drying stain. Retro Red does tend to be a bit drying as the day wears on. While this still isn't my perfect red ( I don't think I will ever find it at this point) I think I'll keep it. Its probably the most neutral and natural but still red,and even if its not a "pure" red it is the "safest" least "in your face" red in my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susu42 on 4/1/2013 2:38:00 AM more reviews by susu42

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


Im on the bandwagon about this cheapie lipstick and im not a lipstick girl I much prefer a gloss but I have been trying to find a Red lipstick that will suit my undertone and not make my teeth look yellow when I apply it and this did the trick I came across it just browsing around in CVS I absolutely love it, I have dry lips and this is very moisturizing and apply so smooth and creamy. I even bought a back up just in case its discontinued. When ever the occasion calls for it I will have this in my beauty kit, I found on close inspection that it does have a little bit of sparkle in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lipstick products