NYX Trio TS3 (Nude/ Taupe/ Dark Brown)

3.5

45 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/24/2013 10:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first time trying the much-praised NYX line of shadows, and I wish I'd read the reviews on this trio. As one of the other reviewers said, it's the worst I've ever owned, in terms of pigmentation.

None of the colours show up as anything near what they seem in the pan. The dark brown is many shades lighter in reality, and the taupe just doesn't show up at all. I may throw it in my gym bag for emergencies. Glad I got it deeply on-sale, from the bargain bin. What a disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/15/2013 11:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Really like the colors in this but they are just not pigmented enough to show up well on the eye which makes the, unusable.


on 2/7/2013 8:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was really just getting into NYX products and happy with my blush and jumbo eye pencil.. and heard great things about how pigmented their eye shadows were, but this trio is the worst I have owned (and I have only owned Maybelline/Almay).

Nude - This goes on super powdery/patchy and doesn't stay put. Lots of fall out. I tried it with three brush/applicators.

Taupe - I can hardly believe it, but there's less pigment in this than the nude. Just nothing. It's like a sheer shine, the nude shows up more on my lids. Worst eye shadow I have ever used.

Dark Brown - This is the best of the bunch, but it's about 3 shades lighter than it appears. You really have to layer it to get a dark brown. You don't really have anything to blend with since the taupe has no colour.

There is sure a mix of reviews for these. I bought the TS20 white pearl/silver/charcoal trio too and there is WAY more pigment in those. Seems to be hit and miss. I think I am going to try the single colours and read recent reviews. I am suspicious that their quality is going downhill, either that, or just very inconsistent. I could hardly believe I get better results with my super old Almay trip set. I think I will give some of their singles a chance and hope for better results!


on 11/28/2012 10:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's ok. I like the highlight and lid shade. I find the crease color too dark to work with the other shades. Could be a fun starter kit for a beginner.


on 11/8/2012 1:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this little trio! It has been my go to look for fall. The colors are very pigmented and go on with ease. I found I can wear the eye shadow with or without a primer and there is great color pay off. it stays all day and these are the perfect colors for fall.


on 11/6/2012 2:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a slight addiction to all NYX products. I recently purchased the Caviar & Bubbles pallet (which I love), but I wanted a smaller nude pallet to just toss in a cluch or small purse. I found this one. And I have to say, I love it.
The colors in my trio are very pigmented and they look so beautiful together. I use the nude in the corners/first quarter of my eye along with my brow, the taupe is perfect for the rest of my lid and into the crease and the matte dark brown is wonderful for the smokey outer corners and crease.
The taupe and the nude are both rather shimmery but not overdone and the dark brown is a warm matte brown.
I absolutely love this trio. It's perfect to travel with and use for a quick and easy everyday eye.


on 9/23/2012 2:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this trio. I use the dark brown almost daily for cutting the crease. It's a matte brown with an okay colour pay-off. I always use the nude shade as my highlighter as it a gorgeous shimmery shade. However, the taupe shade is too chalky and does not look flattering. Also won't blend well. For this reason I will not re-purchase the entire trio, but probably the nude and dark brown shades separately as singles.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this palette every other day, and have repurchased. These shades are absolutely matte (my primary reason for being dedicated to them). The nude shade, I must confess, barely gets dipped into, but the other two are essential neutral basics with good pigment and staying power. Nyx is cruelty-free and reasonably priced, which gets my loyalty de facto.


on 5/25/2012 1:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was looking for a basic taupe palette and have heard good things aout NYX, so I picked this up. What a disappointment! The light shade is very powdery, and the taupe has absolutely terrible pigmentation. The dark brown is decent, but since I bought this primarily for the taupe, back to ULTA it goes.


on 4/30/2012 8:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like the neutral colors in this palette and I find the packaging to be nice with the included mirror and minimalist without looking cheap...except for the "Sexy Babes" part. Ick.

I can see others having a problem with the utter lack of pigment going on in these shadows. For example, I swatched the "Nude" next to Mac's "Shroom" and the results were pathetic to say the least. Mac's shadow gave an instant smooth color pay off while I can just see some shimmer from "Nude". However, I don't find this to be too much of an issue as I think the light pigmentation of the colors will be good for when I want to do a natural look. I haven't tried this with an eye primer yet, which will probably help.

I am almost wondering if I got a bad one since I rubbed my fingers over the taupe and nude shadows like ten times and still couldn't get the color pay off shown in the user submitted picture.

It's dirt cheap and subtle with easy colors to work with. Just don't expect anything high quality here.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top