Keys • Solar RX SPF 30 Therapeutic Sunblock • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evyyhl on 6/22/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by evyyhl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I was excited about this sunscreen after reading the reviews in MUA and rating in EWG. I have very sensitive, reactive, acne prone skin and I'm currently on Tazorac and Yaz birth control pill to control my acne. My nose & T-zone area will often clog w/ anything I put on. I tried numerous formulations of sunscreen. The drugstore brands such as Neutrogena, Aveeno, Cetaphil, or CeraVe either burn my face & cause rash or they clog my pores and leads to massive blackheads & white cysts outbreak. I used Shiseido ultimate sunscreen SPF 33 (very bad rating on EWG) but it worked for my skin. Shiseido discontinued this sunscreen so I was hunting for a perfect sunscreen for my face again. I was hoping this sunscreen would be the perfect one so I can stop searching for a sunscreen. But this sunscreen FAILED the Non-comedogenic test on my skin!

Texture:

Extremely creamy and thick, but does not feel greasy once I applied on my face. It does feel like a "film" or a "waxy" layer sitting on top of my face (this effect may be caused by the vegetable wax ingredient).

Overall performance:

It does have a mild woody smell when I first applied on my face, but it goes away after a few minutes. My face did not get burn in the sun so it definitely protected my face from sunburn very well. It DID NOT cause burning sensation or rash on my skin. My skin was also very well moisturize. However, it CLOGS my pores and led to massive formation of blackheads and white cysts that took weeks to recover. I guess I should have predicted this result when I looked at the ingredient list.

I still think this is a great sunscreen for those who are looking for natural sunscreen. This sunscreen is great for people with normal or dry skin. If you have acne prone and sensitive skin that is prone to blackhead on your T-zone, this sunscreen may possibly make it worse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asoka on 10/16/2011 7:08:00 PM more reviews by asoka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my third bottle of this stuff, and it is the product that got me hooked on Keys.

I absolutely must wear sunscreen at all times. My skin is extremely photosensitive, and any kind of prolonged exposure makes me break out in scarring skin lesions and/or can make me sick. Other than avoiding the sun during peak daylight hours (which I do), good sunscreen is a must.

I felt a little nervous about trying this- given that I had been wearing spf 100 on my face. Everything I had tried in the past felt disgusting- often times in the summer if I sweat a little, or even put too much on I could taste my chemical sunblock, and it's not a good taste. Solar Rx is totally different than any other sunblock I have used. The SPF 30+ is just as effective at blocking out the sun, as the chemical suncreens I have been using. There is never a funny taste- no pilling, balling, nor greasy mess- makeup glides over it like a dream. This is such a huge difference from the other brands I had been using, that I dare say Solar Rx has vastly improved my life and my skin. I won't and cannot be without it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 8/20/2011 10:17:00 PM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Update: it's been 12 months now, and I still love it; I've tried others but I love that it's not too matte (like beyond coastal) and it's not too reflective (like pratima) -- and does NOT break me out (like so many others).
--------------------------------------------------------
This review is for Keys Soap Solar RX 30SPF. I love this SS - I think I've finally found my HGSS! I've been using it for about 5 months now, and it's the bomb for my oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin.

If your skin can't tolerate chemical ss or silicone-based physical ss, this is a good option with a great rating by EWG, which means it's stable and safe (except I wish it were micro- instead of nano-size).

Application tip: do not rub this in; instead, rub it between your fingers then pat it on gently.

Pros: physical (not chemical) base, moisturizing, very faint natural scent, broad spectrum, adore the sanitary dispenser, size works for airport security, no break-outs!!!, doesn't crease, no white cast, no freckles after the entire summer, glowy but not too reflective finish after dusting powder.

Cons: feels a little thick and greasy but powder will cover the shine, not sure how it works under foundation, not sure about nano-technology

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iDrinkYourMilkshake on 6/8/2011 9:13:00 PM more reviews by iDrinkYourMilkshake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Doesn't protect my fair skin in even moderate sun! I noticed a ton of new freckles, which I don't get when I use practically ANY other ss (i'm a ss fiend), even d/s chemical-based sprays and Coppertone Sensitive spf 50, just as examples. Realized after buying that it uses nano zinc, which offers less protection (smaller particle size). Broke me out horribly on my face but worked ok on the body.

Pros:
spreads easily
sinks in relatively quickly
good for dry skin
feels calming on my sensitive skin compared to other ss i've tried
nice ingredient list (besides the nano issue!)
nice packaging, the pump is efficient and easy to use

Cons:
tacky, sticky feel! so much so that I don't like to put it on, I can feel it throughout the day
poor protection
unpleasant smell
price was a little much for me with s&h
..............................

