By Terry • Light Expert • Liquid

rated 4.2(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JKWL4984 on 5/13/2013 2:45:00 PM more reviews by JKWL4984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Gorgeous packaging - weightless formula - my new favorite product - absolutely worth every penny.

I have extremely sensitive, combination skin with mild rosacea/ allergies. It's tough for me to find something that doesn't irritate my skin with daily use - and this is my new Holy Grail product!!

Sheer finish with illuminating/ brightening that doesn't leave your face greasy or with too much glow for a day time. Definitely ask for help when getting matched - the colors can be deceptive and this product is more "corrective" so you're not looking for an exact match the way you would regular foundation. This product is paraben free - and having the brush - which I find quite soothing - makes my life so much easier.

I use this all over my face - then dust my T-Zone with La Mer "The Powder" (translucent) - and it wears perfectly over the course of a 12-hour work day. Phenomenal product - do yourself a favor and try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Migs007 on 5/9/2013 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Migs007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have tried nearly every foundation on the market for the luxury types of foundations that are second skin like, including tinted moisturizers, etc. I have truly combination skin- sensitive (eczema, prone to break out if I use the wrong products, but perfect skin otherwise). I have dry skin in the winter, oily in the summer, but overall it is actually pretty balanced. If I use the wrong products with lots of silicone my face gets totally shiny. Here are the items I've tried... I have tried Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua (due to LIsa Eldridge's recommendations)- it's way too siliconey and makes my face shiny, Chantecaiile- feels like plastic on my face and broke me out, but amazing effect of 2nd skin/invisible & actually somehow camouflages, Giorgio Aramani Maestro (broke out)- but totally awesome if you are less sensitive, Giorgio Armani Face Fabric (love this when I need a more polished look, but feels too heavy on the silicone and a little too perfect- I like a more natural look), LM tinted moisturizer (blah/poor colors), Shisheido's new UV/environmental shield tinted moisturizer with high SPF, even Estee Lauder's Invisible fluid (I never consider that brand, but this sucked me in)- too silicone/shiny & emphasized dry patches I never knew I had), By Terry Hyaluronic face glow (better for neutral tones vs my yellow undertone). My two favorites are Jane Iredale's Pure Pressed Base and this! Finally to my review of By Terry Light Expert...

Texture- awesome! Super sheer, light, blends seamlessly

Finish- satin, neither mattte (hate matte), nor overly dewy. On my skin, this just looks perfectly balanced and radiant!

Packaging- I like the brush, but I usually use my fingers to apply foundation (except with JA's Pure Pressed Base- I use a stippling brush). I will just use a usual brush cleaner to clean.

Application- Terry suggests you swipe the foundation into the hollows of your face- under the eyes, wings of the nose, hollow of the chin and hollow of the cheeks, as well as the top of your cheek bones, then blend. I think I use only a couple of pumps...I think blend out with the brush. Check out her website for the complete tips. This is working just fine for me! Some people have said they blend using their fingers. I could see that working too.

Wear- excellent wear. I am only on day two, but I had an insane day yesterday that never seemed to end and i was up until midnight and it lasted the whole time, with barely a need to blot at all.

Colors- Definitely get matched. I hate orangey colors and I would have thought the vanilla light would be too orangey on my, but it totally does blend in perfectly and ends up looking more yellow toned. I have no idea why... I would rank this a 4 because I wish she had better colors, but I think she tends to emphasize brightening, etc instead of matching. In general, I disagree with that whole model. I like my skin color. I don't believe in color correcting models, but I love this stuff, so I left it at a 5.

Ingredients- Instead of a ton of silicones (although it does contain silicones, just not in the same abundance or types as most products), this contains hyaluronic acide (sodium hyaluronate), which rocks! Especially if you are prone to break out, this is a super light weight moisturizer that binds moisture to the skin in a very light, breathable way. I use skinceuticals hyaluronic acid as an extra boost of moisture in the winter. By Terry's Light Expert is supposed to have one ingedient (ethyhexyl palmitate) that would break out acne prone people, but I have had no trouble with this ingredient and has worked just fine for me in her other product- hyaluronic face glow (unlike all Algae/Marine extracts which are *highly* comedogenic and why Just Skin doesn't work for me).

I will update after wearing for a few more weeks...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cairn_chick on 4/18/2013 1:21:00 AM more reviews by cairn_chick

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I know that no one product can be perfect for everyone, but this one is a big disappointment. It is very orange on my fair olive skin and does not really cover my redness, even with multiple layers. For me, the brush is a waste, as it is stiff and leaves streaks. I got a much smoother application with my fingers and beauty blender sponge. But the color is wrong. Perhaps the worst of it is the strong, awful smell. My sensitive skin began to react immediately, so off it came. Hours later, my skin is still feeling irritated. I have normal, but sensitive skin with redness on the cheeks and eyebrows. This product really did not tone down much of the redness. Needless to say, it's going back tomorrow. If you have sensitive skin (and nose) I'd say, skip this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* golightly on 6/7/2012 2:16:00 PM more reviews by golightly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't a foundation, really -- it's a giant touche eclat that uses reflective particles to subtly perfect the skin. There's basically no coverage at all (for buildable coverage I like Koh Gen Do). Without the expectation that this will act like a true foundation, this product is amazing at basically photoshopping skin (such as freckles, sun damage, and unevenness) while leaving skin looking real and unmasky, just realistically even, well moisturized, and satiny. I'm an olive-pink NW 20/25 and use #2, apricot. An added benefit is that it is slightly moisturizing and creates a nice smooth canvas for other makeup. Wear time isn't the greatest, probably about 5-6 hours. Others have mentioned how annoying the brush is, but at least it's better than the delay on the Ellis Faas brushes; I need two pumps for the whole face and apply with my fingers. The fragrance is mildly offensive, but it fades.


