Ren • Mayblossom and Blue Cypress Facial Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.9(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crmelody on 6/21/2013 5:44:00 PM more reviews by crmelody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My HG cleanser. My skin used to be oily and very acne prone. Now it's normal, occasionally dry (if I use too much tea tree oil). This product is unbelievable. It's well worth the $30 price tag. I go through a bottle about every six months or so. A little goes a long way. It is not extremely strong, but gentle (so as not to dry out your skin and make it produce more oil), so I would not recommend using it as a makeup remover if you wear a lot on your face, i.e., foundation, blush, bronzer, concealer, powder, etc. I only wear concealer, and it removes that adequately. I like that it is eco-friendly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iciclerain on 3/3/2013 1:01:00 AM more reviews by iciclerain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gentle cleanser. I have combination skin and I felt like the cleansing power is not strong enough. It did not cause any irritation but nor was there anything special about it. I like the cleansing gel from Juice Beauty much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 melc123 on 3/31/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by melc123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this for my husband who works outside but doesn't use sunscreen and has congested skin. I thought the more gentle ingredients of willow and the tea tree oil alternative (can't remember the name) would be ideal for him. But he and I just don't like using it. You rub it on dry, that's fine, then it takes too long to rinse it off. It sticks to the face. You have to keep splashing and rubbing. Even in the shower with forceful water in your face. I could use a wet flannel or Magic Mitt to take it off I suppose, and I might try that... But really I'm so lazy I need something quicker and easier, so still looking. If I'm going to go to the trouble of wet flannel I'll use something better like Jan Marini Bioglycolic Face Cleanser which is amazing for skin, but can't use on eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissHiss on 2/7/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by MissHiss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product. I put it on a cleansing pad and wipe it to remove residual make-up etc and then rinse.

I think the quality is quite good for a natural product.

This is not a makeup remover but a face cleanser/wash so it should be use post makeup removing.

I have repurchased already and do recommend it.

The packaging is a bit bulky but otherwise it has a pump so fairly hygienic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ashestoamour on 11/30/2011 12:26:00 PM more reviews by ashestoamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like that this cleanser is natural, not animal tested and has super sleek and convent packaging. It is extremely gentle and has a mild smell. However it is extremely expensive and I find it does not clean as well as cheaper cleansers I have tried. I care the most about product performance, and so I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kalliope on 10/15/2011 2:26:00 PM more reviews by kalliope

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this now for over a year now, which I think is one of my longest runs ever with a cleanser. My skin is combination/normal, with clog-prone pores in my t-zone, but is sensitive to and irritated by many products and ingredients. I have a hard time finding cleansers which clean well without stripping my skin and yet also don't contribute to breakouts or irritation. This one is great, and I've come to love it and depend on it. My blemishes have decreased, and my skin has gotten more even, probably because it's not being irritated at all. I don't love the price, but it's totally worth it. I also appreciate that they exclude many common chemicals and preservatives, but still have a very active and effective product. I don't usually have much luck with natural products.

I do use this to remove my foundation, but I use it with one of those Sephora "scrublette" silicone facial scrubber things, which probably increases its effectiveness. (I don't use the scrubber in the morning.) Although it doesn't irritate my eyes at all, I still need to use a separate eye makeup remover because this doesn't cut it for that.

The packaging is very sanitary due to the vacuum pump, which is important with products with alternative preservatives. I also enjoy the subtle herbal smell (I really dislike strong synthetic fragrances.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aurantifolia on 9/12/2011 4:46:00 AM more reviews by aurantifolia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is one of the best cleanser I've used in a while. I get stubborn acne on my chin all the time, and ever since I've started using this cleanser, it has stopped completely, except maybe one or two during PMS. The smell is flowery and not too overpowering. Will definitely re-purchase. Strongly recommended for combination/oily skins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Goldenpale on 8/17/2011 3:34:00 AM more reviews by Goldenpale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ive been using this for the last month and a half now, and I think I have finally found the cleanser for me. I have combination skin, and in the last few months I have been breaking out terrebly! Probably due to the skin getting too dry and then overcompensating, and then I use too harsh products and so on and so on.

Anyway, this cleanser is mild enough for slightly sensitive skin and yet it gets all impurities out and leaves the skin clean but not "tight". My skin is then ready to absorb my serum and (quite heavy) face cream.
However, It can be difficult to get all eye-makeup off with this so I remove that before I cleanse. Apply on dry skin and then wash off. I always do this twice.

Lovely smell! But its a bit expensive and it might not last that long, but it it still works for me, ill re-purchase.

The packaging is a bit strange, I think its because they dont have as much conservatives in, so they have to make sure the packaging is air tight, to make the product last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TennilleES on 7/25/2011 10:57:00 AM more reviews by TennilleES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This really deep cleans the skin, for me is has an at-home facial kind of clean which is really impressive. It also makes the skin glow, something I have never come across in skincare before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twilightdust1920 on 3/18/2011 11:37:00 AM more reviews by twilightdust1920

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me preface this review by telling you my first reaction to seeing this bottle in the store: "no parabens, organic, all natural, balancing...yeah this is not going to do shit for me". Then I read the ingredients list and thought: "Man, I need to get me some chemicals".



But then genius struck. Oh. My. God. I can use this to placate my mothers moaning and whining about how I should use natural products on my skin so I wont get breast cancer (or ovarian cancer, or radiation poisoning, or rabies, or drowning, or electrocution, or any other generally horrific death that is more often than not unrelated to the absorption of man made chemicals). I will buy it, not like it and gloat about how even Gods creations are incapable of curing my fussy, high maintenance, congested, dehydrated oily skin. That will teach you mother.



And tried I did to not like it. At first I said "pssh. FOR combination skin? I bet this is going to strip me dry and give me even more problems". And it didn't. The I said "pssh. Its so gentle I bet it can't wash anything off my face". Sadly, it did. For the last 3 months I have used this, my skin has never been better. I rarely get spots, my rough patches are gone, pores are clear, I'm not producing as much oil. I typically need 2 washes to get make up off and most cleansers are too harsh to do this, but have no problems whatsoever with REN, I no longer have a need for toner. My skin is simultaneously supple and clean, which as many of you know, is probably a sign of armageddon.



Since I've gotten this cleanser, I have forsaken all other products and replaced them with ONE moisturizer and ONE face oil (Dr.Hauschka day cream and decleor ylang ylang oil). And its all natural. I have decided that I don't care if this is a form of devil worship, I will continue to use, repurchase and craft crude statues to place on the altar I have made with the decimated remains of all the creams and cleansers of false promises.

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ren products

More Cleansers products