Bought this online because I thought ooh! 18% zinc! but no. Would not repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isingonrooftops on 8/21/2010 5:35:00 PM more reviews by isingonrooftops

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I quite like this sunscreen due to the following reasons: mostly organic ingredients, leaves a nice looking sheen on your skin (without that overly flashy effect that a lot of sunscreens tend to leave your skin with), a good value (it's $26.95 on the Keys site for 100 ml; most sunscreens are much more expensive). I also think it smells nice. I've read some reviews that said the smell of this sunscreen is offensive, but it smells sweet and citrus-y to me. Oh well, everyone has different taste (or scent) buds. My only gripe with this product (and I have this with the Luminos "Hydrating" Moisturizer too) is that it is not moisturizing enough. Whenever I apply this onto my skin, my skin glows. However, it still feels dry, like it's just sitting on top of my skin, unlike, say, a more moisturizing sunscreen such as CA Baby. I will most likely repurchase this again, although I would like to try the Loving Naturals Sunscreen first.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nkallen007 on 7/25/2010 2:19:00 PM more reviews by nkallen007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Excellent sunscreen and moisturizer. Have oily/acne prone skin and this has cleared everything up and keeps me matte for most of the day. Doesn't sting my eyes (I wear contacts) and it goes on smooth. It's pretty think so I mix it with a tiny bit of water and it blends in perfectly.


Keys is a great brand - their Island Rx face wash is fantastic. Will stick with this brand for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liquidskyfire on 6/28/2010 7:51:00 PM more reviews by liquidskyfire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was at Nature's Fare looking for another sunscreen, and there happened to be a booth set up giving out free Solar-Rx samples. I didn't find the sunscreen I was looking for, so I took an rx sample home. Boy am I glad I did! I absolutely love this stuff!


Personally, I find the texture nice and smooth - though that may be because I apply right after I get out of the shower in the morning, after just patting my skin dry. It goes on very well at that point and sinks right in, but I could see it being more difficult to apply when your skin is dry. I also adore the smell, and haven't noticed the "white cast" many people talk about, though to be fair, that may just be because I'm already deathly pale. It doesn't make my skin unduly oily or dry, nor does it break me out at all, though my skin is very prone to getting clogged.


So all in all, it works perfect for me! I'm now happily awaiting my online order (since it was sold out all over town!) of a full-size bottle :) I'm glad to have found a sunscreen I can use daily on my face, since I want to protect my skin and keep it looking youthful as I age!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emilywieja on 6/25/2010 6:02:00 PM more reviews by emilywieja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this product on my face and neck every day for about 1.5 years. My skin is combo/oily and I agree with other reviewers who say it makes skin pretty oily, but I feel like dewy skin is just the price to pay to for good sunscreen protection, day in, day out. I used to use extremely high protection, chemical, European sunscreens on my face like La Roche Posay and Avene, but eventually I couldn't reconcile using such products with my ethical veganism, so I went in search of a good vegan sunblock. This fits the bill as the ingredients are top notch and natural, and honestly, I haven't noticed any lesser degree of protection with this stuff. I don't stay out in the sun for long periods of time, and this stuff works on a daily basis under mineral makeup, but I do need to blot and use a zinc finishing powder to reduce shine. I will keep buying this again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarubo on 5/24/2010 7:43:00 PM more reviews by sarubo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

While I do love this sunscreen, it does have it's drawbacks depending on what type of skin you have. I have oily/sensitive skin, and it does seem to keep your skin in an oily state. Let me clarify. I need a physical sunblock, I personally believe they work more effectively than chemical ones. Also, because of my sensitive skin, I can't use the chemical sunscreens. However, for the most part physical sunblocks will leave a white cast on your skin, this sunblock uses nanoparticles and fades very quickly so there is no white cast. (Nanoparticle safety is still debated, however most studies I found say the benefits of them far outweigh the risks) The one big drawback for me is it does not mattify at all. In fact it makes my oily skin seem even more oily. I haven't had any clogged pores or breakouts from it, it just have a dewy look every time I wear it. Even with my mineral makeup over top of it. But I'm willing to deal with it, because I haven't found a sunblock that works as well and doesn't irritate my skin.

PROS : absorbs quickly, airless pump bottle avoids contamination, chemical-free, rated safest sunblock on skindeep.org, average price

CONS : makes oily skin shinier

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GryphonLovesLipstick on 9/14/2009 6:04:00 PM more reviews by GryphonLovesLipstick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Update: I'm reducing my rating from a 4 to 3, because I'm pretty sure now that it caused one of the worst breakouts I've had in years. It's too bad because otherwise I wanted to love it. At some point in the future I may give it another try with a more controlled test, but at this point I'm not willing to risk it.


I'm still a little on the fence about this one, but only because I'm not sure if it's causing breakouts or not. If I'm having a long day and this sits on my face too long, I suspect it may be a contributor. That uncertainty aside, I really do like this sunscreen. It's a physical blocker with a remarkably short list of appealing, natural ingredients. Appearance-wise, it vanishes easily into my fair/medium, yellow-toned skin, and sets (almost too quickly) with a matte finish. It actually works as a great primer for makeup! Unlike other physical sunblocks I've tried, this doesn't dry out my face. It does form a palpable layer that I can feel on my skin, and really does have a knock-you-out scent, but I consider this balanced by the high degree of sun protection and lovely ingredient list.


Regarding the scent, to me it smells strongly of citrus and something that reminds me of black licorice (the cumin?). Not exactly pleasant but I find it tolerable and it does fade. I would definitely recommend taking advantage of the trial size first to see if you can handle it! One last note, on "nano-sized" zinc: current research does not indicate that this can penetrate the outer layers of the skin, with either accumulative or free radical effects.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Keys products

More Skincare - Face products