MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Light • Pressed Powders

rated 4.0(251 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SuperSnoep on 1/22/2015 5:09:00 PM more reviews by SuperSnoep

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Have repurchased this about once a year for the last decade. Works well for lightly setting overly dewy foundations or livening flatter finishes. On good skin (or lazy) days I just moisturize and then use a flat kabuki to buff it into my skin for light coverage and evening out redness.

However, I HATE the packaging they switched to last spring. Aside from the bulky shape and weight, useless mini mirror and weak magnetic closure, the lower sides do not keep flyaway powder contained at all and it actually feels like the texture has become more 'dusty'. Every time I open it up, powder goes everywhere.

Have discovered that Sephora's microsmooth in Porcelain is a decent dupe of my 'old' MSFN so will be purchasing this from here on out. Price is also better, even including shipping (unfortunately my country no longer has Sephora). Coverage is slightly lighter than MSFN, but the pros outweigh the cons for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 1/22/2015 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm not sure what this powder is supposed to do, but I can tell you what it does and doesn't do on my skin.

What it does: it accentuates the dry patches that my new favorite foundation (CG RSG) doesn't.

What it doesn't do: mattify,control shine or give my skin a finished look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 boobie on 12/27/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by boobie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I received this in a swap I did on www.swapidu.com and I'm a big fan of it now. It's so much better than powder! I only use Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer in porcelain and then this to set it. Never looked more natural than with this new beauty routine. No breakouts, nothing. Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kimmacious on 11/15/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by Kimmacious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use a little bit of this over-top my mattifying foundation to make it look a little more natural. I cannot recommend using this over any dewy-type foundations if you have combination to oily skin. With my matte foundation, I only use it on the high points of my face. I do this because 1) it's a little light for my skin and the next shade darker is too dark and 2) because it will make you look like a ghost in flash photography if you put it all over your face; it reflects light like crazy. The product lasts forever though and, if you know you'll use it, is worth the higher-end price tag for that fact alone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lozzie88 on 10/10/2014 1:02:00 AM more reviews by lozzie88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this powder. I've tried so many different powders over the years but this is by far my favourite. It sets your make up in place without adding a ton of additional coverage which means you don't get that powdery cake face very easily. It lasts forever, and the packaging is great too, lovely and simple with a decent amount of product. I know MAC is on the dearer side of things but it's worth it. I recently finished up one I had for about 18 months which got used nearly every day, so you get your value. Use a fluffy brush to apply not a puff or sponge for the best result.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mellypmakeup on 10/1/2014 11:02:00 AM more reviews by mellypmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this powder to use as an undereye highlight. My skintone normally in MAC is NC 35 but because I faux tan I'm currently an NC 42. Either shade, this powder works beautifully under the eyes. I typically use a highlighter and a lighter concealer then set with this powder. It very light and gives a satin finish. It doesnt look chalky at all. I'm not a fan of harsh highlighting so I blend everything out and this blends without an issue. It melts right into my face powder. I originally bought this to alternate with my Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal Light. It's a little starker than Ethereal Light but thats ok because I use less product when using this one or If I just dont pack it on as much as I do I'm sure it can be more sheer.. I find myself reaching for the MSFN a lot. It's a great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genarod on 7/26/2014 12:16:00 PM more reviews by genarod

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ehhhh-- I bought this because there was SO much hype around it. My go to w MAC has always been the studio fix powder bc of my oily and difficult skin.

Anywho I do not like this product for the following reasons:
-light leaves a slight pink cast on my nc15 skin
-does zilch for oil control. I set my foundation primarily to control oil. This fails at that
-realllllllyyy bad at creeping into lines and accentuating bad texture on skin. This is the absolute deal breaker for me. I really don't like how my skin looks in most lighting while wearing this
-I generally don't like that baked dome from baked mineral products bc it's difficult to pick up product without stuff falling around everywhere


So yeah. I'll use this up. I LOVE the mac mineralized loose. Like LOVE it- it makes my skin look gorgeous. But the MSFN isn't a real winner in my book. It's OK at best. And too costly to just be "ok"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 7/18/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

I think I have repurchased this product in this shade at least 5 times. It's a great powder for touch ups, setting, adding coverage, being a powder foundation, you name it.

It can get a bit cakey if you don't use with moisture spray. That might be my one complaint.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucyjadebyrne on 6/30/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by lucyjadebyrne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't say there is anything particularly wrong with this product, it's just that to me all it seems like is just an average pressed powder? Does the job, controls shine ; but then again so do most powders for a fraction of a price of this one! I usually buy drug store brand powders which tend to range from about £4-£7 not £23 like this product. It seems like a silly price to pay when you can save 70% on drug store brands which are the exact same quality. I like the new packaging, convenient compacts mirror and magnetic closure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Laminitis on 6/8/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by Laminitis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased the Mac mineralize skinfinish last week and I must say I'm very disappointed . I've been using the Medium
Dark for YEARS. The product itself is fantastic however in pictures you do get a white flash so be careful.
Although I love the product itself MAC have ruined it by changing the packaging!!! It looks horrible and alot of makeup artists have said so too. It looks cheap and tacky. If I were not buying from Mac store I would say it was a fake. I don't understand why they have taken a perfectly good packaged product and ruined it! Now, you must be thinking, what's the big deal? It's only the packaging but wait, there's more... I put this in my make up bag and in 2 days the product (without being used or even opened) leaked into my makeup bag and got onto pretty much everything. Now for those who like to keep there make up bags clean and tidy DON'T BUY this. Even makeup artists, i wouldnt recommend this product. DON'T BUY this. You kits will be covered in it. The product seeps through the bottom. I thought I got a faulty one so I went back to MAC only to find they are all the same!! The icing on the cake is it is a () pound more than the old packaged one. So we are paying more for msf for a poorly designed package. Talk about ripping your customers off. For those who use this product... Please contact MAC and tell them how you feel about the new packaging its the only way we are gonna get the old packaging back. You can email them through their website or contact consumer care number 0800 074 6905 it's (free phone)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products