Unlisted Brand • Finacea Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Aug17 on 10/29/2014 7:21:00 AM more reviews by Aug17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've tried a lot of brands (payot, bioderma, holy land, clarins, clinique, givenchy, shiseido, DDF, clearasil, clean and clear...) for my very oily and very problematic skin for the past 15 years, but when this summer I experienced severe break-out on my face and neck, I ran to pharmacy in Spain and bought azelaic acid products- 15% Finacea gel and unknown% nanosomal Azelac RU serum (it turned out that Azelac is indicated for Rosacea, but I like its consistency and smell a lot, and also it doesn't irritate my skin and still contains azelaic aced -so I use it once-twice daily on my whole face and neck), because nothing helps to get new pimples on the surface and get rid of it as quickly as Skinoren/Finacea.
I usually feel itching near the mouth and under the nose if apply Finacea all over the face, so now I apply it only locally on pimples and post-acne and happy with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AllieC3 on 10/26/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by AllieC3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Although I've been reading reviews on this site for awhile, this is my first time posting. That should tell you how much I love this product. I'm 55 and always had pretty good skin (if you're in your 20's, start using retin-A now. I've seen dermatologists who comment on how few wrinkles I have. I tell them why. They nod and say, "When women your age ask me what's the best single thing they can do for their skin, I tell them, 'Start using retin-A 30 years ago.'" When I started using it, it was for mild acne. They didn't really know about/promote the anti- wrinkle thing - yet.)

Anyway, I started using Finacea 15% gel for hyperpigmentation. It's been about 20 days at twice a day, and I can't say I really see a difference in that yet, but it's made a huge difference in my overall skin tone. I glow. I can't really explain it, but I do notice it. What made me decide to post is that last night, I had dinner with some women friends I hadn't seen in months. One of them turned to me and said, "I've been staring at your skin all evening. It's gorgeous." The others quickly agreed.

PRICE: Even with my insurance, it was exorbitant (over $200), so I found an Australian pharmacy online. $45 with shipping, took 10d, no prescription needed in Australia (you do in the US and Canada).

SIDE EFFECTS: After reading about the reaction some people have, I was very careful. I only used it on a small patch, once a day for a week. Then I increased the patch to twice a day. After no reaction at all (not even the itching some people report) I've been going full face for about 20 days, twice daily ever since. Perhaps what also helped, although I'll never know, is that I was using an OTC azaleic acid (Pevonia - quite expensive and much lower concentration) for a few months, twice a day before this.

BOOST EFFECT: I've done a lot of reading on skin care. There are studies that say the effect of Finacea is boosted if you use it with glycolic acid (use first - I use an inexpensive 10% OTC one) and kojic acid (which I do in the form of OTC Civant's Meladerm, which I apply after the Finacea). I've also continued to use my retin-A once a day (I'll be making them apply it to my face in the nursing home).

I'm only giving it 4 lippies b/c I haven't seen any benefit for hyperpigmentation yet, but that's not really fair as I believe one has to use it for 3-6 mos to really notice that. I'll update, but I wanted to get a review in now, especially so people could get the info re price and boosting.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Swanleader on 8/3/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by Swanleader

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

[08/03/14]
It's been about two weeks since I started using this. My dermatologist prescribed it for me not for rosacea but for the adult acne that I've been dealing with for years (I'm 26 y.o). These 2 weeks have shown a drastic reduction in the acne that I had. But, unfortunately I am still getting new bumps (all over the face, painful ones on cheeks and forehead). My boyfriend said that my face looks and feels softer.

