Kiehl's Ultra Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15

3.2

98 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/18/2014 4:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

When I apply it to my skin it is so sticky after it and it doesn't change after time. So I use it with my foundation so I do not really feel the terrible texture.



on 8/16/2013 7:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Note this product is discontinued (replaced with an SPF 30 version that is not quite the same). Too bad, because it's such a nice basic moisturizer, for when you're getting your actives from a serum or just want something simple, that works beautifully under foundation. The texture is light and smooth and it's unscented. I am normal/dry, and this has been in my rotation for a looooong time.

As of today (8/16/13), it can still be found in SOME standalone Kiehls stores, SOME Nordstroms and at nordstrom.com. Good luck!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Good product, I use this in the morning and the Ultra Facial Cream at night.

It's a bit runny, the only thing that I don't like. I mix this with my sun cream which is really thick, so it helps the texture and application.

Overall a good basic morning moisturizer, non-irritating, no fragrance (which I like), and light enough to apply under makeup. The Ultra Facial Cream was too thick under makeup.


on 7/17/2012 7:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Just like non-spf version this will cause irritation if your facial skin is pretty dry. The spf level is a bit too low for my liking. It is expensive and because there are so many better moisturizers and spf available out on the market for much cheaper and better quality.


I have acne-prone skin and this didn’t break me out…but it did cause a burning sensation on my dry cheeks so boo :<


on 6/10/2012 9:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used this for years before discovering it contains NO UVA PROTECTION. UVA is the ageing type of sun rays (UVB is burning), both are linked to cancer and obviously in a face sunscreen UVA protection is pretty darn key.

So I threw out my last bottle and now use face sunscreens that contain Tinosorb S, Tinosorb M or Mexoryl, the only 3 really effective (chemical) UVA ingredients. I also have some physical sunscreens containing zinc/titanium oxide, which are great but the formulations I have are less good under makeup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2012 5:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My skin is going through a dry phase maybe the weather or whatnot so I ordered this thinking this would be a great everyday moisturizer and I could use this under foundation. Sadly I didn't take into account the spf in it and how my sensitive skin doesn't do too well with it. I tested it for a week and the formula is average it can make one oily at the end of the day but it is hydrating and I believe this would be great for people with normal skin. But for me another $30 down the drain.


on 11/30/2011 12:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The SPF is pretty low, so it doesn't protect my skin as well as other moisturisers.

It is very average, nothing pretty special about it, it's not even that moisturising, the good thing about it is that it doesn't have a dewy effect that moist moisturisers with SPF have.


on 11/14/2011 7:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for a few months now and I won't be buying this again because it makes my skin extremely shiny although it isn't oily per say.

I prefer the regular Ultra Facial Moisturizer without the SPF...


on 7/10/2011 4:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Like other reviewers, I have used the regular Ultra moisturizer for years, and it's great. I got a small bottle of this for the summer and SPF, and it also gave me large cystic blemishes and a lot of whiteheads. Too bad, as Kiehls is usually great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2011 11:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Worse moisturizer I have ever used, initial application felt face was stinging and been using for a week, skin is now full of tiny bumps (like a previous reviewer said, it now feels like sandpaper) So upset as a big Kiehls fan I own many of their products but this is not just a waste of money it will ruin your skin.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top