Wet 'n' Wild • H2O Proof Liquid Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 2.8(344 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ambernoelle on 1/27/2015 1:12:00 AM more reviews by ambernoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I previously own this several years back when I was a freshman in high school, so I knew nothing about makeup and I never purchased it again. I was trying to find a new liquid eyeliner after hating the loreal stilleto one. Since this was dirt cheap I decided to try it out. All I can say is WOW...

It lasted through a 3 hour hike in warm weather + a dive into a waterfall. Usually even when I yawn my eyeliner goes everywhere. I rubbed my eyes and everything and it stayed perfect. No smudges, flaking, nothing. JUST MAKE SURE YOU SHAKE WELL!!!!!กก!!!! It makes a huge difference.

Now the applicator is very stubby and thick as well as firm. It took a little getting used to but I now can do a perfect winged eyeliner. It goes on a bit sheer and liquidy but it sets dark black and stays put. Even when I use soap it stays on o.O but it removes fine with makeup remover.

I'd definitely recommend trying it out since it's a little less than $3. Don't forget to SHAKE WELL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 notyourkay on 1/6/2015 11:30:00 PM more reviews by notyourkay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Bar none, the worst liquid liner I have ever used...

I bought this product yesterday, operating under the assumption that it would be similar to the Megaliner (which I adore) only better. So I take home, start getting ready for work, and open up this package. First thing I notice is that the brush is very stiff, more like a felt-tipped pen than their usual brushes - it's weird, but workable, and I mange to get a great looking winged out eye.

Cut to about 20 minutes later: I'm dressed, stuffing my purse with my lunch and take one more glance at the mirror before stepping out and BAM. The weirdest "cut-crease" look I ever inadvertently tried out. The transfer onto my lid from the lashline was unreal, but I managed to clean it up and up and when I get to work, wouldn't you know it, even more transfer action. And it continued ALL. DAMN. DAY, It's like this stuff wouldn't dry, and I spent the a good chunk of my dedicated to wiping the raccoon rings from my eyes every 5 minutes.

I took the product back to the store and exchanged it for the usual Megaliner, and I would recommend anyone thinking of purchasing it to think twice - the price looks good, but the product blows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* talkaboutaddiction on 12/24/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by talkaboutaddiction

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Christmas Eve and my long term boyfriend breaks up with me. Insert pity party and eyeliner here. Im in tears all day. My foundation is gone, mascarra ran like he did and my eye depuffing cream has failed me. This stuff??? Dude, Ive gotten sharpie marker off of skin and carpet easier than this! I have no makeup left on, crying for nearly 8 hrs straight and this stuff has NOT MOVED. Not even a crack or fade. I have found using dots and then connecting them makes the best line. Also, it doesnt dry fast BUT I use a black powder shadow and a liner brush to set the wet and its there for life...unlike the jerk off boyfriend. The only way I get it off is with warm baby oil soaked cotton balls.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ArtistryMakeUp on 10/26/2014 6:36:00 AM more reviews by ArtistryMakeUp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first, second and third "first impression" of the product. I am not native english speaker, so escuse my mistakes.

I bought it because some reviews I read, but clearly this is one of the worst liquid eyeliners ever. At first, I was like...wow it is really waterproof, black, blah blah and even when opening it and discovering it was a stiff felt-tip liner...It didn't bother me because I still use an eyeliner brush for every liquid/gel eyeliner anyways. But even when you try to apply it with a brush is a pain...it harden the bristles so yo have to manage to separate the bristles to soften them before applying the next dip-in...EVERY time. SO you'd think that because of that it should dry very fast on your eyelid, but no! Once you are finally happy with the line (proudly done because it was a pain and you still did it) you go out, after a few hours come back and looking at the mirror you discover that it has transfered to the upper lid like it was an awful harsh cut line crease and you say to yourself...ok, this could happen because I didn't set it after with black eyeshadow or I was really sweaty...but not one of them was it. And c'mom it is supposed to be waterproof (which I tested it and it worked), but apparently not in your eyelid, or at least no if you don't wait millions of hours until it decides to dry.

At the end, altough it is cheap it is still a loss of your money for little as i'd be.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Staaarlit on 10/5/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What a shitty product. This eyeliner deserves no star. I don't know what reviews I read that prompted me to buy this product, but I know the number of recommendations was high, and that was why I decided to pick this eyeliner up. Well, it was a mistake. A fat, terrible mistake.

