Unlisted Brand • Impruv Cream • Moisturizers

rated 4.7(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 floooras on 5/19/2013 1:18:00 AM more reviews by floooras

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cream. I bought after my friend's dermatologist recommended it. The packaging is not fancy at all, and is definitely a hidden gem. This is my go to night cream during winter or whenever my skin is dry and flaky. It has a thick texture, and almost feels like it wouldn't be well-absorbed. You'll be left with a sheen when you first put it on, which is why I won't use it during the day. The morning after I use this, my skin feels hydrated, soft and bouncy - all dryness gone! It didn't cause me to break out.

This cream is fragrance-free, which is great. I usually use this on spots that are particularly dry and flaky, but definitely not my T-zone since it's rarely so dry. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 8/24/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love this product and have repurchased it many times. It`s the perfect ultra moisturizing cream for the really dry areas on my face and body. I only use it at night and this product provides hydration without greasiness or clogging my pores.

Ingredients:

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Coconut Oil, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Shea Butter, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Squalane, Carbomer, Sodium Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Ceramide 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilshaxter on 7/9/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by lilshaxter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is critical to mention that I was on accutane when I bought this moisturizer.
I've always loved the Neutrogena Oil Free moisturizer for combo skin, but 2 months into my treatment I realized that it wasn't cutting it. My skin turned so dry (especially around my cheeks) that I was experiencing flaking, stinging and redness. I lathered on Neutrogena and even something a bit thicker like Cetaphil - but to no avail. All I experienced was even more redness and stinging.
My friend recommended Complex 15, but I ended up coming home with this after speaking to the sales associate. I'm really glad I did because after a week my skin was much better. I still had slight redness but no itching. I would definitely recommend this for those who need something to cope with the dryness you get when you're on Accutane. I'm usually combination skin (dry on my cheeks and nose) and this really helped.
Compared to the other moisturizers I saw at SDM, it was much cheaper (around $18); my other friend recommended Dermaglow which was $50+ !
The only reason why I wouldn't buy this product again is because it only helped me when I was on accutane.
I love what this product did, but what I found that it made me look a little shinier than I may have liked - especially when I slathered it on to my cheeks. But it relieved my dryness so well that I was fine that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gunzarelli on 5/8/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by gunzarelli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This moisturizing cream is a dream. I use it on my hands and body, and the occasional stubborn dry spot on my face. It has worked excellent for my sensitive skin. Bonus? No petroleum byproducts, no greasiness, and a negligible rating on Cosmetic Database. Pricy for the size of the bottle if you are using it all over like I am throughout a long, Northern winter ($17CDN for 75ml), but really a great unscented, basic product. I always look for it to go on sale at SDM, and stock up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carybear on 4/19/2012 3:30:00 PM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the smaller tube about two months ago, and nearly finished the tube. I had been messing with DYI skincare and used to much SA in a toner I was making. The result was the driest, most broken out irritated skin Ive ever had. This cream did exactly what it says. It replaced my skin's lipid barrier and IMPRUVed my skin :D
I am falling out of love with Dermalogica and I thought I'd have one last fling with Active Moist. I ordered a 177ml tube online for $75 CAD, and I've been using it twice-3x a day. While it has some of the same ingredients, I found it's causing hard, dry little white heads. I went out today and dished $30 CAD for a 150ml tube. Dermalogica's Active moist now relegated to "summer care" or "someday give to daughter" cabinet.
I did remove a lippie because it can feel a tad greasy sometimes.
***UPDATE*** I have stopped using this. I have been struggling with congestion and greasiness for a while and didn't think it would be this. At first, it was great because it was winter and my face was dryyyy. Now that it's "springlike" out (East coast weather for you)it seems to clog the pores on my nose. That's the only place! Aside from the greasiness I just can't hack the constant congested pores in my nose. It's a rather large nose and a prominent feature (sad to say) I'd like it to be spic n span. I've tried Grapeseed oil for the first time today. I am nervous because I've had a Skin Flip-out and I don't want any more trouble.
***UPDATE*** Still feel the way I did in my latest update. It is good, don't get me wrong. In the summer it's just too heavy to use. I will store it lovingly and use it in a months time (I keep the "winter" skincare stuff in the fridge to keep) I like Impruv. It's simple and honest, and I dont know about you but I need more of that in my life.
***UPDATE***
Back to Impruv. It's winter and I am glad I have it.
***VERY IMPORTANT FOR THOSE WHO LIKE THIS PRODUCT***
IN THE UNITED STATES, STARTING JANUARY 2014 IMPRUV CREAM WILL BE DISCONTINUED.
However, and to my great relief it is still available in Canada.
I realized there is a very special ingredient in this cream that will cause me to love it/ use it forever.
Squalane. It makes my skin glowy, smooth and soft. I've actually ordered Squalane oil to mix with my Impruv for a "lite" version.
BTW the squalane in Impruv and that which I've ordered is derived from olives, not shark liver.
***UPDATE*** September 2013
Well, here it is coming into fall and as usual, my skin *freaks* out when the seasons change. I have tons of this stuff around because I asked my mother and daughter for some last xmas and they bought me 3 big tubes each.
My skin is parched right now; I am *duh* too freaking stubborn to STAY the hell away from Salicylic acid products (I'm 36 and acne products do not affect hormonal acne, but it withers my ageing skin!) and my allergies (mostly food allergies) make my skin stupid reactive. I can't use anything right now except Avene Cold cream bar and Impruv cream.
Squalane I purchased *is* from shark's liver. I don't want to use it. Not because it's from shark liver but because it's from very contaminated water (sea of Japan) That said, since Ive learned there are 300 tons of radio active waste water leaching into the sea of Japan (hence ALL of the seas and oceans are contaminated with that, plastic and garbage http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/garbage-island/) I don't eat fish anymore. Who knows what to trust? The world we live in is a contaminated fishbowl.
***UPDATE**** I need a moisturizer and I react to most. I've been using Impruv since September and with the exception of using other irritating cosmetics and such, I have devised a method for applying Impruv cream that avoids over moisturizing. I use a damp cosmetic sponge to apply it, as it if were tinted moisturizer, and have yet to encounter the dreaded closed comedone syndrome I am prone to :( This method leave a slight film of their product on my skin. The perfect amount. I have also learned that that I was reacting (by which I mean hives, itchiness, welts) because I had tons of this stuff around and when it gets old it causes skin reactions.( over six months)
So Imruv is really a good moisturizer, it just needs a light hand.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ozone on 3/12/2012 4:50:00 AM more reviews by ozone

