Stila • Ravishing Rose Trio 2007 • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 munchlaxy on 12/30/2008 6:23:00 PM more reviews by munchlaxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I ended up buying this palette for sale on BeautyCrunch on a whim. I needed a product to bring the purchase up to $50 and this was cheap and I had no colors exactly like it.

I'm going to describe the colors as they would show up on fair skin tones, because on darker complexions all but one will show up chalky. The colors: a light pink, mainly used as an all-over base, or a highlighter. A purple/pinkish color, which shows up very light, but the pigmentation isn't bad. The third color is a dark brown/plum, which has the same amount of pigmentation as the other two.

I was worried about how the colors would appear on my neutral/cool skin, but they ended up blending nicely and look beautiful! Each color fits perfectly with the other, and they can be blended nicely for a day-time smokey look or used individually to bring out lighter-colored eyes (green and blue, though the colors do have a chance of going more-plum toned near blue eyes). I personally love it as a day-time smokey look, and with the colors it's hard to mess up.

Now onto the packaging. Yes, it's bulky, and I immediately stained it with foundation upon taking it out of it's packaging. The plastic cover seems to be there so you can easily pull the tray the shadows are on out and you'll have less of a chance of damaging them (For all you makeup artists out there, they three-pan they're in pops out instantly for easy portability). I ended up discarding the outer pink layer of packaging almost immediately myself.

That being said, I would buy the palette again at full price (but for the amount of product you get I can't see myself running out), but I can certainly see how it might not look great on others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilmisssunshine on 12/3/2008 12:51:00 AM more reviews by lilmisssunshine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was worried at first that these trios wouldn't work for my skin tone, but they accentuate my eyes and did not come out awful. I actually like Ravishing Rose better than the Pretty Pansy trio. The downside about this is the palette is heavy, and the satin cloth is easily stained, I cannot imagine what it would become if I carry it around in my bag, it's quite horrible to imagine.

In Ravishing Rose, the lightest shade wouldn't show up on my eyelid but I use it as a base shadow otherwise. I also dislike the plastic flap that Stila products have over their pans. It's hard to manage to hold the flap and to hold on the palette for the mirror at the same time, bad design.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thejadedstar on 11/26/2008 12:44:00 PM more reviews by thejadedstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Having never tried Stila eyeshadows before, I was pleasantly suprised at the quality of their shadows in this cute little set! The three rosy shades vary a bit in finish and intensity, but they all are silky in texture, buildable, blend like a dream, and look wonderful on. I never wear eyeshadow without at least Urban Decay's Primer Potion underneath, and usually a MAC paint over that, so I had no real problems in terms of finding the shadows being too sheer to work with.

The HUGE downside of this product is the packaging. I find it bulky and easily dirtied, and the plastic overlay with the quote tends to get in the way. These two factors, coupled with the fact that I found (sadly!) that I had dupes of these already in my collection, are pushing me towards swapping this away. If I did not have such similar shades already, I would definately just deal with the clumsy packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 5/27/2008 9:07:00 PM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have to agree with golickaclown--this was worth the $5 I paid for it at Marshalls, but I wouldn't have paid much more for it.


The colors themselves are pretty--true to the name, they are rosy. They're sheer with a hint of shimmer on me and the colors look good together. These are fairly neutral pinks/mauves that are subtle.


The packaging, however, was supposed to be cute and attention-getting, but it's bulky and yes, the satin can get dirty and dingy. I'd swap the cute packaging for a more pigmented shadow anytime.


It's not bad, but not remarkable either. This will likely sit in its pretty packaging in my train case and not get a lot of use. At $5 though, I can't complain. This wouldn't have been worth the $30+ they would have charged at Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 golickaclown on 5/10/2008 7:31:00 AM more reviews by golickaclown

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very pretty trio in the packaging-however, the outer silk like fabric very easily gets dirty. I purchased it at Marshall's for $5, so I can't complain about the price-Stila isn't bad if you get it on sale. The only other gripe about the packaging is that the cute little piece of plastic that covers the e/s and has an Emily Dickinson quote on it is VERY difficult to hold away from the e/s.

I swatched this in store and knew everyone was dying for it, so I picked it up. In the pan, the colors are gorgeous. Then I tried to wear it-if you're my mother (who recieved this shortly after I tried it) who LIKES sheer e/s, this is for you. If you like pigmented, high quality e/s, you will not like this. I also found it gritty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oneclassy_broad on 4/21/2008 3:06:00 PM more reviews by oneclassy_broad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first got this I thought I was gonna love it cause they were all purply colors, and purple is my fave colour. When I first put it on I was like ugh, its so sheer!!! I put it up for swap immediatly. But somethig told me to try it again. This time using UDPP, it came out better. Still sheer but very pretty springy look. I took it off of swap. Its very pretty if used the right way

Edit: Sadley its just nothing special after all...up for swap it goes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hadas921 on 2/20/2008 10:01:00 PM more reviews by hadas921

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous colors - makes my hazel eyes POP! As always gorgeous Stila packaging just adds to the pretty factor. Expensive but I got mine for $20 on ebay so it wasn't so bad :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 havenexpress on 2/5/2008 4:10:00 AM more reviews by havenexpress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I too, disagree with the negative reviews on this product - just because the e/s is a color that you already own or is a basic color does not make it a bad product. For me, as a makeup junkie, i have tons of rose tone e/s but I like this anyway, even though my heavily pigmented eyelids (hereditary dark circles) usually look bruised if I use any rose/brown tone e/s.

About the e/s:- the lightest shade is fairly matte, and sheer, which is typical as a wash/highliting. The medium shade is a very pretty, shimmery mid-tone rose and the liner shade has pronounced red undertones. Lasting power is average (the similar palette but in green shades, Pretty Pansy, is more pigmented and lasts longer) I like the medium shade the most, although in order for me to wear rosy or brown e/s without looking like someone punched me in the eye, I must use lots to concealer to even out my lids. I like the natural look, although I won't be wearing these shades too often, only because I'm too lazy to be applying layers of concealer. But if i were to lose this, I will certainly repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* terriv13 on 12/15/2007 9:10:00 PM more reviews by terriv13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Don't understand the negative reviews other than it seems like I like the things that others don't find appealing! Go figure... Anyhoo, this trio is beautiful on. I get tons of compliments on it. It really enhances my green eyes. I use it with Bobbi Brown's Gel Eyeliner in Espresso. I have a med/light yellow-to-light-olive skintone, and blonde hair. I can see how it might give the 'bruised' look on a fair-tone, blue-eyed gal, but on me, there is enough brown in the plum tones, that it doesn't. The packaging, while really pretty, would have been better if they gave the option of just the eyeshadows, or to have a 'collector's box', as it is really big and cumbersome. As for the depth and intensity, I find that to be great on me as well. Maybe if the gals that had that problem try Urban Decay's Primer Potion first, as that really helps, although I don't need it with this. Since this is LE, does anyone know which of Stilas Eyeshadow singles match? Hope I can figure it out, as I really like the shades, but Stila's Customer Service leaves ALOT to be desired, so I probably won't have much luck there... Should have purchased from Sephora.com instead!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* westside on 11/21/2007 12:12:00 AM more reviews by westside

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty packaging, but cumbersome and big. It's almost annoying because I wouldn't want to pack and travel with a shadow palette this large. I liked the green sage trio that was released with the ravishing rose. Honestly, if I didn't know that Stila was a great company, I would have been so turned off due to this trio alone. It's a chalky mess and the only color that shows up is the darkest burgundy shade. Just a boring pinky color that I can duplicate with any drugstore color. I would not recommend this $32 palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products