Unlisted Brand • Differin Gel • Treatments

rated 4.0(162 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Femke77 on 4/16/2014 8:38:00 AM more reviews by Femke77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used this product several years ago for about 3 straight years with religious nightly use. It does cause an increase in break-outs at first, like it's supposed to, as it is "cleaning out" your pores and causing the eruptions to come to the surface quickly. In some ppl, it's 12 weeks until they see good results. I don't remember how long it was back then until I got my results but when I did my skin was perfect or near perfect. I stopped using it for a few years and now my skin, for various reasons, is really problematic again. I have started using this as of five weeks ago and I just started the phase where everything is erupting like crazy again. I read that clindamicin phos topical and differin work very well together. In fact, applying clindamicin 3-5 min after differin potentiates the effectiveness of the clindamicin. Also, clindamicin starts working immediately. So I am partnering the two for a short-term period to get through the initial break-out phase of the differin. You might ask, why just short-term? If they work so well together, then why not use them like that continuously? Because clindamycin is an antibiotic and like all antibiotics the bacteria on the skin will develop a resistance to the product and you will not be able to use that product effectively again. I will update to let you know how this works for me.
Also, I use Perricone Blue Plasma as a nightly leave-on gentle chemical peel to help slough off the dead cells quickly. My skin has NEVER been so soft.
So it's differin, wait 4 min, clindamicin top., then Blue Plasma every night. During the day I just let my skin breath with no product. Occasionally I wear cover stay make up. And I use Clairsonic with a salicylic acid cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 niftypineapple914 on 4/8/2014 1:35:00 PM more reviews by niftypineapple914

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This is what I spent literally a decade waiting for.
My skin history: severe and constant pustular acne since age 14. Extreme blackheads that would not respond to BHA, glycolic peels, the peeling effect of persagel10, the clarisonic etc etc. Very poor cell turnover rate and hence a lot of congestion, dehydration and tons of surface oil covering a sensitised surface.
Fun right? I cracked a few months ago after undergoing 4 expensive glycolic peels at the best private dermatology clinic did more harm than anything. I'd tried every AHA, BHA and antibiotic, the only option left (according to my new derm who prescribed me the differin) was a topical retinoid or accutane. She prescribed a high-dose (600mg) of Trimethoprim to clear up the acne systematically and quickly because I was scarring badly. . . and this. Glorious, powerful Differin. She handed me the prescriptions and said if these didn't work to completely clear it up, in four months I needed to come back for roaccuntane. To quote her, ''no one should ever have to walk around with a face like that''- it should tell you the state my skin was in after a ten year failed battle.
The differin makes your skin worse initially. I already felt so ugly I couldn't have cared less. It made my blemishes much more angry and so red that layers of colorstay couldn't hope to even remotely conceal them, = but I honestly didn't notice a major purge, maybe the antibiotics prevented this. Within *three weeks*, 90%+ of my acne had disappeared. It's now been 2 months, and I haven't had a single blemish. Not a single one. My skin texture is smooth, the blackheads on my nose are gone, my tzone pores are still big but never swollen and clogged. My complexion is brighter and healthy. I actually look younger. The only evidence of my ten year acne suffering is three leftover scars, two on my forehead and one on my cheek. I am currently applying Trilogy rosehip 2x a day, but am considering buying Obagi's melamix (4% hydroquinone), to speed up the healing process.
Differin has given me confidence that I genuinely haven't had since pre-puberty. I can go out of the house with no makeup. I've even gone to parties and nights out with no base or any sort of blemish concealer. I truly recomend this to anyone with congestion and/or acne. I am also grateful as I have consequently researched retinoids and their unparalleled benefits. My intention is to progress to .3% differin in a few years, then a stronger retinol to help with ageing. I even wear SPF every day now, something I would never have attempted beforehand with my volatile skin. Ergo, the differin's also led to me taking new pride in my skincare.
Life-changing.

My routine, in case it helps someone suffering.
AM: wash with mdformulations cleanser (AHA)
follow with persagel 10 to entire face
follow with Neutrogena sheer dry touch spf 45
spot treat 3 scars with Trilogy rosehip oil

PM: wash with same cleanser
apply Differin .1% to entire face
Usually follow with patting in Trilogy rosehip oil. I love how Differin has enabled me to get away with using a face oil, it feels so nourishing and I have no greaseball face the next morning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foxyloxytoo on 3/20/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by foxyloxytoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It's miracle cream!. It does make my skin a little dry, but nothing moisturizer can't fix. Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 apricotcloud on 3/17/2014 7:31:00 AM more reviews by apricotcloud

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

oh my god. JUST NO.
i got this prescribed by my doctor (i actually asked for it though) since i have/had mild clogged pores which led to mild acne and thought this might be the 'cure all' for my skin. HOW WRONG I WAS. firstly, the gel leaves your skin incredibly oily and it does not 'settle' into your skin. this oily film will leave on your skin all day. secondly, this gave me awful cystic acne which took MONTHS to heal over. i tried this product on/off quite a few times because i know there is supposedly a 'purging' stage but my skin just could not ever seem to get over that. it did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to make my skin better, in fact it made it 100 times worse!!!!! only now after using more simple products (clinique toner/occassional BP gel and oil free make up) is my skin back to normal again. i threw this away and urge anyone thinking about trying it to steer well clear!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dentalgirl3 on 3/15/2014 12:39:00 AM more reviews by Dentalgirl3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Differin gel 0.3% for years. Life saver for anyone w/adult acne. Please try this. Doesn't irritate. Very gentle, yet incredibly effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NajlaAl on 1/30/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by NajlaAl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't have insurance and this product cost $600!!!! I tried sample from my dermatologist and this stuff is like magic!! It clears you up over night!!!! Absolutely LOOOOOVE this product!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Luvky223 on 1/20/2014 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Luvky223

