MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Light • Pressed Powders

rated 4.0(246 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellesk on 11/29/2009 10:48:00 PM more reviews by ellesk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What's that you say? A multi-purpose product that runs the gamut from finishing powder to actual foundation in the form of a mound of pale baked powder? Sign me up.
From the first time I dusted it across my face, to this very morning when I used it, and only it, for my foundation, it was true LOVE. I had been using mineral foundation for the past year or so, but decided I wanted a bit of a change, & so decided to purchase StudioFix as an alternative. I loved the coverage & matte finish it gave my skin, but I sometimes yearned for the dewy finish of yore... and so, after hearing rave reviews, decided to pick up the Mineralize Skinfinish Natural.
Upon first dust, I could see the MSF's transformative powers - though it's a powder, my skin looked fresh & finished (almost airbrushed), yet it had an almost-dewy effect to it as well - probably thanks to its finely-milled nature. Plus, it set my makeup perfectly. As time went on, I found that on fairly good skin days, all I needed was some concealer, a kabuki brush & my MSF Natural to achieve a flawless face that felt light & comfortable, but looked smooth & put-together.
The best part is, this product sticks with me through my ever-changing skin condition - combination oily & dry in the summer, to super dry in the winter. Though those of us who are cursed with dry skin are often recommended to wear liquid or cream foundations, I find that they only exaggerate my flakes & dry patches - whereas MSF Natural never does.
Easy, compact & hard-working... it's like your perfect boyfriend... in skinfinish form.

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jillirific on 11/9/2010 1:37:00 PM more reviews by jillirific

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my everyday/lazy foundation since it became permanent - and thank goodness it did! I've gone through so many of these (they're easily my #1 B2M empty.) I have a very good complexion - I almost never get breakouts and my skin is smooth...I just have some redness which I like to cover. Therefore, I don't like to wear liquid foundation or anything too heavy all the time since I don't need much anyway (though I do still like to wear Revlon PhotoReady for special occasions). Plus, this is super quick! I'm also pretty stoked that this matches my skin (or is very forgiving since it's a light powder) because no other foundation at MAC matches me.


It baffles me that this is sold as a setting or touch-up powder. The website implies that it can be used as a foundation ("provides perfect low coverage"), and strongly suggests it for touch ups and setting, but I constantly hear MAs sell it as a setting powder only. I've even had one discourage my mother from buying it as a foundation exclusively, saying that it is not a foundation. This is such a perfect, no mess, no fuss, low coverage foundation. I'm sure it's wonderful as a setting powder, but I think its use as a foundation isn't promoted enough.


Buffed onto the skin with a 182 or another buffing brush (I don't find the 187, though popular for this, makes the most of this product as a foundation), it provides a beautiful matte-satin finish. It's advertised as matte but I don't think it gives off a stark matte look, it almost mimics skin and brightens it without any shimmer at all. Applied with a buffer brush (can't vouch for other methods of application), there is no powdery look left on your skin at all. It photographs beautifully. It covers my redness and lets my light freckles show through just enough that you can still see them, which I like. It also lasts through the day on me, and I'm a waitress running around with greasy food. I don't find I need to touch-up at all and actually prefer how this looks on me after a couple of hours or wear.


The only thing I don't like is the price. In Ontario, after taxes, this is almost $40. I go through one of these about every 4-5 months which I guess is pretty decent value...I just think it's a lot of money and isn't something I look forward to buying/spending even though I do love the product. If it were $25-$28 I'd feel a lot better about it. Also, it does get 'dusty' for a while when it's brand new - but I find after the dome starts to flatten, there's less product that becomes loose and flies everywhere. Be cautious of that when using it, and don't wear black or dark colours when applying because it does fly off the brush.


Regardless, this is an excellent foundation (would not spend the money on it as a setting powder though) and I think it's a great option for those without trouble skin who want a quick foundation routine but great results, too. I would stock up like crazy if they ever got rid of this...I've strayed and tried other foundations but ALWAYS come back to this for its convenience and how it doesn't feel like I'm wearing makeup.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 poopinshmicken on 3/24/2010 9:30:00 PM more reviews by poopinshmicken

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay I'm writing this review and MAYBE by the end of it I'll come to some conclusion on this powder. A lot of makeup gurus on youtube use this stuff. I could probably name 7. And I've bought this stuff twice - same shade. I'll probably buy it a third time too, but I'm still lukewarm. It guess it's like a boyfriend you've had for two years - I probably could find better but I'm just not up for it right now so I'll keep the relationship for a third year. (lol)

My Skin:
- Oily, sensitive, cystic acne-prone, acne-scarring.
- MAC NC15/20 or MUFE #20/#117

The *Hype* I heard that made me purchase it:
- Can double as a foundation
- Great coverage
- Soft and creamy - natural-looking!
- Won't break out skin

My thoughts:
PROS:
- It does add good coverage.
- This (unlike MOST everything else) doesnt' break me out. This is probably the biggest reason why I have repurchased.
- It doesn't have talc, which I find very harsh on my skin. Like it pulls my skin when I apply products with talc.

