MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Light • Pressed Powders

rated 4.0(245 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 7/18/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

I think I have repurchased this product in this shade at least 5 times. It's a great powder for touch ups, setting, adding coverage, being a powder foundation, you name it.

It can get a bit cakey if you don't use with moisture spray. That might be my one complaint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucyjadebyrne on 6/30/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by lucyjadebyrne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't say there is anything particularly wrong with this product, it's just that to me all it seems like is just an average pressed powder? Does the job, controls shine ; but then again so do most powders for a fraction of a price of this one! I usually buy drug store brand powders which tend to range from about £4-£7 not £23 like this product. It seems like a silly price to pay when you can save 70% on drug store brands which are the exact same quality. I like the new packaging, convenient compacts mirror and magnetic closure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Laminitis on 6/8/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by Laminitis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased the Mac mineralize skinfinish last week and I must say I'm very disappointed . I've been using the Medium
Dark for YEARS. The product itself is fantastic however in pictures you do get a white flash so be careful.
Although I love the product itself MAC have ruined it by changing the packaging!!! It looks horrible and alot of makeup artists have said so too. It looks cheap and tacky. If I were not buying from Mac store I would say it was a fake. I don't understand why they have taken a perfectly good packaged product and ruined it! Now, you must be thinking, what's the big deal? It's only the packaging but wait, there's more... I put this in my make up bag and in 2 days the product (without being used or even opened) leaked into my makeup bag and got onto pretty much everything. Now for those who like to keep there make up bags clean and tidy DON'T BUY this. Even makeup artists, i wouldnt recommend this product. DON'T BUY this. You kits will be covered in it. The product seeps through the bottom. I thought I got a faulty one so I went back to MAC only to find they are all the same!! The icing on the cake is it is a () pound more than the old packaged one. So we are paying more for msf for a poorly designed package. Talk about ripping your customers off. For those who use this product... Please contact MAC and tell them how you feel about the new packaging its the only way we are gonna get the old packaging back. You can email them through their website or contact consumer care number 0800 074 6905 it's (free phone)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amberlightsss on 5/18/2014 3:53:00 PM more reviews by amberlightsss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a baked powder with minerals which is supposed to give your face a natural looking, matte finish and a light coverage. I got it in the shade Light Plus, but I think it is the wrong shade for me. After a couple of hours the powder turns quite orange, which means it actually oxidizes! I have never experienced powders oxidizing on my skin before. I guess the Plus shade is a little bit more yellow than the regular Light shade, so if I ever will repurchase this I will buy it in Light, not Light Plus.

When it comes to the coverage of it - it provides a really light coverage. It covers a tiny bit, like redness and pigmentation, but not acne, scars, freckles etc. When applied with a dense buffer brush/kabuki brush it covers more than when applied with a regular powder brush. The finish looks really natural when buffed into the skin! Over a full coverage foundation it can look a little bit cakey, but if you're careful and don't apply too much, it will look good. Applied alone over a kind of thick primer (a primer which is supposed to fill/hide pores for instance, they are usually quite thick), it will look as natural as bare skin - but with that tiny bit of coverage!

The staying power is just OK, nothing too great. After only 2-3 hours it's completely gone around my nose, mouth and forehead. After a couple more hours it's gone everywhere else on my face. I reapply it though, but I'm always on the hunt for a powder that lasts for several hours, not only 4-5 hours.... It controls oiliness quite well, but my skin can get EXTREMELY oily, so I'm not surprised over the fact that the powder disappears after only 2 hours when my skin is at its worst. If you got just slightly oily skin, I think this will be good. Since I've got combination skin, my skin often gets really dry too and when my skin is dry I don't use Mineralize Skinfinish - it clings to dry patches like crazy, making my skin look awful.... A good thing though, is that it didn't break me out.

!SHORT SUMMARY!
I probably won't repurchase this since it's not a good powder for my skintype. It only works great when my skin is just slightly oily and a little on the normal side, but that happens rarely. The finish is pretty, it looks natural and feels light on the skin, it doesn't break me out and all that jazz.... But there's nothing more special to it. It doesn't last for too long, turns orange on me and manages to find all the tinytiny dry spots on my skin.... So yeah, guess I won't repurchase it. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlyGirl143 on 3/4/2014 5:06:00 AM more reviews by GirlyGirl143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product, not sure why I didn't review sooner. I am NW10 and this powder does not pull yellow on me, so I love it. I use a velour puff to press the powder over my foundation and then I use a powder brush to lightly buff the excess away. Then I spray MAC fix + over my face, which really makes my makeup look perfect.

Pro:
Light neutral beige color
light finish, really makes your makeup look good and not "cakey"
You get a lot of product for the price
Perfect match with fix +

Con:
A little on the expensive side, but what good makeup isn't?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maddieziegler on 1/4/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by maddieziegler

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I highly suggest this powder if you wear a lot of full-coverage foundation and you want to give your makeup a more natural looking finish. If you're looking for a face powder with coverage, however, I would skip this as it is very sheer- this product is better suited for setting your liquid makeup. I use this powder everyday to set my MAC Prolongwear Foundation and I love it. Will continue to repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BrownEyes01 on 11/26/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by BrownEyes01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this! I have used Studio Fix for years and loved that but it was getting too heavy. This pleasantly surprised me. I have VERY oily skin and usually only gravitate towards something that has matte in the name. The "natural" finish kind of made me hesitant. So glad I tried it, though. It feels like you are wearing nothing and I am surprised at the coverage it gives. Of course, with the Studio Fix, I am spoiled with full coverage because that is what it provides. This doesn't seem to provide that kind of coverage but I don't have to pack it on to get any coverage. And it never gets cakey. Packaging is minimal. Not even a mirror but I can put this on without one (I don't) but you could. Love and will buy over and over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keepitreal on 11/26/2013 11:16:00 AM more reviews by keepitreal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this powder off and on since about 2009 and felt it was finally time to write a review. I have used many different powder foundations and this one tops them all. I realize this is not marketed as a base product, but that's how I use it. Light is a perfect match for me and it covers up my redness quite well, makes my skin look more lively, and doesn't look powdery or cakey. My skin is also extremely reactive and this has never given me a problem. I really love the finish of it as well - very smooth and slightly luminous. It does not control oil very well, but I don't really expect any makeup to make much of a difference in that regard. For application I use a large powder brush, swirl in the powder once or twice, and just go over each section of my face. It is a bit expensive, but lasts a decent amount of time and, to me, is totally worth it. I will keep buying as long as they make it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dawny1980 on 11/2/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by dawny1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i absolutely love this powder! i use it over smashbox 15 hr foundation in 1.1 and it is my perfect combination. i love mac powders but am not so in love with their foundations as i have never managed to find a perfect match as i'm really pale. i apply this with a bakuki brush and need very little to set my make up. it has very little colour in it so looks completely natural. it is on the expensive side but is well worth buying as it makes my combination skin stay matte in the oily t zone but does not dry out my (very) dry chin. i am also prone to the odd break out but have never had an issue with this powder. i have used mac blot powder in the past and would recommend both although this gives a more natural glow and not such a matte effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MmmQuinn on 9/22/2013 1:41:00 AM more reviews by MmmQuinn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this powder several months ago after having zero luck with drugstore powders. I love it! It matches my skin perfectly, and gives me a nice, full coverage (combined with foundation) natural , matte finish. It is easily blended and doesn't look powdery. Depending on my day, I might have to reapply once in the middle of the day to mattify my nose. I do wish that the compact included a mirror, but the clear top is also very nice looking. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products