Dermalogica • Super Sensitive Faceblock SPF30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.7(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 sunnysusy on 4/6/2013 10:15:00 AM more reviews by sunnysusy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have used this sunblock for about two years now. Gone through only two tubes. It is lovely, goes on easily, hydrates my skin when some other sunblocks tend to dry my skin (I've used this on top of serum & moisturizer and underneath tinted moisturizer with SPF 15). It does not make my skin pasty white, although my skin is very fair. I have not gotten any sunburns when using this. It is on the expensive side, but it lasts forever. Love the tube because you can easily squeeze out the last drops. This review is for the white and yellow tube of super sensitive faceblock (not the one from the Ultra Calming series).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JHazzardous on 8/24/2012 8:27:00 AM more reviews by JHazzardous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very sensitive skin (especially in the summer) and as I am a big Dermalogica fan I had high hopes for this product. However I was quite disappointed.

My two concerns with this product where;

1. Stinging and burning on the skin around my nose.

2. When I sweat, especially through foundation, the sweat appeared in these highly unattractive droplets on the surface of my skin, and made my foundation and general complexion look terrible. Unlike how sweat usually appears (a thin layer of moisture), this dropleted appearance was very unpleasant.

For both these reasons I would not repurchase this product. However, many other people have given it favourable reviews, and so if you can afford it (it is quite pricey!) give it a go. I seem to be in the minority with this experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 5/14/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The best sunblock I've tried. I use it almost daily as I live in a sunny place and I want to take best care of my skin as possible. I mix this with my serum before I apply my daily moisturizer. Wokrs perfectly for me. Normally I never get sunburned but I prefer to protect my skin from the sun anyhow.

I tend to use a bigger dose of this on the really sunny days.

I will buy this again and again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShareVU on 10/31/2011 2:19:00 AM more reviews by ShareVU

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am a super sensitive to sun block user and even the sun block is recommend by the skin specialist doctor also will cause irritation and breakout to my skin. After i try dermalogica's products and found it is pretty suitable to my sensitive skin, i decide to have a try to it's sun block. So the dermalogica's skin specialist recommend i use this super sensitive faceblock which is totally chemical-free sunscreen and ideal design for skin whose have commonly irritated by sun protection ingredients. This sunscreen has the beneficial than others since it is contains Lavender, Green Tea and Licorice which is really effective to soothes irritation and no breakouts appear if correctly clear up. Besides, it also helpful to against UVA and UVB rays. So, after i use this stuff, i feel so enjoyable since it is important to apply sunscreen but i can't put it due to irritation and breakout reaction. Definitely repurchase and highly recommend to who has very sensitive skin to sunscreen ingredients.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 8/17/2010 9:20:00 AM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

If this were less expensive, I would probably use it, but...

-have to use an oil-based cleanser to get it off (that's an extra step for me since I don't use MU),
-leaves a white cast
-looks a lot like a foundation (I don't like the look on my face) that's too light for my skin
-leaves a shiny look, so I also have to powder it
-dried out my skin, so it looked flakey by the end of the day
-I got two pimples, but my skin reacts to a lot of things, although it's clear unless something irritates

Bottom line: for the money, I think I can do better for my skin type

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rionach on 6/18/2010 6:48:00 AM more reviews by Rionach

