Fake Bake • Fake Bake Instant Self-Tanning Spray • Self Tanners

rated 3.3(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 MiddleCyclone on 3/31/2014 9:29:00 AM more reviews by MiddleCyclone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If you can get the application even then this does give a nice dose of sun kissed color, however it is very tricky to spray yourself evenly. I tried this a few times and found it near impossible not to get some splotches and streaks in places whereas other places looked nice and evenly tanned. This spray also gets pretty much everywhere and will stain floors and bathtubs. My advice to anyone interested in trying this is:

- spray this on at night before bed to give it time to set in, this will make the color more natural looking
- for the back of the legs it's better to have someone else spray you
- hold the can far away to create a wider mist and therefore avoid blotches as much as possible
- wear the included gloves!!
- apply a rich moisturizer first as the spray will settle into dry areas such as knee caps and ankles
- even though the package claims the spray works upside down this position causes the most blobs to come out with the spray
- shop around for the best price, I have seen this sold for anywhere from $18 - $35


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Brinaxo on 1/29/2014 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Brinaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Before I discovered the fake bake flawless I had been using this. My best friend and I would turn my bathroom into a self tanner spray booth, how completely ridiculous. The only thing more ridiculous was how orange we looked, but we kept using it anyways. Our feet looked like ducks feet, and we looked like we had just escaped from willy wonka's chocolate factory. Looking back at pictures from summer, I see how ridiculous we looked. I wouldn't recommend this unless you're going to a Halloween party as Snooki. However, If you do decide to purchase this apply it at night because the color guard makes you way, way, way too dark, like just got back from the mid equator dark. Also make sure to apply lots of lotion to your feet and wear gloves or you'll look like you haven't showered in weeks. It also starts to peel off horribly after a day or two, and looks so fake and noticeable, which is not cute, so make sure to have a body scrub on hand for when that starts to happen. On the other hand, the fake bake flawless is absolutely wonderful, so I don't want to knock the product line, just this particular product they make. Good luck & happy tanning!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annieSFRBeauty on 11/29/2012 5:30:00 PM more reviews by annieSFRBeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This will give you a killer, brown tan! I'm pretty much as white as they come and this stuff makes me look like I have been on vacation and leaves me looking golden brown instead of orange. There is one massive drawback though...this stuff is a MESS! It will leave your bathtub black and even gets pigment on the walls. It works so well it's really unfortunate. I had to stop using it because of this. I'm going to try it again when the weather warms up and I can apply it outdoors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vwmitch on 9/21/2012 12:56:00 AM more reviews by vwmitch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Have tried many other self tanning products. This is the best one I've ever bought. The spray bottle version is the best. Dries so fast, doesn't streak, colour is very natural. You don't need to keep applying to get a good bronzed look. One application is all it takes for me. I think the lotion would take longer to dry so I won't try that one. It smells very pleasant, kinda like coconut. Does not wash right off. Lasts for days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PrettyplaneG on 2/12/2012 3:11:00 PM more reviews by PrettyplaneG

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Personal new to fake tans I never tried spray tans this wasn't bad but I thought it might be a lot better. I have been told many great things about this spray so I thought why not. It say it can spray at ever angle but itdoesn't, i was told it super easy to spray onit won't give streaks and what not but I find every once in a while it sprays out wired and leave blotches in some places. The color came out ok personal since I have darker so I didn't see a big change, I do like that it drys fast and doesn't really smell. Over all it's ok but I think I will try out other fake tans next time

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aldrinmoore on 1/23/2012 5:23:00 AM more reviews by aldrinmoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

not sure about this product? i think its good but to me it does look abit orange looking.I bought the origanal fake bake the one that stincks and is quite messy and goes like a dark brick colour but i found that one better than this as that one didn't make me look orange when washed off.Didn't actully find this airbrush one that much easier.I won't be re-purchasing this again im sticking with my xen tan in the future

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 products101 on 3/23/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by products101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The girls who worked with me at my salon all used this product and loved it, but I have to say, I wasn't thrilled. The application was not too bad, except I did have some streaking, but it did smell better than usual. My results the next morning were disappointing. I didn't look orange, which was my main fear, but I did look 'dirty'. It had settled really badly in all my joints and my feet looked like I had been working in the garden. I took a shower that night and the water was brown, and my tan was completely gone in 3 days. Even my $10 Neutrogena micromist lasts a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AlexandriaAlessia on 12/31/2010 11:22:00 AM more reviews by AlexandriaAlessia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried many tanning products and this would have to be the worst out of all of them (including drugstore brands such as L'oreal & Garnier). Application is easy,it has a lovely fruity scent and disperses evenly. However the finish is shocking,very orange and very unnatural,i was embarrased to leave the house. The ingredients do nothing to nourish the skin either. As a beautician i have also tried this out on friends and it gave a very orange hue to everyone. I was recently shopping in House Of Fraser and the Fake Bake rep girl,yes you guessed it,she was ridiculously orange too,adding insult to injury she even tried to lure me away from the beloved Xen Tan range.If you are looking for a very bad quality and orange tan i would highly recommend this,but if your looking for something a little more sophisticated run away as fast as you can!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ddmcdonald on 7/23/2010 9:43:00 AM more reviews by ddmcdonald

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love this self tanner. As a Fake Bake lotion fanatic, I was hesitant to try the spray on version. My sister talked me into to trying it and I absolutely love it. Used it last night for the forst time and woke up to a beautiful bronze color this morning. Dries super fast, much faster than the lotion. This also means you have to work quickly to make sure you are well blended. I have one streaky spot on my upper arm but thats my fault. I was putting my leave in conditioner in my hair and let it drip onto my arm!! Yikes! Lol! Overall, easy application, great color, will def repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ambereyes on 6/1/2010 10:30:00 AM more reviews by ambereyes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this! I think I've tried every high end self tan on the market, and always come back to FB. I wanted to hate this actually.
I don't like the name Fake Bake, and as a graphic designer, don't like the logo, ha! But the colour is always a natural tan on me (I'm netural, NC15, best with Clinique Perfectly Real 14n). This new spray is the best yet for even application, and no brown gloop on your hands. I would say, start the flow away from your body, then continue the spray over your body, as that very first spurt would be patchy on the skin. The only thing I don't like is the immediate smell. Like cat pee! Will repurchase though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fake Bake products

More Self Tanners products