Tarte Cheek Stain in Flush

4.2

414 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Propylene glycol, water/aqua/eau, nonyl nonoxynol-150, glycerin, sodium stearate, laureth-23, parfum/fragrance, stearic acid, PVP, lycium barbarum fruit extract, euterpe oleracea fruit extract, malpighia punicifolia (acerola) fruit extract, citral, citronellol, linalool, punica granatum extract, passiflora incarnata fruit extract. May Contain/Peut Contenir/(+/-): Red 40 (CI 16035), red 33 (CI 17200), yellow 5 (CI 19140), blue 1 (CI 42090), red 28 (CI 45410).


on 4/13/2015 6:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was intimidated by the color but it's actually pretty sheer once applied. It's a beautiful berry plum color that has a dewy finish. The new cheek stains are smaller than the original but I think the packaging is cute. They also last a long time - I have a small travel size of a different color and I've had it for FOREVER - with still plenty of product left.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/6/2015 9:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

When I first saw this, I was a little intimidated by the dark berry colour. But this applies nice and sheer, and is easy to blend. A very nice cool, purpleish "just in from the cold" look, and I would say the name flush is very apt.

It leaves a dewy finish. I like it a lot in the colder months - it feels moisturizing.

I like the smell - it is a nice lemony fragrance.

Application - I usually apply this by directly applying it to my cheeks then blending it in with my fingers.

I really like this product but I'm taking off a star and won't repurchase because the full sized product is expensive ($36CAD) and way too big. I have this in the sample size and I think it is the perfect size - I like that for direct application I have better control of where the product goes. The full size is huge and I imagine it would be more difficult to apply it directly to your face without it going everywhere. If this was available in a smaller size (and lower price!) for purchase, I probably would repurchase it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample from Sephora. As my first cheek stain I am very pleased with this, and it's the first time I've ever been happy with a blush. Usually I don't wear it because if it's dark enough to show up, I look like a clown. When I first put this on, I do look like a clown, but within a few seconds it lightens. I either dab at my cheek lightly to get a soft glow, or smear it on heavier. The product is sticky when first applied, but patting with toilet paper or blotting paper takes care of that, it also allows me to build it up if I blot it.


on 2/25/2015 10:16:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought the cheek stain in Natural Beauty. I have been an avid user of Pixi's gel blush in the little tube for years, but I've recently began venturing into Tarte's makeup line and overall I've been quite impressed with the colors, texture, etc. of their products, so I thought I would try this cheek stain. Bad news...I do not like it, I do not like it not even one little bit. When I dab a small amount on my cheeks, it feels and looks extremely greasy. It virtually has no staying power whatsoever, nor does it really look natural on my face. Bummer!!! I will stick with my tried and true Pixi gel blush.


on 2/25/2015 12:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

classic for a reason, easy to apply, blend and fairly long wear time too


on 1/21/2015 12:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Yuck, this stuff is so stick and slimy. Once you get it on, it just sort of lays on top of your makeup like goo. This just did not work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I like cheek stains, I've used a few in my day and I thought this would be a good thing to work with, it's got such a fun jelly consistency, beautiful berry shade and it smells like lemon cake. Once applied, the berry shade is non existent, it is just super sheer, the jelly looses its fun when you realize it is impossible to build up to get a stronger colour, it just lays flat on your skin and remains tacky and sticky and does not blend well.
I have this in the colour "Muse" that I got in the Bon Voyage set and the review for that is the complete opposite, it's amazing. I guess the extra pigment helps the formula along so much better because it does have excellent and buildable colour pay off, strong wear and is a seemingly universally flattering neutral tone. I will post a general review on that as well, the rating is just for the colour "Flush".


on 10/12/2014 10:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I adore this product. I had always been curious about it but never wanted to fork out the money so when I had the chance to get it as a Sephora 100-point perk, I jumped. Once I run out, I will purchase the full-size product. It's expensive but I've been using the small tube for months and I still have a lot left so I think in the end, the price is worth it.

It looks really dark but it's quite sheer when you apply it. I apply it after moisturizing, or if I'm wearing foundation or a BB creme, I apply it after that. I apply it to my cheekbones and then use a Sephora foundation brush to blend. I then apply it to the apple of my cheeks (or however you say that) and blend. I then apply power and a light dusting of blush.

This product makes me look like I've been out in the cold, which is a positive because I'm extremely pale. It's not greasy or oily on my skin and it lasts all day. I'm not kidding about that, when I get home after work, I can still see the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2014 6:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a very intimidating color in the tube, but the loveliest plum/pink shade that looks great on my light, yellow-undertone, complexion. I have med brown hair and blue eyes. I run my finger over the top and then day it on the apples of my cheeks and then blend it out. It's sheer, glowy, and gives you a nice "flush" as implied. Too much can give a wind burned look, so go easy and build up coverage. I like to put a little on my lips and eye lids sometimes, too.

Though I think the price is high, the product takes ages to get through.


on 9/27/2014 5:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Since this was a choice using Sephora points I thought I'd try it. I must say that I really like it a lot! It's simple to use, just rub the color onto my cheeks and either tap the color out using my finger or a flat kabuki brush. The color looks natural on my skin and give me a pretty "flush" without being too obvious. In the tube the color looks like a deep raspberry but it goes on very sheer. A second coat can be applied for more color if desired. I like the cute container, you simply twist to get more product (just like a lipstick tube).

I use it to get a bit of color when I go to the gym for workout session, it seems to stay fairly well. Other times I'll apply it over my foundation, lightly powder over it then add a light dusting of my favorite powder blush. I would definitely repurchase!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top