CONS
- For what I paid, this really isn't THAT soft. It feel pretty drugstore to me. I feel like Physican's Formula probably has something similar.
- This is good for setting foundation, but not as a foundation alone. It wears off sooooo quickly and I'm NOT one that likes to reapply makeup. Even with concealer and a kabuki, this doesn't give great coverage alone.
- I still think too much of this can make anyone look cakey and applying ANY powder will dry out skin. Maybe this stuff is less dry but not significantly.
- This powder (even though I don't use it daily) seems to go faster than any other powder I've ever used. *sigh*
- I don't really think any powder is going to provide a "natural-looking finish"
- The lid always breaks on me with these MSFs. Like the clear plastic part detaches.

CONCLUSION: This is a good powder. This is not a great powder. I do not think it lives up to the hype. This would be an awesome powder, if it were drugstore or half the price. (I hate Bare Minerals though so I like this better.)

Note: If anyone can advise me on a better powder for acne-proned skin, I'd probably try it.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ocarina on 2/19/2010 4:05:00 AM more reviews by ocarina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Ladies, if you want a light coverage, average finishing/setting powder, by all means pick up MSFN. It does its job well, although it's not outstanding. Where this product comes into its own, however, is as a foundation. I actually use this WET, like Pan-Cake or those old-school dual-powder foundations, except this doesn't have the blotchy, streaky finish those used to have. Here is my technique: Take a full powder brush (yes, the kind you would use to apply face powder all over), or a stippling brush like the Mac 187 or the Px Bronzer Brush. Spray some rosewater or any non-alcoholic toner into the brush bristles 2 or 3 times. Swirl the brush over the MSFN cake and apply it in circular motions to your face, one area at a time. Swear on a stack...poreless, flawless, matte skin will be yours in a matter of minutes. It controls oil really well and lasts a good long time before needing a touch up. Note, however, that I have also tried this technique with a flat-topped buffing brush. It doesn't work as well, for some reason. A full powder brush will give you flawless coverage, while a stippling brush provides a sheerer finish. I wouldn't be happier that the MSFN that was previously sitting forgotten in a shoebox is now paying its way, and doing such a good job. Try it!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie90 on 10/28/2009 6:17:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was a so-so pressed powder for me. I remember wanting to buy this before and the MAC sales lady did not recommend this for me because I have oily skin. However after I found out Dita Von Teese uses this, (Love her milky, creamy complexion) I ran out and bought it!! I like the look of it in the morning, it is very natural on, and sets my makeup well. It is definitely the most natural pressed powder I've used. However for my super oily skin this did absolutely nothing! After two hours my face is super shiny. And even after applying this again my face is still shiny!! Le sigh...I can see this working for women with dry skin or wrinkles who don't want an aging or powdery look. But for oily skin this just doesn't cut it!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jennylynn on 5/5/2008 11:22:00 AM more reviews by jennylynn

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For me, this powder's pros (wear, finish, staying power, gentleness) outweigh the cons (color selection, trickier application, no mirror). I'm a yellow-toned PPP with oily, flaky, sensitive skin with alot of redness and frequent breakouts (I know----very attractive). When it comes to foundations/powders I love a clean, semi-matte, very natural look. Easier said than done when you've got skin like mine, unfortunately. Most days I spend more time concealing than I do on all the rest of my makeup, put together!

Though the Light is a bit dark and peachy for me (and initially really turned me off--- I have an unnatural fear of mask-y foundation), I found after a few days that I didn't mind the slight color difference. Maybe that's due to my gradually-improving swirl-with-a-brush application skills---who knows. But at this point, if I apply carefully I find that I need very little concealer once this powder is on. Coverage-wise, it serves me as well---or better---than any powder foundations I've used, though I know it's not technically considered a "foundation." Sometimes I'll add a light dusting of loose powder over this, and it seems to help it "set" even more.