A woman on the subway was doing her makeup and she had a brilliant routine: she squeezed some MAC face and body onto the brush head of this, which she had primed, and applied it with the brush, which probably naturally mixed upon application.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MariLaPaisa on 3/5/2012 12:54:00 PM more reviews by MariLaPaisa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is absolutely amazing and exactly what I was looking for! A lightweight foundation that imparts a healthy glow as this line of foundations are pink/peach based. Every time I use it I cannot tell you how many people compliment my skin and tell me that my skin looks flawless. I got this in no.2 light apricot. It doesn't appear to cater to all skin colors as say for example MAC which is unfortunate but nevertheless By Terry is an incredibly high quality and beautiful line. Love love love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lauracrua on 2/14/2012 9:43:00 AM more reviews by lauracrua

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First of all this foundation is mega expensive in Ireland (45 for 17 ml). This is a lovely light tinted moisturiser type foundation. It is very moisturising but also very sheer. It is very flattering on the skin and gives a nice glowy but not oily finish. This makes my skin feel comfortable when it is very dry and seems to fill in the small lines on my forehead.

This is the most perfumed foundation I have ever come across! I can still smell it for 30-45mins after applying! Luckily it doesn't seem to irritate my skin (only my nose!). As others have said, the packaging is really awful. I still use a regular seperate foundation brush to apply so I would much rather a pump style bottle.

I have this in 1 rosy light which is the pinkest thing I have ever seen but it is sheer so I don't think that's going to be a big issue for anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stara69 on 5/6/2011 1:16:00 PM more reviews by stara69

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This a luxurious poduct that is softly scented with rose essence. It's texture is smooth and leaves skin feeling soft. Coverage is light to medium and feels like you are wearing nothing at all. It gives a radiant finish as mentioned; not matte and not shiny, but glowing and perfected. The packaging, while hygienic, is not my favourite as the brush can streak a little.
I was lucky enough to find this product at Winners (Canada's T.J. Maxx) for only $15CDN, and I would only repurchase it if I found it at a similar price again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mgfer on 3/1/2011 4:20:00 PM more reviews by mgfer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best foundation I have used so far...and I have tried many. It is not perfect though, but...is there anything perfect?.

I have been using it for more than one year and these are my thoughts:

Pros: mild to my skin, no breakouts, lasts around 12 hours (until I remove it), radiant look (not shiny), medium coverage and the best in my opinion is that it doesnīt look like you wear makeup..ah yes, also works great over my fine lines (not noticeable). I also like the package to keep ingredients stable.

Conts: I donīt like the brush (or I donīt know how to use it, so I apply with fingertips). The price, of course..and cosidering that I use it everyday..it lasts just 6 months.

I will definitely buy again as it is worth it.

Update 04/05/2011: I have removed one lippie just because it provides low coverage (not appropriate if you have blemishes)

Update 24/10/2011: I was very happy with this makeup when looking at the mirror, but recently I had some photo sessions and realized it does not work well under camera eye, I donīt know how to explain it but I think I looked older. I have discontinued and removed another lippie. So sad.

Update 23/01/2012: finally I have came to the conclusion that this works much better just as an enhancer, than a makeup itself. I have found the perfect substitute for this one: By Terry 'Sheer expert' (does everything this one does but covers much more, color range is great and looks beautiful under camara)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jsantiago on 1/13/2011 3:10:00 PM more reviews by jsantiago

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this foundation and I since using it I have recommended it to all my friends. I actually don't find it to be that expensive if you consider the quality of he product and if you compare it to the price of other high end foundations. The texture is silky smooth (feels like you are putting an amazing moisturizer on) making it impossible to mess up the application. Coverage is low to medium but the finish is satin smooth and incredibly natural. If I feel I need more coverage I just mix a tiny amount of my other by Terry foundation lumiere veloutee and I get fantastic results. Some people complain about the packaging but i think its great for traveling. My only gripe with this product is the colour selection. If you use very little you can get away with using one of the shades available but if you want to build it up you will probably have problems. I got mine in vanilla light (I'm nc30) and it's way to orange on my skin and a tad too dark. I have to mix it with their other colour rosy light or with my lumiere veloutee if I want more coverage. Finally, this is a truly moisturizing foundation that does not leave skin shiny or oily but just luminous. When I washed my face the first day after using it and felt my skin baby soft I knew I was hooked for life! Make more shades Terry!!! Please!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gracelina on 9/8/2010 3:12:00 AM more reviews by Gracelina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall, i love this product. Most importantly, it makes my skin look great, the colour (apricot light) is a perfect match for my skin and it really doesn't look like i'm wearing anything on my face at all. However, there are some definite downsides, it is quite expensive (but kinda worth it), the packaging is a nuisance, because you can't see the how much product you have left, and i find the brush applicator annoying and difficult to keep clean. But despite this it is a lovely product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More By Terry products

More Liquid products