Impruv Cream

4.7

34 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Coconut Oil, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Shea Butter, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Squalane, Carbomer, Sodium Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Ceramide 3


on 8/18/2015 6:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have sensitive/reactive skin. I develop allergies really easy. I find this product helps me alot, specially inthe summer months..when the hit and sunscreen make me flare. It is not greasy and price wise in reasonable. I buy it at Shoppers.Great product.



on 7/20/2015 6:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product based on the previous positive reviews. I have been looking for a moisturizer that was good for sensitive skin and that was hydrating. This product is pretty awesome for both. It comes in 2 sizes - I got the 75 ml one for trial and it's a great size.I bought mine at my local Shoppers Drug Mart but I believe they also sell this product at London Drugs too (in Canada). I read from previous reviewers that it is not sold in the States anymore, I'm not sure why. Usually products tend to get discontinued in Canada before the States. There is no scent to this product which is great. The texture is not too thick and it spread easily over the face. I have used this cream as an eye cream well and it works well. It has not broke me out nor has it given me milia. The cream is very hydrating and my face does not feel tight after applying. My face does not feel greasy either but moisturized. This moisturizer does exactly when a moisturizer is supposed to do. I'm surprised it has not gotten more reviews. This product is truly a hidden gem in the drugstore. The product comes in a squeeze tube so don't need to worry about hygiene problems. I have squirt some out for travel purposes and put it into a container. Has not given me any problems. Would definitely recommend, especially during the winter months if it gets dry. Great for dry skin. Would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2015 8:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Holy grail. Its official. I'm 34. Why did I only NOW just discover this? Moisturizing for oily-normal-dry skin without clogging pores, perfect under makeup and yet perfect on top of nightly serums and potions. Does not leave a weird residue on face. Price is dirt cheap $9 Canadian at Shoppers and a flip cap tube that is sturdy with no product wastage. WILL BUY UNTIL I DIE.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2015 3:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

An absolute must have for dry, acne-prone skin. It's incredibly hydrating and is the perfect prep for makeup. Very dewy and plush. It hasn't congested my pores or provoked any breakouts.

It has quite glossy glow when first applied, but it dissipates after some time. The sheen might not be for everyone.

I have used countless bottles of this product and will continue to purchase in the future!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2013 1:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this cream. I bought after my friend's dermatologist recommended it. The packaging is not fancy at all, and is definitely a hidden gem. This is my go to night cream during winter or whenever my skin is dry and flaky. It has a thick texture, and almost feels like it wouldn't be well-absorbed. You'll be left with a sheen when you first put it on, which is why I won't use it during the day. The morning after I use this, my skin feels hydrated, soft and bouncy - all dryness gone! It didn't cause me to break out.

This cream is fragrance-free, which is great. I usually use this on spots that are particularly dry and flaky, but definitely not my T-zone since it's rarely so dry. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2012 1:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product and have repurchased it many times. It`s the perfect ultra moisturizing cream for the really dry areas on my face and body. I only use it at night and this product provides hydration without greasiness or clogging my pores.

Ingredients:

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Coconut Oil, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Shea Butter, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Squalane, Carbomer, Sodium Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Ceramide 3.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2012 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It is critical to mention that I was on accutane when I bought this moisturizer.
I've always loved the Neutrogena Oil Free moisturizer for combo skin, but 2 months into my treatment I realized that it wasn't cutting it. My skin turned so dry (especially around my cheeks) that I was experiencing flaking, stinging and redness. I lathered on Neutrogena and even something a bit thicker like Cetaphil - but to no avail. All I experienced was even more redness and stinging.
My friend recommended Complex 15, but I ended up coming home with this after speaking to the sales associate. I'm really glad I did because after a week my skin was much better. I still had slight redness but no itching. I would definitely recommend this for those who need something to cope with the dryness you get when you're on Accutane. I'm usually combination skin (dry on my cheeks and nose) and this really helped.
Compared to the other moisturizers I saw at SDM, it was much cheaper (around $18); my other friend recommended Dermaglow which was $50+ !
The only reason why I wouldn't buy this product again is because it only helped me when I was on accutane.
I love what this product did, but what I found that it made me look a little shinier than I may have liked - especially when I slathered it on to my cheeks. But it relieved my dryness so well that I was fine that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2012 11:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This moisturizing cream is a dream. I use it on my hands and body, and the occasional stubborn dry spot on my face. It has worked excellent for my sensitive skin. Bonus? No petroleum byproducts, no greasiness, and a negligible rating on Cosmetic Database. Pricy for the size of the bottle if you are using it all over like I am throughout a long, Northern winter ($17CDN for 75ml), but really a great unscented, basic product. I always look for it to go on sale at SDM, and stock up!


