Maybelline • Expertwear- Sparkling Wine • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sunnygrl on 8/9/2013 9:27:00 PM more reviews by sunnygrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

has this eye shadow been discontinued? I can't find it anywhere & that makes me sad because it looks like a pretty shade :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pigmentpro on 8/9/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by pigmentpro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This color is really gorgeous being that it has deep pink, plumish purple and gold sparkles and undertones to it. There are so many looks you can use this shadow with as it goes with so many colors or you can wear this shadow all by its lonesome and it looks pretty. For $3.50, Maybelline gives you a lot of product for your buck. Some people are commenting about fallout but I am a firm believer that fallout comes from how much you are applying to your brushes. Color examples that you can incorporate this shadow with is pinks, purples, greys and coppers. Not a bad deal at all :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 9/25/2012 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A definite subsitute for Trax by MAC not exact but similar enough. A very pretty neutral purple plum with copper sparkles. Can be paired with black and a creamy pearly white to make a neat purpley-neutral smokey eye. I got this for a dollar. Well worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Alleecat on 1/28/2011 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Alleecat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I think it is funny how people are comparing this color to some other brands. I have not tried the Mac or L'oreal, but I know I must now!
I LOVE this color! I have been looking for something like this for some time. But... it really is true that despite being a dark color, it goes on strangely sheer, and does not stay put! That was so disappointing!
I went to Ulta with it, hoping to find something similar, and was pointed in the direction of Urban Decay shadow in "Roach". Roach has so much more color. I actually have to apply it with a light touch to not overdo it. It is also a beautifully similar color, but the shimmer in the Sparkling Wine made me wish that it would wear like the Roach.
So what I do is apply Roach first, and just use the shadow applicator in the Sparkling Wine to dust a small amount on top of Roach.
The combo is perfect for what I was hoping for.
But now I will check out those other comparisons to see if I will find one that has both qualities that I liked from these two brands combined.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugamonkey on 11/9/2010 1:34:00 PM more reviews by sugamonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Tried this because it's a dupe for MAC Trax. The color is beautiful, but the payoff and pigmentation is pretty good if you use a dense crease brush. Lots of fallout though. I like this color better than Trax because it's slightly less purple/gold and looks smokier. I am Asian w/yellow undertones med skin (NC25/C4).
Also got Maybelline e/s in Seashell as a dupe for Mac Seedy Pearl. Seashell is more pink-which I like cuz it shows up more on my skintone- and Seedy Pearl more lavendar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kad9k on 7/22/2010 12:04:00 AM more reviews by kad9k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I gave Trax to my little sis because I didn't wear it much (and it looks gorgeous on her) but I was kind of lemming it again, so I bought this instead. It is beautiful, and perfect for when I want to do a plum look every once in a while. So happy to find this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kraftykaitie on 5/30/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by kraftykaitie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This eyeshadow is amazing! It is such a unique and beautiful color! It's easy to wear for everyday, neutral looks, and it's buildable for more dramatic looks. It has gorgeous shimmer, but it doesn't get all over you. The texture and pigmentation are good, and it's very blendable. It's also quite inexpensive. I tried it out and immediately went back and got one for my little sister. I highly recommend it and will definitely repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 desi101 on 12/5/2009 3:23:00 PM more reviews by desi101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ivylim on 11/19/2009 11:29:00 AM more reviews by Ivylim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite eyeshadows. I like this even more than my HE e/s from lancome and estee lauder. The quality is just outstanding- go on sheer but def build-able and easy to blend. I get compliments on this color all the time. This is a warm burgundy purple with tiny red sparkles. Makes my brown eyes pop. Must have for brown eye girls. Will repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkistephens on 10/6/2009 3:14:00 PM more reviews by nikkistephens

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I once had an amazing color pallete with a color similar to Sparkling Wine, and for the life of me, I could never find it again. Thankfully, Maybelline came out with this gem and now I can do the burgundy smoky thing I used to!

I've worn it to shows and received compliments. It's perfect for an edgy-smoky eye! I put on MAC Painterly as a base and it stays for the night! It's cheap and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products