Maybelline Expertwear- Sparkling Wine

4.3

19 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 6/24/2015 7:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very interesting shade...it's a deep reddish berry/plum shade with a hint of purple and lots of micro gold shimmer/glitter. The base almost looks matte but the micro-sparkle makes it almost look like a shimmery formula.

It's not the most opaque formula but is easily buildable. Looks great with green eyes.

"Sparkling Wine" is an exact dupe for MAC's "Trax" and Lancome's "Metallic" eyeshadows.
You can see swatches of both shadows in my makeup community, here: http://makeupreviewed.livejournal.com/110097.html

This is a shadow I haven't reached for often as I'm not usually into red-tones...but it's an interesting shade and one I feel that I should dig out of my collection and start playing around with more often.
-curious to try it over a red-toned base like the Color Tattoo "Pomegranate Punk" shadow.



on 8/9/2013 9:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

has this eye shadow been discontinued? I can't find it anywhere & that makes me sad because it looks like a pretty shade :/


on 8/9/2013 3:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This color is really gorgeous being that it has deep pink, plumish purple and gold sparkles and undertones to it. There are so many looks you can use this shadow with as it goes with so many colors or you can wear this shadow all by its lonesome and it looks pretty. For $3.50, Maybelline gives you a lot of product for your buck. Some people are commenting about fallout but I am a firm believer that fallout comes from how much you are applying to your brushes. Color examples that you can incorporate this shadow with is pinks, purples, greys and coppers. Not a bad deal at all :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2012 10:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

A definite subsitute for Trax by MAC not exact but similar enough. A very pretty neutral purple plum with copper sparkles. Can be paired with black and a creamy pearly white to make a neat purpley-neutral smokey eye. I got this for a dollar. Well worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2011 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I think it is funny how people are comparing this color to some other brands. I have not tried the Mac or L'oreal, but I know I must now!
I LOVE this color! I have been looking for something like this for some time. But... it really is true that despite being a dark color, it goes on strangely sheer, and does not stay put! That was so disappointing!
I went to Ulta with it, hoping to find something similar, and was pointed in the direction of Urban Decay shadow in "Roach". Roach has so much more color. I actually have to apply it with a light touch to not overdo it. It is also a beautifully similar color, but the shimmer in the Sparkling Wine made me wish that it would wear like the Roach.
So what I do is apply Roach first, and just use the shadow applicator in the Sparkling Wine to dust a small amount on top of Roach.
The combo is perfect for what I was hoping for.
But now I will check out those other comparisons to see if I will find one that has both qualities that I liked from these two brands combined.


on 11/9/2010 1:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Tried this because it's a dupe for MAC Trax. The color is beautiful, but the payoff and pigmentation is pretty good if you use a dense crease brush. Lots of fallout though. I like this color better than Trax because it's slightly less purple/gold and looks smokier. I am Asian w/yellow undertones med skin (NC25/C4).
Also got Maybelline e/s in Seashell as a dupe for Mac Seedy Pearl. Seashell is more pink-which I like cuz it shows up more on my skintone- and Seedy Pearl more lavendar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2010 12:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Other

I gave Trax to my little sis because I didn't wear it much (and it looks gorgeous on her) but I was kind of lemming it again, so I bought this instead. It is beautiful, and perfect for when I want to do a plum look every once in a while. So happy to find this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2010 1:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This eyeshadow is amazing! It is such a unique and beautiful color! It's easy to wear for everyday, neutral looks, and it's buildable for more dramatic looks. It has gorgeous shimmer, but it doesn't get all over you. The texture and pigmentation are good, and it's very blendable. It's also quite inexpensive. I tried it out and immediately went back and got one for my little sister. I highly recommend it and will definitely repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2009 3:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love it!


on 11/19/2009 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite eyeshadows. I like this even more than my HE e/s from lancome and estee lauder. The quality is just outstanding- go on sheer but def build-able and easy to blend. I get compliments on this color all the time. This is a warm burgundy purple with tiny red sparkles. Makes my brown eyes pop. Must have for brown eye girls. Will repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top