John Masters • dry hair nourishment and defrizzer • Conditioner

rated 3.5(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 goldrauschengel on 10/24/2013 4:46:00 PM more reviews by goldrauschengel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Hell, this is expensive! I still cannot believe I actually splurged on that, but then again I am always looking for oils to try on my very thick, curly, dry hair...This stuff smells divine and really works better than Moroccanoil, Orofluido, coconut oil and all the others I have tried. It adds shine and depth to my curls, and it's good for keeping away frizz. Also while the smell is great upon application, it doesn't linger much which is a plus in my opinion. Only drawback apart from the price is that it makes my dark blond a bit darker, as do most oils. I love the little bottle and will refill it with some cheaper oil for the gym bag when this is finished. Will I repurchase? Hm, that's difficult, but I'd say it has definitely made me curious to try more products in the line, such as the shine on gel or the sea salt lavender hair mist ( which seems an even worse indulgence for 20 bucks a bottle ) so yeah greatly tempted

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alesija on 1/10/2011 10:07:00 AM more reviews by alesija

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

Smells so bad and makes my hair look greasy. Also the price is too high for this tiny amount. This is the worst JM product i've tried. Wouldn't use it for free

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 10/18/2010 5:30:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wanted to love this product since I've been unsuccessfully hunting for a natural, silicone-free frizz product for 2 years and John Masters is such a clean, nice-smelling line. Sadly, this didn't do much but lend a little shine. I tried rubbing it through damp hair, then styling and rubbing it on the ends of dry hair. Neither method took away the frizz or smoothed my hair. And for $16 for a .5 oz bottle it should have! I'd like to see this come in spray form with better ingredients to soften hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 noinoi on 9/29/2010 11:05:00 AM more reviews by noinoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I noticed two really pretty looking girls buying some john masters products in wholefoods and was motivated to look again at this fantastically pricy natural brand.

I tried this defrizzer out in the store and found it to be good but insanely priced. I bought a little bottle of something called vitarite activebio skin oil (has almost the same ingredient list as JM) then added some cederwook essential oil and some olive oil from my kitchen. It seems to do the trick and is a lot cheaper

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isitfriday on 10/29/2009 2:28:00 PM more reviews by isitfriday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

a little goes a long way, however for my shoulder length thick wavy hair, i need more than the three drops they recommend using. i use this both on damp hair and again when it is try to tame the wild tresses. i love the herbal scent, and the eye dropper container is nice. i like this as much as my argan oil, and the scent is much better. i have a good hair day when i use this, so i will buy it again if i ever run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 myneka on 9/16/2009 7:26:00 PM more reviews by myneka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the JM dry hair nourishment and defrizzer oil directly from the JM website and it advertised that it contained helio carrot which is rich in beta carotene and vitamins A C and E, but when I got my bottle it had no helio carrot in the ingredients list. In fact in replace of it was flaxseed oil, an oil that causes the production of estrogen and the hormone DHT which destroys hair follicles. This is the second time this has happened to me. The other time was when I bought their Honey and Hibiscus conditioner on Amazon and the ingredients differed from the product that was shipped to me, at the time I thought Amazon was at fault, because they didn't update the list of ingredients on their website, but it seems that JM is the one who is falsely advertising his products. I would not recommend this product, because you won't know what you're buying until you get it.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jfrazer on 4/1/2009 3:13:00 PM more reviews by jfrazer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am african american with shoulder length hair and my hair can be very dry at times and easily frizzes. I have tried alot of products such as mizani, kera care and so on and nothing has helped my hair like the John Masters dry hair nourishment and defrizzer!! i add 1/2 drop to my hands and rub them together then rub it through my hair and i kid you not my hair isnt dry nor does it frizz!!! it gives it a nice shine and it doesnt weigh my hair down like other products plus you dont need to use too much of it. i love this product and will buy it again!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Joyce7 on 2/11/2009 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Joyce7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

OMG I love this stuff! This works so, so well for my fine, colored, damaged-on-the-ends hair. I can't stand most serums that are loaded w/ silicones because they leave me already fine hair too light and too soft. But my hair just drinks this oil up. I use the recommended 3 drops on towel-dried hair (along w/some leave in conditioner) and blow dry, and the result is shiny swingy hair with no damaged frizzy ends in sight. Usually, using a flat iron after blow drying is a must for me, but with this I can actually skip that step. HG product for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Brunneria on 8/25/2008 2:00:00 PM more reviews by Brunneria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on a trip to the States over a year ago, and was astonished to discover that it is available in the UK. I love it. Yes, it is nothing more than a blend of oils. Yes, I could make it myself, if I wanted to trawl the internet for the oils, work out the correct balance of ingredients, and then mix them up, pour them into tiny bottles and then have to give them away so that they don't spoil before I get to use them... but I ain't gonna do that, am I?



Instead, I am going to keep using this marvellous product, applying 3 drops to the whole of my (long) hair as a leave-in conditioner as, and when, I need it - and at current usage, it will go off before I finish the bottle - at which point, I will repurchase.



I currently only use 2 conditioners, and they both work incredibly well on my long, greasy roots and tendency to dry end hair. I shampoo with a mild shampoo (currently SLS and paraben free, and bought off eBay), then rub 3 drops of this oil into my fingertips and work it over the areas of my hair that need it, then brush thoroughly to distribute it even more evenly. Job done.



My hair will be silky, smooth and very healthy looking until its next wash - and without all those vile chemicals that other conditioners use and often leave in the hair.



The other shampoo I use is Ojon Restorative Hair Treatment, and it does almost exactly the same job. I can even use a tiny scraping of it in exactly the same way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 catelfinel on 8/3/2007 12:19:00 PM more reviews by catelfinel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would sooner make my own product than buy this again in this form. It did leave my hair very soft and a little goes a long way but based on the ingredients it is vastly overpriced and the stopper broke in my bag flooding it with oil. I suspect that using plain jojoba oil or olive oil would have a similar effect.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Conditioner products