Maybelline • Define A Lash • Mascara

rated 3.3(1019 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lauren97 on 9/16/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by lauren97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this mascara because I love having lengthy eyelashes. This mascara does just that. It doesn't clump my lashes at all. It provides some volume, but if you're looking for a good deal of volume, this is not the right mascara for you. It's more focused on length, which it definitely provides. The color is brilliant and very black. The formula is more wet than creamy, but not wet enough to be a problem. The wand separates my lashes well and coats them quite evenly. The only problem I have with it is the fact that it's way too flexible. It's not stiff or sturdy at all. It bends if you don't put it back in the tube slowly and straight on, and if you're not paying attention, it can miss the tube and flick onto your hands and fingers. Other than that, I love this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snarkywench on 8/31/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by snarkywench

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If I had gone by the reviews, I would not have purchased this because I like 4 lippie products and I generally avoid Maybelline mascara just because of not so great lash. That said, I really like this mascara. For me, it lengthens and defines and can go from light and natural to a bit of drama. No one is going to think you're wearing falsies when you wear this so it's not for that kind of look but for non-clumpy definition with a bit of length & a smidge of volume, this works nicely and also seems to hold curl or at least doesn't flatten them. It has not smudged, flaked or run on me and I've sweated and be rained on, I use the non- waterproof version as I'm not a fan of WP.

The flexible brush head is not my favorite, I usually prefer bristles, but isn't overly bendy and the tip is narrow enough to get to the little lashes but you'll probably have a little clean up.

Removal is easy, it melts with a good bit of water and does raccoon but removes completely with any remover or cleanser. I use Philosophy's original Purity.

This is one of my go-to mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tswope57 on 8/28/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by tswope57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Maybelline mini brush waterproof mascara for years. Lately it seems I need something more since my lashes seem to be not as thick or long anymore. I tried Maybelline Define-A-Lash Lengthening mascara (advertises zero clumps, sleek definition, sensuous length) It does clump a bit and my lashes were not lengthened.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CharcuterieQueen on 8/26/2014 10:16:00 AM more reviews by CharcuterieQueen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Excellent layering mascara, lengthens well. Not much in the way of volume. Doesn't clump if you don't zig zag as you separate. Top with a volumizing mascara (Dior) and you'll have a set of peepers TDF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meghall90 on 8/24/2014 3:37:00 PM more reviews by meghall90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is awesome! It's never ever clumped on me at all. It does a great job of separating my lashes. It gives a great natural definition of the eyes. Nothing too dramatic. Love this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 auburninthesnow on 8/16/2014 12:43:00 AM more reviews by auburninthesnow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Works in a pinch, somewhat clumpy but less so after I added a few drops saline to the bottle, doesn't add much for volume or length. I particularly didn't like the way the bond between the wand and the applicator was "loose" and I had to be extra careful when putting it back in the tube or else it would bend and either not go in without leaving a ton of product on the top, or completely "pop" out of the hole and onto my hand. Not fun. Doesn't help their case as they aren't cruelty free. Not a deal breaker, but a degrading factor. Wouldn't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annaa7 on 8/5/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This mascara did wonders for my lashes! But sadly, my country do not sell these mascaras anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Susie0205 on 7/1/2014 11:02:00 PM more reviews by Susie0205

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this so much! Can make my lashed super long buts still keep it a natural looking! I love using this every day, easy applying and nice effect! If I want more volume, I love the volume express one which is yellow tube also by maybelline, these two definitely my drugstore favourites! But, attention! The waterproof version of this one sucks! Bad bad bad! This one is excellent!! Do not try the waterproof one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 radlegend on 5/16/2014 3:24:00 AM more reviews by radlegend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Just as a lot of other reviewers on here - I love to hate this mascara. It's not the best, but definitely not the worst.
I would recommend this ONLY FOR LENGTH purposes. It does nothing in the volume department - but gives incredible length. I've found this product works WITH another mascara. So currently, i use this as a primer to get length, then round off with Colossal Cat Eyes for the most amazing lashes!!

Use this alone if you want a more natural / subtle eye
Use with a voluminous mascara to get a full / GLAM eye

I reckon i'll always have one of these with me - as it's my fav on the days i don't wear make up. Just some mascara for length and it makes all the difference!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmyao24 on 4/21/2014 8:56:00 PM more reviews by mmyao24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is okay, for the price.
Pros:
Lengthens (but only a little)
True to its color (I have very black)
Really nice packaging
Doesn't smell or clump

Cons:
Always flakes in one/two hours
Smudges under my eye (and NOT because I have oily lids, I DONT.)

So this isn't my favorite product, but I don't hate it either. For now, I just use it as a top coat to my other mascaras.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products