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I must have tried every sunscreen out there in my quest for my HG sunscreen, all the usual names, la roche posay, jan marini, mac prep & prime, elemis, neutrogena, roc the list could go on and on... My problem is I use Retin A and over the last few years noticed that even with sunscreen I was still getting uneven pigmentation. Finally after doing some research recently, discovered that some chemical ingredients in the sunscreens may be causing it, no hard proof on this but thought may as well try a non-chemical sunscreen and see if that works. Purchased this and was dubious as it was only SPF 30 and I've always used 50+ however went with it, because it has zinc etc yes it will leave a white cast but that's what zinc will do when no chemicals are inserted to change it's makeup, so didn't mind that, I'm fair anyway so not a problem for me, dries to matte finish, again I've combination skin with tendency to go oily later in day so that wasn't an issue, in fact a blessing as my make-up stayed put all day and didn't have to blot later in day. True test, went on sun holiday and normally I'd wear a hat all the time however after a few days noticed that despite being in hot temp. my skin tone hadn't changed at all which by now it would have with all other sunscreens that I tried, so gave it ultimate test and went out without hat one day and voila came back with perfectly white face no red/brown anywhere nothing!! And believe me it was hot, now I was walking around not laying on a sun lounger as I don't do that so can't tell you how that would be but all in all I am extremely happy with this sunscreen and recommend it to anyone who has sun sensitive skin, yes it is expensive but you don't really use a lot of it, I used it on my face, neck and chest and still plenty to go in the bottle. I use it after my serum, then moisturiser then sunscreen.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marcellewood on 5/16/2010 9:07:00 PM more reviews by marcellewood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been using Clinique City Block SPF 25 for years and love it as it only contains physical sunscreens (titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) but I do find it a bit greasy and thick especially in the hot, humid Virginia summers so I decided to try the Dermalogica lotion instead. I bought it from whatgreatskin.com for about $10 less than retail which is good as it is expensive for such a small bottle. It's a thin, runny fluid with almost no fragrance. It spreads easily and quickly and sinks in quickly BUT it does leave a slight white cast to my face. Luckily I am so fair it doesn't bother me but darker skintones might look a bit ashy. It lasts all day and doesn't make me greasy by noon as my beloved Clinique did. I don't use it as recommended on the leaflet (under moisturizer) but use it over my Dr. Hauschka Rose Cream Light instead and like using it this way. I like it and will see how long the small bottle lasts before deciding to buy it again as it is expensive for a small bottle when my Clinique is only $16! This is a great sunscreen if the price isnt an issue for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jackyc on 3/28/2010 5:40:00 AM more reviews by jackyc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Olay Complete moisturizer with SPF 15 but stopped because 1) they changed the formula of the sunscreen and 2) I wanted a higher SPF due to my higher intensity in Retin-A Micro usage.

This has a very nice milky texture. It makes my skin feel smooth (but also accentuates the dry patches -- be careful) It makes my skin more matte throughout the day as well.

The only problem I have with this is the white cast that it leaves on my skin. The first week using this, someone asked me if I was wearing foundation (I'm a dude). They also said I looked really pale and sickly. My mom has also commented on me looking pale. I don't know, maybe I was using too much on those days? But I don't mind the white cast TOO much because it does, in a way, act as makeup to hide my red acne scars.

It's a little pricy, but the best sunscreen I've used containing zinc oxide and titanium dioxide with such a high SPF.
Geez, almost all sunscreens these days are chemical-based. Sucks balls.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 wiresinhisheart on 3/14/2010 7:39:00 PM more reviews by wiresinhisheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

so far, i like this sunblock. i am not sure how well it protects against sun damage since it is barely spring in the uk at the moment, but according to various sources on the internet the PPD is 9.9 pa+++. it itches my skin when i first apply, but other than that it has not caused spots or blocked pores (so far...), unlike every other sunblock ive sed.
the product is quite watery, so a little goes a long way. i used to wear mac nc44 foundation and this sunscreen doesnt cause a white cast for me.
youre supposed to shake the bottle before use, and because there is space between the top of the lid and the bottles nozzle, product ends up all over the nozzle and can dribble down the bottle if youre not careful. its annoying and poor design, i dont think you could just throw this in a bag / travel with it in case it leaks.
my only other issue with this (mainly because i am having great trouble finding a good moisturiser for my acne-prone skin) is that it can really dry your skin out. applying this without sufficient moisturiser caused my skin to actually peel in some areas and feel very tight. this only happened once, so i think moisturising more diligently will stop that happening again.

edit 03/2011: i believe this has been contributing to my acne and giving me blackheads, so i have stopped using it :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mac222 on 11/29/2009 5:34:00 PM more reviews by mac222

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love my HG skin care line, Dermalogica, so I am predisposed to love each new product of theirs I buy. This sunscreen, however, is not for me. I tried this on several occasions but didn't feel like it was doing as good of a job as a sunscreen in this price range should. After applying it and being in the sun for awhile, my face would look red and mottled. I don't know if it was the sun still coming through and burning me, or this irritating my skin and making it look really red. Either way, not good! I'm still looking for my HG SS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Sunscreen products