MAC Cherish Lipstick

4.1

180 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/25/2015 2:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is The One. Not only is the shade exactly what I've been looking for, but it's a MAC Satin, which is amongst my favorite lipstick formulas of allllll time. Really makes me wonder why it took me so long to find you, Cherish.

I have light olive skin running cool in winter, warm in summer. My overall coloring is very similar to Christine's from Temptalia - so if yours is too, check out her pic/review to see what it will look like on you. I've been through a lot of nude lippies, a lot of them terrible, some good, some great, none perfect. Cherish isn't perfect either, but it's close. The shade is a fairly light peachy nude. It doesn't really translate as "peach" per se, but you can tell those tones are there, and it creates a warmer nude lip look than most of what's currently out there. It's a '60s beach bunny vibe with a dash of Kardashian (I'm sorry for that...) vs. Instagram deathly hallows nude. Idek if I'm making sense haha.

Anyway, the formula is opaque and covers my pigmented lips easily. It can run a bit close to the actual color of my skin, but the peachy tones don't lend that ghost lips pallor - a liner looks really good with this one. The wear is where the magic's at though. MAC Satins last a fairly long time on me, and settling into lip lines and emphasizing lip flaws is minimized with this formula, which is something that's a real bitch to figure out with nude lipsticks. (And not something I can say of the MAC Matte formulas. Looking at you, Kinda Sexy, you could've been my one true love.)

When I was trying this on at the MAC counter, I was waffling about getting it. I nervously asked the glamazon sales associate if it was too light, and without batting a false eyelash, she nodded her approval and muttered an "I actually really laaaahve it." That's all the convincing I needed.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my #1 fave MAC lipstick. It is underrated in terms of hype or rave reviews about it. I've never seen or heard a youtuber apply or talk about this color. it is an older MAC color because I did purchase this about 5 years ago and I'm due for yet another tube of this.

why i love it:
- Cherish is the perfect nude color. there is no hint of pink underneath. It is a browner nude which I have found to be more flattering on me. I am fair-skinned with cool skin undertones so not all nude or pink lipsticks look great on me. I have 5 pink lipsticks that are just not the right shades because of my undertones.
- this color, like most nudes, are wearable on an everyday basis, or can be worn for special events with a dramatic eye.
- on days, mostly for work, when I can't decide what to put on my lips, I put Cherish on. it is ALWAYS in my bag. always
- the satin finish is flattering. if it came in another finish, it would be a hot mess.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 7:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great nude without looking like I'm sick or have foundation on my lips.


on 12/14/2014 9:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am very fair-skinned with pigmented cool-toned lips. I find this shade is very flattering on me and cancels out the purple in my lips allowing a nice nude begie-y color to come through. I also love this and am giving it 5/5 because I find this is the one MAC l/s I own that doesn't dry out my lips. I have two others (Cremesheens) but since this is a Satin formula, I don't find it makes my lips peel and flake. I find this is much more of a flattering shade of "nude" on me than MAC's creme d'nude!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Update review I bought two cherish lipsticks to replace viva glam II as my nude. After trying cherish a few times I do like it alot its the best of the nudes and this along with creme de la femme will be my signatures.


on 8/3/2014 2:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My absolute favorite nude lipstick of all time!!! I've tried several nude lippies, from drug store to high end, but this is by far my holy grail of all nude lipsticks. Cherish is on the peachy side as opposed to pinky. This shade definitely compliments my yellow undertoned skin, but I think it'll work for anyone whether you are very fair, tan/olive, or dark. You can wear this shade with a smokey eye, a neutral look, or even colorful shadows. It's definitely universal. I will continue to repurchase this lipstick forever!


on 7/3/2014 6:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My HG nude! Looks great on pigmented lips and tanned skin too! Doesn't dry out on my lips.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is now my HG nude! I have fairly pale skin but even though Cherish is rather dark, it looks amazing! I tried Creme de Nude and I really didn't like because it looked rather foundation-ey, but this is a beautiful colour.


on 5/1/2014 4:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a great nude for pigmented lips. It is not a light colour, I would say similar intensity as Kinda Sexy but Kinda Sexy has a rosy hue while Cherish has a warmer peachier undertone. I can wear both and like both, but Cherish has a more muted nude look on me. Cherish is ligther than Velvet Teddy, I couldn't wear Velvet Teddy as it was a tad too dark. Very similar also to the LE Brave New Bronze, Brave New Bronze was a little pinker. The texture is great, has enough slip.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2014 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Finally I have found my HG nude lipstick!!!!!!!!!!

I have an olive medium-tan skin tone, NC30-40 depending on the season and like everyone else I have searched for the perfect nude to suit me and this is definitely it.

MAC describes 'Cherish' as a 'soft muted peachy-beige' which I agree with but I can also see a slight rosey tone to it as well. It is a Satin finish, making it have a slightly dry formula but that means it has great lasting power, which I would say is roughly 4+ hours on me. The dryness is easily fixed with some gloss and lip balm underneath.

I would highly recommend this shade if you're anywhere near the same skin tone as me and haven't been completely happy with the nudes you've tried, try this on at the MAC counter! I love pairing this with NYX's Butter gloss in Tiramisu as well :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
25 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top