It's kind of pricy (291.00 retail). I'm lucky to have insurance so I paid $30 which is way more than I would generally pay for any type of beauty product. If you go on the Finacea website, there is a coupon for $30 off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* inmyopinion on 7/22/2014 2:52:00 PM more reviews by inmyopinion

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Silver, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

An extremely good product for getting gradually rid of blackheads and their close relatives, the pores filled with sebaceous filaments (the pores which do not have a blackhead sitting on the top, but which are nevertheless filled with solidified gunk which can be a millimetre or more in length and comes out as cream-colored thin wormy looking stuff, sorry to be technical about it!). So the pore size diminishes gradually, GRADUALLY being the operative word, over the course of 4-6 weeks. Be patient, give it time.
Initially a bit drying, maybe I was too enthusiastic and put too much on at the start. More isn't always better....
Then I learned a thin layer (twice a day) is much better.
Finacea has the benefit also of being mat, not shiny, so it is elegant to apply (and also better for anyone who lives with you, not to see their face reflected in the mirror-like greasy finish of some so-called products for oily skin).
Does not substantially reduce the redness of rosacea, maybe tones it down a bit, so I took off 1 lippie for that, if I could give it a rating of 4.5, I would.
EDIT: the redness has come down even further (although not entirely gone) in the midline, esp my chin, so I guess I will give it a 5 because I can't give it a 4.5. No complaints though.
May re-evaluate in another few months if I feel there has been further improvement

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janeen83 on 7/12/2014 10:58:00 AM more reviews by janeen83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. It's the best product I've ever gotten from my dermatologist. I use it once daily and also as a spot treatment. It helps keep my face clear and I have noticed less breakouts and less redness. I apply just a thin amount, too much can cause your face to sting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dentalro28 on 7/9/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by dentalro28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've never written a review on a product before but I felt sharing my experience with this product would possibly help someone out there struggling with rosacea. I am a 28 year old female who began my struggle with what I thought was adult acne about 7 years ago. I was diagnosed with adult acne by several derms I'VE visited in the past 7 years and treated accordingly by the use of different antibiotic rxs, creams, pills and even accutane. Nothing ever worked for my red, itchy, mosquito bite looking bumps until I began to date a wonderful doctor whom prescribed me the combination of finacea and oracea for my now correctly diagnosed papulopustular rosacea. These two products have completely gotten my bumps under control, I now have clear skin with some occasional small bumps that usually clear up quickly... I'm sooooo happy and a lot more confident about myself, def recommend plp try this combo. Xo

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jillian8981 on 7/1/2014 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Jillian8981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a HOLY GRAIL for me. After struggling with Acne and Rosacea for nearly 25 years, this is the first product to keep my skin clear and to take away my facial redness. It also helps reduce shine and mattifies my skin. I would not want to live without Finacea again!

it's also doing great things for my hyperpigmentation. Overall, I've never had better looking skin in my life.

ETA: It's been months, and the above review is still accurate. I'm amazed at the difference!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimD507 on 5/15/2014 1:16:00 PM more reviews by KimD507

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ive been dealing with adult acne for about 2.5+yrs and I've seen several derms
Ive have tried acanya, aczone, retin-a, bp etc etc
I was at my witts end and about to start spiro or low dose bcp..thankfully my derm decided to rec finacea
I love love love love it!
The best topical I have tried thus far by miles
It is a little pricey, with my insurance it was $60 but print a coupon from the finacea website for a $30 discount!
I hope it continues to work and ill never be without

Update: after first few weeks my skin started to get irritated and started to develop tons of fleshy bumps on my cheeks etc :(
I stopped the finacea and the bumps went away

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hanmu on 4/24/2014 9:21:00 AM more reviews by hanmu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was prescribed this to treat my stubborn, inflamed acne and general redness, but after 2 months of use I haven't seen any change in my skin. I suppose one positive is that it didn't make the condition of my skin worse in any way; it simply did nothing at all. I can't comment on the price since I don't pay for prescriptions at the moment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtrnphd on 4/23/2014 11:00:00 PM more reviews by jtrnphd

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Cin2 said it best so I am quoting, "I also firmly believe that Finacea helped immensely with hyperpigmentation and skin texture. I look forward to my skin once again reaping the benefits of Finacea." This is majic!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments (Face) products