LORAC • Publicity Stunt Lashes • Mascara

rated 2.4(61 reviews)

Average Rating.2.4
Would buy this product again.27%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 lslouffm on 7/28/2011 11:29:00 PM more reviews by lslouffm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I guess if your publicity stunt is trying to look like you didn't apply any makeup (and not in a good way) this would be your mascara. I bought the brown, hoping for a more natural day-to-day look. But when I put it on, it doesn't look like I put any mascara on at all -- it doesn't add anything to my natural lashes. The brush is skimpy and doesn't grab my lashes; I end up using the end to apply this stuff lash by lash. And even then, it doesn't look like I've put anything on. Yet I have these weird tubes that I can pull off my lashes at the end of the day -- it's strange that I've got these tubes of mascara on my lashes, yet it doesn't look like I've put on mascara and I get none of the benefits of mascara. Why bother?

I also can't figure out the point of the comb. It's not like this stuff is clumpy in the least -- it barely goes on your lashes. Actually, a clumpy mascara would be better than this one -- those I have to apply lash-by-lash with the end of the brush, too, and at least then my lashes are better defined and look longer. This mascara doesn't help lengthen your lashes, so brushing it out doesn't help; the comb is a waste, and frankly misleading.

I did better with Maybelline Great Lash in brown, and that's not a great mascara but at least it cost a fraction of what this one did.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beth on 12/15/2010 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Beth

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

What a find: a tubing mascara at a reasonable price that isn't black. I bought this on a whim from LORAC's web site. It creates non-spidery lashes and washes off with water, although the product claims to last up to three days if you let it. I don't see how you could, unless you wore the mascara with a bare face, because really, you should be removing your makeup every night without fail. And when you wash your face, you can remove the tubes like any tubing mascara.

The package comes with an oddly-shaped brush on one end and a comb, which I do not use, on the other. You really don't need the comb, because the product does not clump. And I don't see the point of the brush shape: It claims to curl the lashes better, but I don't see a difference. Still a great mascara. I wish Carol would come out with this one in auburn or eggplant. Then I will have a new HG mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilasik on 2/3/2010 10:03:00 AM more reviews by ilasik

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

THE WORSE MASCARA EVER!!! How can anyone put up with wiping little black threads from all over the eyes at the end of the day? It feels horrible and looks disgusting!
Plus it is not dramatic - so what is the point? Of course, I only use mascara for nighttime so I don't need the barely there subtle look but even if I were striving for that, blacks threads all over your eyes is not healthy and is gross-looking. I never throw anything out - make the best even out of so-so products but tossed this in the trash last night

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 daniela89 on 12/22/2009 6:20:00 PM more reviews by daniela89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm torn on this mascara. I cannot stand washing it out because it takes forever to get all the little particles off my face. It makes my lashes very black, and gives it a medium amount of volume. The brush on the end is quite stupid. I don't get what it's for, seems more like a toy for a little girl playing with make-up. I don't know if i would buy this product again. I like lash blast better :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pattigirl on 5/21/2009 2:28:00 PM more reviews by Pattigirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I don't get all the bad reviews, I really like this product! This is one of my favorite mascaras. Before using this one, I used Kiss Me, which was great except the little tubes ended up on my cheeks. I haven't had any trouble with this one flaking off. I'm not sure what I'm doing differently than everyone else... It does not add magically lengthened lashes, but for me that's ok. If you're looking for length, this is not the one for you.

My only complaint is the little comb on the opposite end, which I find completely useless. Also, you REALLY have to make sure you don't have a large clump on the brush when applying. Other than that, I can count on this to stay put all day for me.

Update: It's been a long time since I wrote this review, and I still stand by it. It's my holy grail mascara! I still don't bother with the little brush though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* serobins on 4/2/2009 2:29:00 PM more reviews by serobins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

You should gather from the reviews here that this mascara will surprise and probably disappoint anyone looking for a standard-issue thickening mascara.

It does indeed turn out "dry" on your eyelashes. If you rub your eyes after applying, you won't get a black smear on your face. Instead, you will get lots of long, thin, thread-like pieces of dried mascara.

This lengthens and lasts forever, but it does not create a dramatic, thickening look. I find it a great, subtle, long-lasting, daytime mascara. I can apply it for a whole day at work without worrying about under-eye grease slicks or repeated trips to to the bathroom to refresh my makeup. It's not what I wear for a night out.

The packaging comes with a little eyelash brush. This is convenient, I guess, but it's not a great brush and I'd rather use my own and pay less for the mascara.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 js1209 on 3/29/2009 4:27:00 PM more reviews by js1209

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I also couldn't believe the negative reviews. THIS IS MY FAVORITE MASCARA!! It does not create dramatic lashes (I use Badgal Blue or Kiss Me for more drama at night). I have major problems with even waterproof mascaras smearing. This one never has. I curl my lashes first, then use two coats and then the comb to separate the lashes. It makes me look like I was genetically gifted and born with long, curled, dark lashes. It is mot the 'makeupy, high-drama' effect. I will definitely keep buying Lorac's Publicity Stunt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanyav on 3/11/2009 3:25:00 PM more reviews by sanyav

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    


I really don't know what these other reviewers are talking about... Are we using the same product?? Did LORAC change the formula or something recently? Because this stuff is AWESOME!

I've tried MUFE, Bad Gal, every drugstore mascara there is, and most recently the new BE BUXOM Lash, and still this one is the only one I use. It's great for everyday, the office and running around town. It has NEVER flaked or smudged on me - rain, wind or shine. It is a dry formula so it doesn't clump your lashed at all, it separates and fans them out. The only thing is that you have to work fast before the formula dries (especially if you want to use the lash comb that comes attached). I wore it for my wedding, and loved it. IT STAYED IN PLACE THE ENTIRE DAY and my lashes did not budge.


The other reviews said that it doesn't give you dramatic length or volume... and they are right - it doesn't give you DRAMATIC length or volume. I would think of this as more of a CURLING and SEPARATING mascara than anything else.

Also, the reason the brush is shaped the way it is - it's for the curling effect.

Bottom line: If you're looking for fake looking volume and length don't buy this, you won't like it. However, if you want a more natural look, something you can wear to the office without looking like a drag queen, something you don't have to retouch and can feel secure with, you'll love the Publicity Stunt Lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 misspriss_73401 on 2/18/2009 2:11:00 PM more reviews by misspriss_73401

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

there's not many good things i can say about this mascara. it was ridiculously expensive ($19) for what little it did. it made my eyelashes feel dry and it was irritating to know you have to wait 3 days to wash it off. i can say that it does have incredible staying power and it gives your lashes a little length, but nothing exciting. i'm not going to return it because i've already thrown the box and reciept away, but i will never buy this again. i'll stick with my MAC plush lash

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stars_a_fire on 1/25/2009 8:11:00 PM more reviews by stars_a_fire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This formula doesn't cover any of your lashes... I've never tried anything like it because it really didn't thicken or lengthen. The formula and brush doesn't do anything. Please save your money and just buy a really good drugstor mascara.... seriously, this is the truth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LORAC products

More Mascara products