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good moisturizer and I have been using this for two weeks. My skin is sensitive, dry and always have two to three HUGE breakouts, have not have clear skin for a while. I am in a situation that I have no idea what to use. I don't want to trigger breakouts but my dry skin is very irritated and it hurts for real. So I decide to try something plain. I went to SDM and saw this Impruv cream, I read the ingredient list and find out it could be a solution to my skin condition; gentle, no cone, basic, plain but still with some good ingredients. This is also the cheapest moisturizer that I have ever used in my life. I am usually a BIG FAN of luxury skincare, from SKII to La Mer, Guerlain, Estee Lauder, YSL, Sothys, Clinique, Shiseido, Clarins, Chanel, Cellex C, Valmont, Suki etc and I always use the top line among all these big skincare brand. But since my skin is very sensitive, I decide to give this a try. I warm up the product and then I pat the product on my face including eye area after using my SKII Facial Treatement Essence. My skin feel calm right away and I do not have any new breakouts after using this product. I wish the cream continues to work well on me and it has potential to be a HG product. it is good for me during the Winter time but I can see it become too rich during summer time. If it continues to work like this, I will change it into a 5 stars status.

Edit: after I use Impruv cream for a while, I like it on my eyes more because it is very emoillent. For face, really love CerVea Moisturing lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chickadeemomo on 2/3/2012 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Chickadeemomo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So glad I found my HG moisturizer!!! I've tried really sooooo many different brands of moisturizers, from dirt cheap drug stores ones to higher-end ones like Shiseido and Biotherm but still I haven't found my HG moisturizer that I will enjoy using up the who tube of it. This is it, this is my HG!! My skin has no major issues, I have combination skin and little bit on the dry side and has occassional break out, but not often, maybe 1 or 2 pimples for a few days in a month. I am at a stage where I just want to use some pure, basic and good-for-my-skin skincare without any added fragrance or any fancy ingredients. I've tried Cetaphil and Complex15 facial moisturizers, they are both good when I apply it at night, but when I wake up in the morning my face feels a little tight and dull, just feels that my face soaks up the product during the night. Impruv works though, when I apply it, my face feels moisturized without the greasy, sticky feeling, just feels moist, hydrated and plumped and the best part it, this hydrated feeling stays through the night and my face still feel so good in the morning! Feeling hydrated is very important for me right now since I am at an age where I started to feel like my skin is aging faster than before. I am using this product as a night cream now, since I am a daily makeup wearer, I wanted to wear something this basic and pure at the end of the day so my skin can 'rest' if that make any sense. I'd like to use this as the day cream too, but since the price is not very cheap ($18 Canadian) so I am trying to save it and only use it for night time; I use the Nivea soft cream for my face as my daytime moisturizer, and also use a Neutrogena SPF45 sunscreen before I put on my makeup, those are good enough for my daytime needs. So in conclusion, I really enjoy this cream and it makes me happy when I apply it every night after I shower. Highly recommend and I am sure I will keep repurchase this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vitamincee on 1/30/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by vitamincee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely dry, extremely sensitive skin, and i suffer from eczema on my face all year round.. or at least I used to, ever since i started using impruv, my skin has improved so much. Every time i get an eczema flare, i use impruv on the affected areas works like magic :). Also Impruv is the only moisturizer that stops my skin from becoming dry throughout the day. Its a little pricey, at 30-40$ for 150ml bottle, but for me its so worth it !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 morphy on 7/18/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by morphy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Best moisturizer for acne-prone, yet dry skin. Will not clog pores.

Tip: For a lighter application, apply small dabs on cheeks, forehead and a more generous amount on neck. Spray with your favourite mineral water (I use La Roche Posay), then melt into skin.

Edit: Dec 8, 2012: After moving to Europe, I've been trying to find a replacement to this cream, without success. I will keep ordering it through the mail!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ASHLEYFLOOD on 6/5/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by ASHLEYFLOOD

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm an aesthetican with a make-up artist background, and I've been using 'Impruv' creme as a base for foundations, concealers and shadows for years!!

I have recommended this product to all my family, friends, and clients and they all come back to me with many thanks!

Honestly, I have tried all the `celebrity secret` cremes and potions out there and nothing compares, nor even comes close to touching Impruv!

It has never, ever, ever, caused me any skin irritations or congestion (and i have extremely sensitive skin). I find this product actually helps to heal my skin--especially after Iíve had my way with it! i.e- washing, toning, picking, extracting, waxing, etc...I even use the 'gel' (which occurs as a 'build-up' around the cap), as an eye creme...

One truly amazing product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Moisturizers products