MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Light

3.9

252 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

TALC, MICA, DIMETHICONE, POLYSORBATE 20, SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS (JOJOBA) SEED OIL, YEAST EXTRACT\FAEX\EXTRAIT DE LEVURE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, RETINYL PALMITATE, LAUROYL LYSINE, ISOPROPYL PALMITATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, MAGNESIUM ALUMINUM SILICATE, BHT, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, PHENOXYETHANOL [ /- TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), BLUE 1 LAKE (CI 42090), BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE (CI 77163), CARMINE (CI 75470), CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN (CI 77289), CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS (CI 77288), FERRIC FERROCYANIDE (CI 77510), MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742), RED 6 (CI 15850), RED 7 LAKE (CI 15850), ULTRAMARINES (CI 77007), YELLOW 5 LAKE (CI 19140), YELLOW 6 LAKE (CI 15985)]


on 2/18/2015 9:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love mac products and wanted something more heavy duty to set my liquid foundation and to also take away shine. So I found myself here.

Packaging- I love mac packaging, simple, modern and very slick. This packaging on this product is sturdy and doesn't feel flimsy. Also comes with a mirror!

Formula- The powder is very soft and is easy to find the right shade for you, if you're not sure chat live with a mac makeup artist.

Wear/Look- When I apply this over my foundation it sets it well and keeps the shine at bay on my face, it can look chalky, fake/cakey or too powdery if I apply far to much. I would say that it doesnt stay all day for me, but I don't feel the need to reapply at work, mainly because I don't have time or I can't be bothered. I like to think that when I have finished my makeup in the morning that I have done with makeup for the day. I have noticed a couple of massive downers for me, I have dry skin which I make sure I moisturize every evening before I go to bed. Sometimes with this powder I felt that it made me look flakey, and made my face look very dry and just clung to my dry areas, not good. Also when I started using this my face was getting itchy everyday which never happened before, I thought it was just my skin playing up but I decided to stop using this and boom, my itchiness stopped. So now I think I'll just use it to take away shine.

Price- 23 which I don't think is too bad.

Overall- I'm not sure if I will be repurchasing this, I don't think I will. If nothing else takes away the shine on my nose then maybe I will have to repurchase this. Its a shame because I really loved this when I first purchased it but now I'm not so sure



on 1/22/2015 5:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Have repurchased this about once a year for the last decade. Works well for lightly setting overly dewy foundations or livening flatter finishes. On good skin (or lazy) days I just moisturize and then use a flat kabuki to buff it into my skin for light coverage and evening out redness.

However, I HATE the packaging they switched to last spring. Aside from the bulky shape and weight, useless mini mirror and weak magnetic closure, the lower sides do not keep flyaway powder contained at all and it actually feels like the texture has become more 'dusty'. Every time I open it up, powder goes everywhere.

Have discovered that Sephora's microsmooth in Porcelain is a decent dupe of my 'old' MSFN so will be purchasing this from here on out. Price is also better, even including shipping (unfortunately my country no longer has Sephora). Coverage is slightly lighter than MSFN, but the pros outweigh the cons for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 4:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm not sure what this powder is supposed to do, but I can tell you what it does and doesn't do on my skin.

What it does: it accentuates the dry patches that my new favorite foundation (CG RSG) doesn't.

What it doesn't do: mattify,control shine or give my skin a finished look.


on 12/27/2014 10:31:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received this in a swap I did on www.swapidu.com and I'm a big fan of it now. It's so much better than powder! I only use Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer in porcelain and then this to set it. Never looked more natural than with this new beauty routine. No breakouts, nothing. Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2014 5:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use a little bit of this over-top my mattifying foundation to make it look a little more natural. I cannot recommend using this over any dewy-type foundations if you have combination to oily skin. With my matte foundation, I only use it on the high points of my face. I do this because 1) it's a little light for my skin and the next shade darker is too dark and 2) because it will make you look like a ghost in flash photography if you put it all over your face; it reflects light like crazy. The product lasts forever though and, if you know you'll use it, is worth the higher-end price tag for that fact alone.


on 10/10/2014 1:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this powder. I've tried so many different powders over the years but this is by far my favourite. It sets your make up in place without adding a ton of additional coverage which means you don't get that powdery cake face very easily. It lasts forever, and the packaging is great too, lovely and simple with a decent amount of product. I know MAC is on the dearer side of things but it's worth it. I recently finished up one I had for about 18 months which got used nearly every day, so you get your value. Use a fluffy brush to apply not a puff or sponge for the best result.


on 10/1/2014 11:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder to use as an undereye highlight. My skintone normally in MAC is NC 35 but because I faux tan I'm currently an NC 42. Either shade, this powder works beautifully under the eyes. I typically use a highlighter and a lighter concealer then set with this powder. It very light and gives a satin finish. It doesnt look chalky at all. I'm not a fan of harsh highlighting so I blend everything out and this blends without an issue. It melts right into my face powder. I originally bought this to alternate with my Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal Light. It's a little starker than Ethereal Light but thats ok because I use less product when using this one or If I just dont pack it on as much as I do I'm sure it can be more sheer.. I find myself reaching for the MSFN a lot. It's a great product!


on 7/26/2014 12:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ehhhh-- I bought this because there was SO much hype around it. My go to w MAC has always been the studio fix powder bc of my oily and difficult skin.

Anywho I do not like this product for the following reasons:
-light leaves a slight pink cast on my nc15 skin
-does zilch for oil control. I set my foundation primarily to control oil. This fails at that
-realllllllyyy bad at creeping into lines and accentuating bad texture on skin. This is the absolute deal breaker for me. I really don't like how my skin looks in most lighting while wearing this
-I generally don't like that baked dome from baked mineral products bc it's difficult to pick up product without stuff falling around everywhere


So yeah. I'll use this up. I LOVE the mac mineralized loose. Like LOVE it- it makes my skin look gorgeous. But the MSFN isn't a real winner in my book. It's OK at best. And too costly to just be "ok"


on 7/18/2014 10:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

I think I have repurchased this product in this shade at least 5 times. It's a great powder for touch ups, setting, adding coverage, being a powder foundation, you name it.

It can get a bit cakey if you don't use with moisture spray. That might be my one complaint.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2014 12:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wouldn't say there is anything particularly wrong with this product, it's just that to me all it seems like is just an average pressed powder? Does the job, controls shine ; but then again so do most powders for a fraction of a price of this one! I usually buy drug store brand powders which tend to range from about £4-£7 not £23 like this product. It seems like a silly price to pay when you can save 70% on drug store brands which are the exact same quality. I like the new packaging, convenient compacts mirror and magnetic closure.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top