By afternoon I, of course, have lots of shine; but the difference here is that the makeup is not sliding off my face like it usually does. Instead I can carefully blot, and the tissue I've used has very little makeup on it. By evening I may have needed a bit of a touch-up around my nose & under my eyes (two of my concealer hot-spots), but in general I feel that my face looks remarkably fresh and recently-applied. Woo-hoo! (Those of you with oily, troubled skin will understand what a major accomplishment this is!)

And now for the biggest selling point: my skin has improved dramatically since I began using this product, and I'm even in the middle of hormone-induced craziness. I kid you not, my scars are fading remarkably quickly without becoming re-aggravated, I've had no more cystic acne or major pimples, and my overall skin tone is much more even, with much less redness. I know that this is a common pleasant side-effect of mineral makeups; but I've never found one that came even remotely close to matching my skin tone until now, so I've not been able to experiment.

All-in-all, a fabulous powder, a near-enough color match, improved skin, great staying power, and a slightly-painful-but-still-do-able price.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BabetMichl on 6/30/2013 2:25:00 PM more reviews by BabetMichl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this. It is a powder that you can use on its own or on the top of the liquid foundaion. I usually use this on its own - it has a light (maybe light to medium) buildable coverage and it looks completely natural on the skin and it doesn't look like you wear a powder on the skin. It has a little bit of shimmer in it, but don't worry, it isn't visible. It is super easy and quick to apply, you can use a little bit of concealer and than sweep this on the top and you don't need any setting powder. It is also good for my combo-oily skin, it keeps me matte pretty nicely. I wear the shade light, which i think will be good for people with NC15-NC20 or NW 15-NW20 skintones. But I (NC 15-20) also tried the Light plus (which is little bit darker) and it was good. Overall I really like it, but it could have better coverage. (I'm sorry for mistakes, I learn English for only year now:)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aer0057 on 3/24/2011 10:57:00 AM more reviews by aer0057

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit, I love how this product looks. Medium-Light seems too look the best. Light is too ghost-like. HOWEVER, this powder clogs pores like no other. It contains Bismuth Oxychloride which clogs pores and causes acne. Immediately after I stopped using this, my skin cleared up. Sad sad day because this product was actually pretty good. But now I remember it did make me unusually oily too. Oily and caused acne. Ewwww! No thanks! Try loose mineral makeup instead.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 7/23/2007 5:53:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

All in all a good product. The product is quite sheer, with very subtle shimmer that gives a nice allover glow without being sparkly. I find this product doesn't give a fake "airbrushed skin" effect that some of the mineral products do, which isn't a bad thing at all. The light color is a bit dark on me, but most everything is. For now, I'm liking this product the most of all the mineral makeup brands I've tried (L'Oreal, BE, Aromaleigh, Jane Iredale, Jane). Mostly, I just give my face a general dusting/light buffing with an oversized loose powder brush dipped into the product, and I find that it works well to even up my skin tone and give me a finished look without it looking like I have on too much makeup. I usually use a smaller eyeshadow brush swirled in the product to cover my eyelids, under my eyes, etc. The product is a built-up dome of pressed mineral product, and as a note of caution it will shatter like glass if dropped, or bumped around in your purse, etc. I'm finding this stuff very nice to use for the summer, although I find that depending on what type of cream, lotion, sunscreen, etc that you prep your face with, this stuff does have a tendency to settle into fine lines around your mouth and under your eyes, etc.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TMK6959 on 12/31/2011 4:44:00 AM more reviews by TMK6959

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Next to my Prep+Prime Transluscent Powder, this is the most amazing powder I have ever used. They are both equally amazing in their own rights.

The texture of this powder is incredibly dry and finely milled (almost like a stick of chalk) yet it provides an incredibly natural, dewy and glowing look!

This is possibly the most multi-use product I've ever used. It works as a finishing powder, a light-coverage foundation, an eye brightening eyeshadow, a bronzer (I own two- one in #LIGHT and one in #MEDIUM for bronzing and contouring), a contour, and a light dusting adds a nice glow to the decollatage area. Oil control is good- it mattifies, but never LOOKS matte. There's always a glow. Wear time is pretty good- I find myself having to reapply twice daily on oily skin.

Overall, I adore this and won't ever switch powders again. It gives me the most beautiful finish (ESPECIALLY IN PHOTOS!), it's one of the only powders that doesn't irritate my skin, and I'm happy with lasting powder and ease of application. Everyone should give this powder a shot, it is the holy grail of powders. This is coming from a super picky powder whore! I will buy this again and again. My search for the perfect powder is over.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products