NYX • Trio TS3 (Nude/ Taupe/ Dark Brown) • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(46 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BubberNe on 5/24/2013 10:11:00 PM more reviews by BubberNe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first time trying the much-praised NYX line of shadows, and I wish I'd read the reviews on this trio. As one of the other reviewers said, it's the worst I've ever owned, in terms of pigmentation.

None of the colours show up as anything near what they seem in the pan. The dark brown is many shades lighter in reality, and the taupe just doesn't show up at all. I may throw it in my gym bag for emergencies. Glad I got it deeply on-sale, from the bargain bin. What a disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mom2spyboys on 4/15/2013 11:56:00 AM more reviews by mom2spyboys

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Really like the colors in this but they are just not pigmented enough to show up well on the eye which makes the, unusable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aschroeder on 2/7/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by aschroeder

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was really just getting into NYX products and happy with my blush and jumbo eye pencil.. and heard great things about how pigmented their eye shadows were, but this trio is the worst I have owned (and I have only owned Maybelline/Almay).

Nude - This goes on super powdery/patchy and doesn't stay put. Lots of fall out. I tried it with three brush/applicators.

Taupe - I can hardly believe it, but there's less pigment in this than the nude. Just nothing. It's like a sheer shine, the nude shows up more on my lids. Worst eye shadow I have ever used.

Dark Brown - This is the best of the bunch, but it's about 3 shades lighter than it appears. You really have to layer it to get a dark brown. You don't really have anything to blend with since the taupe has no colour.

There is sure a mix of reviews for these. I bought the TS20 white pearl/silver/charcoal trio too and there is WAY more pigment in those. Seems to be hit and miss. I think I am going to try the single colours and read recent reviews. I am suspicious that their quality is going downhill, either that, or just very inconsistent. I could hardly believe I get better results with my super old Almay trip set. I think I will give some of their singles a chance and hope for better results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 11/28/2012 10:32:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's ok. I like the highlight and lid shade. I find the crease color too dark to work with the other shades. Could be a fun starter kit for a beginner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KarlieSA on 11/8/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by KarlieSA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love this little trio! It has been my go to look for fall. The colors are very pigmented and go on with ease. I found I can wear the eye shadow with or without a primer and there is great color pay off. it stays all day and these are the perfect colors for fall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DW1989 on 11/6/2012 2:07:00 PM more reviews by DW1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a slight addiction to all NYX products. I recently purchased the Caviar & Bubbles pallet (which I love), but I wanted a smaller nude pallet to just toss in a cluch or small purse. I found this one. And I have to say, I love it.
The colors in my trio are very pigmented and they look so beautiful together. I use the nude in the corners/first quarter of my eye along with my brow, the taupe is perfect for the rest of my lid and into the crease and the matte dark brown is wonderful for the smokey outer corners and crease.
The taupe and the nude are both rather shimmery but not overdone and the dark brown is a warm matte brown.
I absolutely love this trio. It's perfect to travel with and use for a quick and easy everyday eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nataliad on 9/23/2012 2:30:00 AM more reviews by nataliad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this trio. I use the dark brown almost daily for cutting the crease. It's a matte brown with an okay colour pay-off. I always use the nude shade as my highlighter as it a gorgeous shimmery shade. However, the taupe shade is too chalky and does not look flattering. Also won't blend well. For this reason I will not re-purchase the entire trio, but probably the nude and dark brown shades separately as singles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 carbonmonoxide on 6/19/2012 12:23:00 PM more reviews by carbonmonoxide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used the nude shade in the trio everyday as a highlight shade until it was gone. The taupe and dark brown I used quite frequently as well. I eventually ran out of the nude shade, so I had to go buy a whole new trio for just the one shade.

My first trio was amazing. The shadows were super pigmented and soft. The second trio I bought was awful. The shadows were stiff with no pigmentation, and the nude shade had tiny glitter in it (yes, actual glitter, not shimmer). I would have given this trio a 5, but I have to give it a 3 because apparently they're not consistently good quality. If I ever buy another NYX trio I will make sure I open and test the one I'm going to buy before I buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blackblackblack on 6/17/2012 7:24:00 PM more reviews by blackblackblack

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use this palette every other day, and have repurchased. These shades are absolutely matte (my primary reason for being dedicated to them). The nude shade, I must confess, barely gets dipped into, but the other two are essential neutral basics with good pigment and staying power. Nyx is cruelty-free and reasonably priced, which gets my loyalty de facto.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 randers on 5/25/2012 1:18:00 AM more reviews by randers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for a basic taupe palette and have heard good things aout NYX, so I picked this up. What a disappointment! The light shade is very powdery, and the taupe has absolutely terrible pigmentation. The dark brown is decent, but since I bought this primarily for the taupe, back to ULTA it goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products