The applicator is crap -- it's very stiff, and it prevents the product from gliding across your lid. The motion is a "stop-and-go" type, which makes the application time consuming and the outcome far from perfect even when you have a steady hand. The applicator also makes it inevitable for the product to make its way onto your lashes during application. By the time you finish drawing your line, your lashes would surely have this product hanging in clumps on it, and removing these clumps without yanking out your lashes and affecting your already-drawn liner is nearly impossible and would probably frustrate the hell out of you.

The formula may be waterproof, but it crepes on my lids. Maybe it is because of the fold of my eyelids, I don't know; but they said this would be great for "Asian eyelids". Well, it seems they were wrong. Oh, and it takes a really, really long time to dry. And I mean, REALLY long. And 20 minutes later, product looks crepey and starts to fall out in some spots. Whut. the. Eff..
(Edited: I just went to remove the eyeliner and found that it was not difficult to remove whatsoever. I was able to remove it with ease with my diy makeup wipes -- a blend of coconut oil, tear-free baby wash, and water. I guess the formula isn't that strong after all.)

This eyeliner is cheap, and I'm not just talking about the price. A big disappointment because my hopes were high due to the raves. I've tried this product several times, and all tries have yielded the same outcome. This morning was my last try. It was so frustrating that I thought, "hm, I need to review this shit on makeupalley later." This product now sits with my trash. I seriously wish I could get my money back. I don't know what those reviewers were talking about giving this product praises. Don't waste your money.

Update: After tossing this, I was tempted to once again go on the search for the eyeliner that would not smudge regardless of weather or eyelid type. My "Asian" eyelids are the type that has a fold that sits quite low (as in near my lash line), so the space below the fold is small. Any eyeshadow or eyeliner put on the area up to my fold are pretty much unseeable when I open my eyes. Eyeliner is impossible to wear without smudges, and waterproof does not equal smudgeproof. So finding the perfect eyeliner is tough. Anyways, had to share that before I go on to say that I've just found the very first (drugstore) eyeliner that's smudgeproof! After much research, I discovered the L'Oreal Infallible Lacquer Liner 24H. I went out and bought it last night, wore it this morning, and it lasted through 12 hours without smudging! I was really excited to test its smudge-proof claims and, guess what? Those positive reviews turned out to be true! Anyway, thought I'd share since this Wet n Wild H20 liner was such a disappointment. Good luck!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 heyjoni on 9/22/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Awful! Spoiler alert: this brush is HARD. Don't poke yourself in the eye! Couldn't get a smooth line at all. There was no gliding on the eyelid, just dragging. And don't mess up, because it's not coming off! If you want waterproof, you've got it. I had a hell of a time even trying to remove it with avocado oil (that or jojoba oil are my "makeup removers".) Wet 'n' Wild's Megaliner is far superior to this, and also at a great price. Needless to say, I'm returning this travesty and won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 npha on 9/16/2014 2:47:00 PM more reviews by npha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Heard so many good reviews on this so I thought I'll give it a try. Tried it on with primer beneath my oily eyelids but definitely not the eyeliner for me. I wanted an eyeliner that wouldn't come off or transfer but this transferred to my lids and it wasn't cute. It definitely was waterproof bc it didn't budge coming off. Would recommend if you have monolids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ilikefishh on 9/12/2014 4:08:00 AM more reviews by ilikefishh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Worst liquid eye liner I ever purchased.
The very first time I used it, it got all over my eyelashes.
It made them clumpy and sticky. I have wrinkles due to trying to take this thing off my lid. Ok, I'm dramatic, but it was horrible. If you make one mistake, just one teeny tiny little mistake.. you're screwed. DON'T BUY.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlingoldboots on 9/9/2014 12:45:00 PM more reviews by girlingoldboots

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the worst liquid eyeliners I have used. The color is a grey/black, which dries to an uneven, dull finish. This irritated my eyes to the point of my contact lenses getting all cloudy, and what possessed Wet n' Wild to make the applicator a hard plastic? The tip isn't even soft, so one wrong move to you stab yourself in the eye.

The one thing going for it is that it was nearly impossible to remove, so it is waterproof, but so not worth it. I use the other liquid eyeliner this line makes and it's great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kizunareii on 9/7/2014 6:07:00 AM more reviews by kizunareii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

the worst eyeliner I've tried. Not only does it take forever to dry, the consistency is sticky and it has an almost shiny finish (and how attractive is that?). Pigmentation is quite poor--it was streaky gray black at best. Worst of all, it reacted terribly with my skin and it started to burn after a few minutes post-application. Never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Eyeliner products