NYX • Powder Blush - Desert Rose • Blush

rated 4.2(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emily0212 on 3/17/2014 2:08:00 PM more reviews by emily0212

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is lovely! Perfect pink color for me. Barely need to get any on a brush before it shows up on my face. This might be my new go-to everyday blush!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/8/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the 2 reviews below - except I haven't had any issues with packaging. This may look a bit overwhelming in the pan but it is gorgeous on girls with dark hair. My skin is about NC20-25 right now and this looks like a natural "just came in from the cold" flush. It's very pigmented so use a light hand and build it up if you need too. This lasts about 7 hours on my skin and then I have to touch up. Looks great on darker skin as well, my friend who is an NC45 looks so cute wearing this blush. More pigmented than my Lancome blush, which I have to put on like 2 layers to even notice, and has no annoying scent like the Lancome.

The blush is soft, long-lasting, very pigmented, applies evenly and is easy to pick up on your brush - no complaints!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RosaRose89 on 11/4/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by RosaRose89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The reason I love this blush so much is because this colour is in my cheeks before I apply foundation, so it looks really natural (as long as you are light-handed).

It has a few shimmer particles in it, but these are undetectable on the cheeks. It has a matte finish. In my opinion, this blush looks lovely with dark hair and pale skin. Perfect wind-bitten autumn/winter colour.

Since this is so densely pigmented, it is fantastic value for money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lindam on 10/19/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by lindam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Looks scary in the pan and if you are a ppp a light hand is needed. The packaging is terribly cheap; another nyx blush fell apart. But this is a great," just come in from the cold", blush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 10/13/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Shade description: bright deep pink

Pros

- pigmented
- long wearing
- matte

Cons

- must be careful with application - highly pigmented!

Comments: Wow. This is a lot brighter than I expected. It's so pigmented, so use a light hand. A little goes a very long way. I'm almost afraid to use this. Lol. It's gorgeous though and stays put.

Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 historian12 on 5/25/2013 7:23:00 PM more reviews by historian12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really don't know why people waste money on expensive blushes when NYX makes ones of terrific quality, in a wonderful array of colors. I bought Desert Rose on a whim--I was just struck by how pretty the color was in the pan. It's a gorgeous matte burgundy-pink. It's a truly unique color. I was worried it would be too dark for my NW15 skin, but it just needs to be applied with a very light touch--this blush is really pigmented! It also lasts and lasts! It's my third NYX powder blush and I continue to be delighted with their products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nickitraylor on 3/31/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by nickitraylor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had finally come to the end of my Cargo Mendocino blush, and wasn't really wanting to spend the $$ to repurchase, despite the fact that I love the color. So off to Ulta I went.

After looking at Maybelline, Revlon and L'Oreal, I wasn't finding the color I wanted in a powder blush (cream blushes don't work on me).

So I wandered to the NYX section, really looking at their eyeliners (which I love) and decided what the heck, maybe they have a good blush, and lo and behold, I found this!

I LOVE hot pink blushes. I know I need a light hand, but they always give me a great pop of color, a good flush and just really make the look complete. So I purchased this.

I have a big fluffy blush brush from Crown brushes that I use, it's awesome- and with this blush a little goes a long way. It's blendable- I use it on top of my powder that I use to set my makeup. I love the price, I love the color, I have no complaints with the packaging- it's small and portable and closes securely.

NYX overall has been a great brand, and I was not disappointed with my blush purchase! I will definitely repurchase, and I may even try branching out to try another color- I tend to use one blush only, but who knows!!! LOL

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 1/4/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This was one of my first NYX purchases. I was on a trip to the States and since there's no NYX where I live, I picked up a few blushes and some lipsticks.
I'm really impressed with the quality of their products for the price. This blows MAC blushes out of the water - sorry MAC, not going back to you. :o)
There were 25 colors for me to choose from at Ulta and I have to say, I was really overwhelmed! I wanted to buy all of them (haha) but settled on two that I didn't have in my blush collection. This was one of them.

Desert Rose didn't look like anything I'd seen, especially at such a cheap price. It's warm red, brown, plum, pink and matte. Awesome.

I'm a MAC NC 35-40 and was worried it may be a bit too dark but took the plunge anyway as I figured a touch would do it. And I was right! This is very pigmented and really wakes up my skin in the dead winter. I don't even need bronzer with this as it sculpts my cheekbones well.
It is indeed easy to go overboard even with a light hand but will probably look better in the summer when I'm darker BUT I don't see this as a summer color, will try it out then and report back.

One con I would like to mention is the blendability. I'm still working with it. I must put powder on after my foundation and before blush with this - instead of foundation then blush then powder. It's not really a con but more my application technique I think.
I can't get this to "stick" to the apples of my cheeks without piling it on. I sweep it on with a kabuki brush or a tapered blush brush and find that it gets on the high points of my cheeks (the sides) and the temples but not the apple.. hmm. I was confused at first, thinking it was just the lighting so I swept more on but it didn't look as good unless I turned my head - so I kind of had blush on the hollows of my cheeks but not the apple. Confusing but I hope you follow what I mean.

Anyway, I'll try it with other brushes and see if there's a difference.

Another con is the packaging. I move my makeup around on my dresser a lot and being clumsy I'm afraid that this will break and I'll have a powdery mess to clean up. One lippie off for that but if they jack up the price for better packaging - ehh, I'd still buy this one for cheaper because I'm cheap heh. I did drop it once on the floor and I'm happy to say nothing happened. Phew.

I like the amount you get for the price but this isn't suitable for travel in my makeup bag.
Which brings me to my next point - the longevity is excellent! It wears a long time on my oily skin!! I'm so happy about that. It's still on at the end of my work day.
Would I buy this again? Most definitely. NYX blushes are on my wishlist!
If my review helped you, click yes below!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 9/30/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Holy pigmentation! You really need a light hand and a good blending brush to pull this one off. I use a stippling brush to apply, and then a big fluffy brush to blend out. The payoff and staying power are amazing! Im definitely going to pick up a few more NYX blushes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sspinosa on 3/1/2012 12:03:00 PM more reviews by sspinosa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised by this NYX blush. What a nice healthy looking pop of color! It seems to have a slight coral warm undertone to it. If you generally stay away from pink blushes, which I normally do, this you can pull off. It gave me that healthy look that I've been searching for in some of the coral peachy blushes. So, I was pleasantly surprised that the end result of this blush is something that I would never have expect to come close to yielding my yearned for results! It's almost like a Nars Exhibt A but allowing you to have more control over the punch of it (if that makes any sense lol). Go for this blush if you want a healthy and beautiful polished look:-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Blush products