on 4/19/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought the smaller tube about two months ago, and nearly finished the tube. I had been messing with DYI skincare and used to much SA in a toner I was making. The result was the driest, most broken out irritated skin Ive ever had. This cream did exactly what it says. It replaced my skin's lipid barrier and IMPRUVed my skin :D
I am falling out of love with Dermalogica and I thought I'd have one last fling with Active Moist. I ordered a 177ml tube online for $75 CAD, and I've been using it twice-3x a day. While it has some of the same ingredients, I found it's causing hard, dry little white heads. I went out today and dished $30 CAD for a 150ml tube. Dermalogica's Active moist now relegated to "summer care" or "someday give to daughter" cabinet.
I did remove a lippie because it can feel a tad greasy sometimes.
***UPDATE*** I have stopped using this. I have been struggling with congestion and greasiness for a while and didn't think it would be this. At first, it was great because it was winter and my face was dryyyy. Now that it's "springlike" out (East coast weather for you)it seems to clog the pores on my nose. That's the only place! Aside from the greasiness I just can't hack the constant congested pores in my nose. It's a rather large nose and a prominent feature (sad to say) I'd like it to be spic n span. I've tried Grapeseed oil for the first time today. I am nervous because I've had a Skin Flip-out and I don't want any more trouble.
***UPDATE*** Still feel the way I did in my latest update. It is good, don't get me wrong. In the summer it's just too heavy to use. I will store it lovingly and use it in a months time (I keep the "winter" skincare stuff in the fridge to keep) I like Impruv. It's simple and honest, and I dont know about you but I need more of that in my life.
***UPDATE***
Back to Impruv. It's winter and I am glad I have it.
***VERY IMPORTANT FOR THOSE WHO LIKE THIS PRODUCT***
IN THE UNITED STATES, STARTING JANUARY 2014 IMPRUV CREAM WILL BE DISCONTINUED.
However, and to my great relief it is still available in Canada.
I realized there is a very special ingredient in this cream that will cause me to love it/ use it forever.
Squalane. It makes my skin glowy, smooth and soft. I've actually ordered Squalane oil to mix with my Impruv for a "lite" version.
BTW the squalane in Impruv and that which I've ordered is derived from olives, not shark liver.
***UPDATE****
September 2014- I need a moisturizer and I react to most. I've been using Impruv since September and with the exception of using other irritating cosmetics and such, I've been pretty ok with the results. Ive learned that that I was reacting (by which I mean hives, itchiness, welts) because I had tons of this stuff around and when it gets old it causes skin reactions.(over 3 months) Impruv is really a good moisturizer, so do not be afraid of it, I know the ingredients scream "comedogenic" but I have the worst skin when it comes to reactivity and clogged pores. Ive tried Avene Tolerance Extreme, La Roche Toleraine, Complex 15, Olay Hydrating Beauty Fluid for Sensitive skin, Cliniderm, CetapHil, Cerave etc etc...Impruv is it for me.
When it starts smelling like pipe tobacco (you know sort of a sweet, musky odour) I know it's gone bad and I need a new tube. Thats the only thing one needs to know about this cream. if it turns and you continue to use it you will be sorry!
***UPDATE*** night use only in warmer weather, I wish they sold the lighter version in Canada

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2012 4:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good moisturizer and I have been using this for two weeks. My skin is sensitive, dry and always have two to three HUGE breakouts, have not have clear skin for a while. I am in a situation that I have no idea what to use. I don't want to trigger breakouts but my dry skin is very irritated and it hurts for real. So I decide to try something plain. I went to SDM and saw this Impruv cream, I read the ingredient list and find out it could be a solution to my skin condition; gentle, no cone, basic, plain but still with some good ingredients. This is also the cheapest moisturizer that I have ever used in my life. I am usually a BIG FAN of luxury skincare, from SKII to La Mer, Guerlain, Estee Lauder, YSL, Sothys, Clinique, Shiseido, Clarins, Chanel, Cellex C, Valmont, Suki etc and I always use the top line among all these big skincare brand. But since my skin is very sensitive, I decide to give this a try. I warm up the product and then I pat the product on my face including eye area after using my SKII Facial Treatement Essence. My skin feel calm right away and I do not have any new breakouts after using this product. I wish the cream continues to work well on me and it has potential to be a HG product. it is good for me during the Winter time but I can see it become too rich during summer time. If it continues to work like this, I will change it into a 5 stars status.

Edit: after I use Impruv cream for a while, I like it on my eyes more because it is very emoillent. For face, really love CerVea Moisturing lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top