NYX Powder Blush - Desert Rose

4.2

35 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/24/2015 4:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this in September and I hated it. In the packaging it loked like it had an amazing dark rosy burgundy color, which on my skin looked like I was a clown. Now that it is winter, and I learnt to apply it more gently :P it works perfect and it's become my everyday blush..
Pros:
Love the color. It's very pigmented, so if you're someone with light skin apply it very light handed!!
Since you have to apply very little it lasts forever.
Its price (around 5 euros)
It lasts 6 hours at least if I use setting spray.
Not shimmery
Cons:
The pachaging looks cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/17/2014 2:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is lovely! Perfect pink color for me. Barely need to get any on a brush before it shows up on my face. This might be my new go-to everyday blush!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2013 4:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the 2 reviews below - except I haven't had any issues with packaging. This may look a bit overwhelming in the pan but it is gorgeous on girls with dark hair. My skin is about NC20-25 right now and this looks like a natural "just came in from the cold" flush. It's very pigmented so use a light hand and build it up if you need too. This lasts about 7 hours on my skin and then I have to touch up. Looks great on darker skin as well, my friend who is an NC45 looks so cute wearing this blush. More pigmented than my Lancome blush, which I have to put on like 2 layers to even notice, and has no annoying scent like the Lancome.

The blush is soft, long-lasting, very pigmented, applies evenly and is easy to pick up on your brush - no complaints!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2013 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The reason I love this blush so much is because this colour is in my cheeks before I apply foundation, so it looks really natural (as long as you are light-handed).

It has a few shimmer particles in it, but these are undetectable on the cheeks. It has a matte finish. In my opinion, this blush looks lovely with dark hair and pale skin. Perfect wind-bitten autumn/winter colour.

Since this is so densely pigmented, it is fantastic value for money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2013 2:37:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Looks scary in the pan and if you are a ppp a light hand is needed. The packaging is terribly cheap; another nyx blush fell apart. But this is a great," just come in from the cold", blush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2013 1:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Shade description: bright deep pink

Pros

- pigmented
- long wearing
- matte

Cons

- must be careful with application - highly pigmented!

Comments: Wow. This is a lot brighter than I expected. It's so pigmented, so use a light hand. A little goes a very long way. I'm almost afraid to use this. Lol. It's gorgeous though and stays put.

Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2013 7:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I really don't know why people waste money on expensive blushes when NYX makes ones of terrific quality, in a wonderful array of colors. I bought Desert Rose on a whim--I was just struck by how pretty the color was in the pan. It's a gorgeous matte burgundy-pink. It's a truly unique color. I was worried it would be too dark for my NW15 skin, but it just needs to be applied with a very light touch--this blush is really pigmented! It also lasts and lasts! It's my third NYX powder blush and I continue to be delighted with their products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2013 10:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had finally come to the end of my Cargo Mendocino blush, and wasn't really wanting to spend the $$ to repurchase, despite the fact that I love the color. So off to Ulta I went.

After looking at Maybelline, Revlon and L'Oreal, I wasn't finding the color I wanted in a powder blush (cream blushes don't work on me).

So I wandered to the NYX section, really looking at their eyeliners (which I love) and decided what the heck, maybe they have a good blush, and lo and behold, I found this!

I LOVE hot pink blushes. I know I need a light hand, but they always give me a great pop of color, a good flush and just really make the look complete. So I purchased this.

I have a big fluffy blush brush from Crown brushes that I use, it's awesome- and with this blush a little goes a long way. It's blendable- I use it on top of my powder that I use to set my makeup. I love the price, I love the color, I have no complaints with the packaging- it's small and portable and closes securely.

NYX overall has been a great brand, and I was not disappointed with my blush purchase! I will definitely repurchase, and I may even try branching out to try another color- I tend to use one blush only, but who knows!!! LOL

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2013 10:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This was one of my first NYX purchases. I was on a trip to the States and since there's no NYX where I live, I picked up a few blushes and some lipsticks.
I'm really impressed with the quality of their products for the price. This blows MAC blushes out of the water - sorry MAC, not going back to you. :o)
There were 25 colors for me to choose from at Ulta and I have to say, I was really overwhelmed! I wanted to buy all of them (haha) but settled on two that I didn't have in my blush collection. This was one of them.

Desert Rose didn't look like anything I'd seen, especially at such a cheap price. It's warm red, brown, plum, pink and matte. Awesome.

I'm a MAC NC 35-40 and was worried it may be a bit too dark but took the plunge anyway as I figured a touch would do it. And I was right! This is very pigmented and really wakes up my skin in the dead winter. I don't even need bronzer with this as it sculpts my cheekbones well.
It is indeed easy to go overboard even with a light hand but will probably look better in the summer when I'm darker BUT I don't see this as a summer color, will try it out then and report back.

One con I would like to mention is the blendability. I'm still working with it. I must put powder on after my foundation and before blush with this - instead of foundation then blush then powder. It's not really a con but more my application technique I think.
I can't get this to "stick" to the apples of my cheeks without piling it on. I sweep it on with a kabuki brush or a tapered blush brush and find that it gets on the high points of my cheeks (the sides) and the temples but not the apple.. hmm. I was confused at first, thinking it was just the lighting so I swept more on but it didn't look as good unless I turned my head - so I kind of had blush on the hollows of my cheeks but not the apple. Confusing but I hope you follow what I mean.

Anyway, I'll try it with other brushes and see if there's a difference.

Another con is the packaging. I move my makeup around on my dresser a lot and being clumsy I'm afraid that this will break and I'll have a powdery mess to clean up. One lippie off for that but if they jack up the price for better packaging - ehh, I'd still buy this one for cheaper because I'm cheap heh. I did drop it once on the floor and I'm happy to say nothing happened. Phew.

I like the amount you get for the price but this isn't suitable for travel in my makeup bag.
Which brings me to my next point - the longevity is excellent! It wears a long time on my oily skin!! I'm so happy about that. It's still on at the end of my work day.
Would I buy this again? Most definitely. NYX blushes are on my wishlist!
If my review helped you, click yes below!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2012 5:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Holy pigmentation! You really need a light hand and a good blending brush to pull this one off. I use a stippling brush to apply, and then a big fluffy brush to blend out. The payoff and staying power are amazing! Im definitely going to pick up a few more NYX blushes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
5149 Reviews
Melba
296 Reviews
Deep Throat
1141 Reviews


Back to Top