Shiseido • Sun Protection Eye Cream spf 32 • Treatments (Eye)

rated 3.6(45 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 7/30/2014 7:24:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product simply because I'm no longer able to purchase the Clarins eye sun protection cream I've used for years. It's really hard to find, in Canada, an eye cream with SPF (I think it's something to do with the testing required to make this claim, which is why the Clarins one was pulled from the market some months ago - their broad spectrum claims weren't substantiated; I sure hope it's tested and put back on the shelves soon!). The only 2 eye creams I could find with sun protection were this and one from Ole Henriksen with only SPF 15 AND it was so greasy that it wasn't possible to wear it under eye makeup.

I very much like this product from Shiseido. I was concerned that this might sting if I was hot and sweaty so I got a sample first from Sephora and wore it to a hot yoga class. No stinging or irritation at all. Like the similar Clarins product, this is not especially moisturizing but that is easily overcome by wearing another eye cream underneath if I feel I need it (more in winter than in summer). But for summer, I find this to be perfectly fine. The texture isn't greasy - it's more like a primer or one of the lovely facial sunscreens from Kiehl's or La Roche Posay. But, like I say, if you need or want more hydration, just apply another eye cream first and then put this overtop.

I'm quite pleased with this product and use it every day, not just if I'm going to be out in the sun all day. It's a perfectly good replacement for my Clarins cream (which I still miss!) and gives good sun protection to an area that is both very prone to sun damage AND often overlooked!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 11/18/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Tread carefully with this product. I purchased it on a Saturday and used it the same day. Immediately after application I felt a burning sensation that just would not go away. I wasn't at home so I had no where to wash it off but the next morning I woke up with these unsightly flesh tone bumps under both eyes. I returned it and will go back to using my Colorscience Mineral Undereye SPF.....as soon as my eyes recover.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bookie101 on 4/23/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by bookie101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, the sunscreen element of this product is great. However, I buy it because it tightens and firms the crap out of the skin around my eyes. This is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Violetgreenblue on 2/16/2013 3:32:00 AM more reviews by Violetgreenblue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I apply this around my eyes after Paula's Choice Superantioxident serum. I'm fairly pale so I don't mind the slight white cast, but it really dries out my under eye area -- so much so that I can see fine lines that have never appeared/weren't noticeable before. The sunscreen is also a huge pain to remove unless using an oil make up remover (I use DHC's deep cleansing oil). I was using cetaphil gentle cleanser and avon's moisturizing make up remover before, and felt like I was repeatedly scrubbing my face trying to get this stuff off (which was the last thing I wanted to do around my eye area).

Also, it's not the greatest sunscreen on the market. If the zinc oxide is water-based, it's a fail for UVA. If the zinc oxide is oil-based than it's a pass. So I guess I'm back on the search for a good sunscreen around my eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AROMAA on 2/10/2012 3:58:00 AM more reviews by AROMAA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

like it so much.. but moistrizing wise..mmm u probably will need another moistrizer with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mhosler on 1/5/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by mhosler

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

After 1 month I got several little milia in the eye area. This has never happened to me before, until I started using this eye cream. I have never tried any other eye creams with sunscreen. The milia didn't go away for 6 months until I started using an alpha hydroxy acid eye cream 2 weeks ago.

I don't know why I had this problem. On a brief perusal of the reviews, no one else has had this issue.

Yes, it burned if it got into my eyes, but no more than any other eye cream I have ever used.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 9/21/2011 9:15:00 PM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. There are so few eye treatments for the delicate eye area on the market, so it's worth the price. It very rarely irritates my eyes ; I've certainly never experienced stinging, and I have very sensitive eyes. If there's something with SPF that can be used on the eye area that is gentler, I don't know about it.
UPDATE 1: While I have experienced slight irritation with this product before, today was one of those days where my left eye got really irritated. I would buy this product again, but now that I'm seeing more eye creams with SPF in them, I'm going to look for better alternatives.
UPDATE 2: I still think this is a great product, and it hasn't irritated my eyes since my last update. While I will use a bit just for the moisture at night on occasion, my one tip is to not put it all around your eyes and then nap or something. I think the cause for my irritation was the product rubbing off on my pillow and getting into my eyes. I still haven't found anything with better sun protection for the eye area.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweetness10 on 9/9/2011 7:01:00 PM more reviews by sweetness10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is average IMO. I don't love it but I don't hate it either. It doesn't irritate my eyes as a lot of products do, but I'm always careful not to get eye creams too close to my lids anyway. It stays in place and doesn't migrate into my eyes during the day as I've found some products do. It's a medium consistency and is white when I put it on so it takes a little blending - I just use the pad of my finger to blend it but it needs more work than other creams I've tried, which is a little annoying. It moisturises well but isn't so heavy that it makes my eyes puffy (a common problem for me). I like that the tube has a tiny opening so it's really hygienic. I always use an eye cream with sun protection for daytime and I love that this contains a high SPF because a lot of sun protection eye creams only have a low SPF. UPDATE: I have made the mistake of getting this too close to my eyes a couple of times on hot days and it's "melted" into my eyes about halfway through the day and it really stings - a lot! Even rinsing my eyes doesn't take away the sting. I've used the tube up now and I won't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cristiina on 8/21/2011 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Cristiina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to get an eyecream with a decent SPF and I actually like this product quite a lot. I don't have puffiness or fine lines or any other "issues" on my eye area, so I only use eye cream to prevent it from early aging and to protect the delicate skin. And this cream seems to be doing good job at that! Unlike for a lot of other people, it doesn't irritate my skin at all (then again, my skin isn't really sensitive at all).
What I really like about it, is that it comes in a tube instead of a jar. You get a very good amount of it, and this way it's much more hygienic.
I don't really have any complaints about this product, but I wish it was a bit more moisturizing.
Overall, the product clearly doesn't work for everyone but I personally like it and will probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nancygia on 7/10/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I feel that an SPF in a daytime eye cream is a must, so I conducted a search and selected this one based on the positive reviews and the Shiseido brand name, which I have always admired (for skin care). I am very disappointed in this product and cannot understand why some people like it. Although I have not experienced any burning from it, it just isn't moisturizing AT ALL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Treatments (Eye) products