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was prescribed this by my doctor after I came off the pill and my chin erupted in painful cysts that seemed to multiply every day. I had tried over the counter creams and nothing worked. I have very fair skin and the acne was really noticeable and scarring and my confidence took a real hit as I previously had no issues with blemishes. I am 35 and was so surprised to be getting acne at this stage in my life. The gel is great, I agree with others that it takes a while to see results but it has really helped the scarring as well as preventing the cysts. I've been using it for about three months now and I'm very happy, I still get spots here and there but nothing like I was getting and they heal up and go away quickly. The tube is pretty long lasting, I've barely made a dent in mine so good value (approx €20) and I've started using it just three to four times a week as it can be a little drying for nightly use. Just don't get it around your eyes...I used it once too high up on my cheeks for a few spots and woke up to scaly skin under my eyes the next day...not pretty! All in all a great product when used correctly, will be repurchasing when I eventually run out of this tube

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* satin828 on 10/4/2013 7:40:00 AM more reviews by satin828

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My boyfriend, who has oily, problematic, and acne-prone skin, introduced Differin to me 6 years ago. It is absolutely the best acne product!

While it doesn't prevent acne (try proper diet, sleeping schedule, less alcohol etc.) or diminish the breakouts (try Clindoxyl), it does wonders for healing skin. I get one or two breakouts a month, but my skin usually takes months (even years) to heal fully. Differin really increases the healing process for me - it still takes two-three months. I apply it at night and wake up to better-looking skin. Honestly, it's a miracle product.

In addition to healing acne scars, it works great on blackheads. I have extremely stubborn blackheads on my nose and have tried possibly every trick in the world to remove them. Toothbrush, home remedies, exfoliators... you name it. So far Differin works the best. It can make my skin red, dry, and even flaky, so I always wear moisturizer under it. Even store brand moisturizer will help with the dryness and redness. And always wear sunscreen if you wear this product during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gina2328 on 9/27/2013 9:15:00 AM more reviews by gina2328

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been having issues with large cystic acne on my chin for quite a number of years now. I had been using Benzoyl Peroxide or Rx Benzaclin and it seemed to help but it seemed to be getting worse. My derm prescribed Differin and I guess I was resistant to it because of the side effects such as irritation, flaking, etc. I finally tried it, and it seemed to take effect overnight, with no purging at all.

My cystic acne cleared up almost immediately! I couldn't get over it. I only use a small amount and I only apply it about twice a week. I am older so my acne was not horrible, but I was still getting several hard, painful, large bumps on my chin a week and now I no longer get those. So glad I started using Differin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allicat1998 on 8/15/2013 2:53:00 AM more reviews by allicat1998

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I began using Differin to help clear up the worst breakout I have had in my life. Last year I used a TON of different skincare and makeup products without patch testing over several months, and I really messed up skin on a deep level (disrupted my acid mantle I guess). My clear, normal skin turned into parched, red, flaky mess with cystic acne. I also developed whiteheads (milia) everywhere except my forehead. Trying to clear my acne with AHA, BHA, oil cleansing, chemical peels, etc. only made matters worse. I finally simplified my routine to one basic cleanser, moisturizer, and benzoyl peroxide for spots, and I stuck with it so my poor face could return to (mostly) normal as far as hydration/pH is concerned. My cysts calmed down a lot, but my face still looked rough with all the milia and blackheads.

I chose Differin since it was supposed to be the most gentle of the retinoids, even though all the reviews warned that it would take a lot longer to clear acne than RetinA, etc. After using Differin for about 8 months now, I can say that this is entirely true. I started slowly, using a small amount every other night for a few weeks, and I gradually used it every night without any irritation. I also found that I could tolerate more than a pea sized amount for my whole face. Initially I did have some heavier purging in my problem areas--milia coming to the surface made big pimples 2-3X weekly. This lasted a couple of months. Also the blackheads that I resisted squeezing out eventually came out on their own over time.

Now even after several months, my problem areas (along the chin/jawline) still have such deep milia that I am still purging. I get one new pimple every week from these coming to the surface. Since I am very fair and scar easily, I've had an obvious red spot somewhere on my face at all times at different stages of healing. I would have been ok with purging for 2-3 months and looking terrible, but at least all my spots would have healed at the same time. Now this whole process has been drawn out much longer than I would have liked, and it's going to take even longer for these acne spots to go away.

Another point to make is that I began using an AHA toner a couple of months ago before applying Differin at night to A) help clear up my spots faster and B) increase the effectiveness of the Differin. This seemed to help a LOT. I noticed that my milia/blackheads were clearing much faster when I added this.

I am now done with my tube, and I decided to upgrade to RetinA Micro. I can already tell a huge difference in my skin already. I've had a few deep blackheads on my cheeks that have been there forever that are juuuuust below the surface of my skin. With one week's use of RetinA, they are already coming out. Those suckers have been there 8 months!

So would I buy Differin again? No. Now that my skin is used to retinoids, I feel like I need something stronger to achieve the results I want. I don't regret using it at all since it was the best choice when my skin was super sensitive, but I probably could have switched to RetinA a few months ago and been just fine. I do, however, recommend it to anyone whose skin is super sensitive or for someone who is trying a retinoid for the first time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products