Neutrogena • Illuminating Whip Moisturizer SPF 20 • Moisturizers

rated 3.2(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 kathyscrapper on 3/1/2011 10:37:00 PM more reviews by kathyscrapper

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this at the AF Exchange for $3.59- a bargain. I figured for that price if I hated it I could give it to my sister. Well, I don't hate it - sorry sister - yes, it is sparkly but I wear it under my foundation anyway. But I do have a but, the plastic packaging compromises the antioxidants in it. After I opened the jar, it began to turn yellow, so those ingredients probably won't work as well but I love the feel of it and the way it sinks into my combo aging skin. I am undecided whether to buy it again because of the packaging but I am certainly enjoying this jar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rrag20 on 3/5/2010 7:52:00 PM more reviews by rrag20

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I want to love this product but, eeewww! it irritates my skin, had breakouts, it burns my eyes, i hate the glitter It's too much, it's just a waste of money, i threw my whole jar already..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aznbunny on 11/21/2009 12:34:00 AM more reviews by aznbunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Basically, if you have flawless skin this moisturizer works like a charm. If you don't have great skin like me, this isn't for you. I already have large pores and the amount of shimmer in the cream accentuates my pores :(. I also have acne from time to time so shimmer + acne = yuck.

The effect in itself is okay. It's moisturizing, yes, but nothing special. The price? I purchased it for $25 CDN. I wouldn't say this was worth the money but I also wouldn't say I got ripped off, because although the jar looks small, the product lasts quite a long time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tarheeloutwest on 10/17/2009 10:15:00 AM more reviews by Tarheeloutwest

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I usually like Neutrogena products. To me, Neutrogena means quality ingredients at a reasonable price. I bought this on a lark, wondering exactly what "illuminating" could mean. Well, ladies, it means SHIMMER and lots of it. The texture is great, it's not greasy. It has SPF and I loved the fragrance but oh, the shimmer. The shimmer from the moisturizer combined with the (more subtle) shimmer from my Clinique Light powder was too much. I had to buy some non-illuminated Boots powder just to get through this jar. I won't buy again but I miss the smell already...

If you are looking for a nice shimmery moisturizer with a pleasant scent, you might like this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenniStarBrite on 9/22/2009 9:42:00 AM more reviews by JenniStarBrite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

OK so...I originally HATED this product and almost threw it away. But I recently rediscovered it a few weeks ago when I was cleaning out my closet and its a new staple.

I don't know if before my skin etxture just wasnt smooth enough and the 'shimmer' in this made my pores look too big and just yucko but now that I am actually taking care of my skin, this makes me glow.
The shimmer is a golden color and I think it really works well with my NC 44/45 skin and dark hair. I have been getting a lot of compliments lately on my makeup (same mineral I always use) and I attribute that to the mosturizer since its all I have changed.

It has a light whipped airy texture and sinks in immediately on me despite my skin being super oily. It never LOOKS oily..just very glowy. Its NOT a matte look. If thats what you're looking for, skip this.

It did not feel heavy like a lot of sunscreens can feel and the shimmer in this is really fine. I cant see it on myself soIi suspect you'd have to be kissing distance to make it out especially on my already golden warm skin.

The fragrabnce doesnt bug me at all-it disappears after a few minutes. Its NOWHERE near as strong as the Oil of Olay products which is a scent I dislike, and which lingers.

I would repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ruby2003 on 8/8/2009 5:48:00 PM more reviews by Ruby2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this little bargain up for under $7 at TJMAXX. Not sure if its DCd in US or not but its a gem. I have tried all sorts of products and this is one of the lightest SPF containing moisturizers ever. I have barely noticed a scent and if there is one its obviously not that offensive. Yes, it does have shimmer to it...it is called "Illuminating" so I guess that should be expected. No its not big disco ball sparkles but a very nice light shimmer. My skin just glows when I wear this. Its like my skin but better. Almost good enough to forgo any additional face products, it looks that good! Add a little TM or blush/bronzer and I am good to go.

Again, super light, none sticky moisturizer with SPF. Would buy again. Not sure this is heavy enough for winter use but def makes the grade for summer.

PS: Found this to be a great stand in for Fresh Twilight...same effect. A lot less $$$

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gottaHAVEitALL on 7/4/2009 8:29:00 AM more reviews by gottaHAVEitALL

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I could cry that Neutrogena has decided to discontinue this product (in Canada, anyways). The negatives are true: it is super shimmery, it smells a little strong, etc. But for my oily acne-prone skin, this was one of the ONLY sunscreens that, used over a long period of time, did not cause any problems with respect to oilyness or breakouts. I loved this stuff, I mean LOVED it... but like I said, it's been discontinued in Canada. So my search continues for the ultimate HG sunscreen...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loveandkiwi on 4/8/2009 6:33:00 PM more reviews by loveandkiwi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this moisturizer was too heavy and fragranced for my liking. I expect my moisturizers to soak in really quick and feel light throughout the day, but this product failed to do so. After half an hour, my face still feels heavy and it feels like the product is just sitting on my skin and not seeping in. The good thing about this moisturizer is that it has an SPF 20--good enough for day to day mild exposure to sunlight. The substance in the cream that makes it "illuminating" is very small glitters. These glitters are only so big that you can see shimmers when you are under direct sunlight. It is not so chunky/big that you will look like a disco ball.

As for the price, I thought it was a bit too expensive since it didn't really moisturize my face that well. But overall, this is an alright moisturizer but definitely not great enough for a person like me who has combination skin.

The packaging is decent, just like any typical drugstore moisturizer, it is in jar, but what makes it slightly different is that it is in a plastic instead of glass jar, which makes it lighter to carry if you want to travel with it.

*EDIT: Recently I started using this moisturizer again during the morning and I'm starting to like it a lot better! I love how it has an SPF 20 so it protects my face from the sun. Even better, this moisturizer is not sticky compared to all the moisturizers that are out there with sun protection. It soaks in pretty fast and it doesn't leave my skin to be sticky=)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sasha9 on 3/22/2009 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Sasha9

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

One of the worst. Glitter is not good--on older skin particularly. It is not moisturizing. The smell is terrible, sort of like a sewer smell. Yuk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bambie_Blonde on 1/30/2009 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I got this a few days ago for $4.98 in a bargain bin at superstore......I was wanting to try a new Moisturizer and I didn't feel like shelling out $10.00 for my usual Nivea- I saw this and I liked the price of course but also how it would possibly make my skin glow. hence the name illuminating......I tried it that night after cleansing my face and I was so surprised, it made my skin look healthy and the shimmer is very very subtle so you don't end up looking like a disco ball. It sinks into skin quickly and leaves your skin feeling really smooth.I tried it under my makeup today and it gave my face this healthy non shimmery glow which I loved very much and it just feels so cooling on your skin & it smells wonderful....I've seen alot of complaints from people that this is to sparkly but I don't see how.... I'm really happy with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Moisturizers products