Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

3.7

1095 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Aqua (Water), Corn Starch Modified, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Mica, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Parfum (Fragrance), Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491(Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 2/27/2015 3:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product is amazing!! Extreme coverage- a little goes a very long way. Price is a downside, but totally worth it.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I used to love this foundation but now, in winter, it is drying my skin out and making me look like a reptile. My face is a mess. I'm literally going to go to the bathroom here at work, take all of this off and replace it with Too Faced Cocoa Powder foundation that I keep in my drawer. Second time it's happened, that's two times too many.

And the thing is, I don't have dry skin. I'm terribly oily, but this foundation has had a very visibly detrimental effect on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 4:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like the way this foundation applies. I use my beauty blender to dab it all over my face and the coverage is medium-full (I use the MUFE full coverage concealer for my worst hyperpigmentation spots), and looks quite natural while still blurring imperfections. Unfortunately, however, this formula doesn't stay matte on my face for very long. My nose gets shiny after just a few hours even with setting powder. It also transfers very easily; I always notice streaks after I scratch an itch or just gently touch it to move hair out my face. It's quite pricey as well, especially considering how much product I use each day to cover my entire face. A pro, though, is that it hasn't broken out my extremely acne-prone skin at all and thus I will finish the bottle (shouldn't take me long) before trying something new. Bottom line is that if you are oily-skinned and need your foundation to last all day, I wouldn't count on this to do the job.


on 2/10/2015 9:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a really good foundation if you're looking for something to make your skin appear flawless, cover everything and stay on. However I find it too heavy to wear regularly and for the matte finish it gives, I don't find it controls oil very well. There are definitely pros & cons to it.

Pros
1. Full coverage
2. Very long lasting
3. Looks amazing in photos
4. Packaging is perfect

Cons
1. Feels heavy
2. Not great for oil control
3. Expensive


I like it for special occasions, but I don't think it's worth the price.


on 2/9/2015 10:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great foundation for oily skin and I suffer from oily dehydrated skin and this doesn't emphasize dry patches, lasts a good time on the skin and doesn't get patchy at all.


on 2/8/2015 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a bit expensive I know that but I always love the look of it. I don't think I'm gonna go for another foundation since like one year ago when I first met this foundation. When I want to give it a bit glowier look, and a "not that heavy and matte" finish, I mix it with the Mac face and body foundation and the mix of these two works seriously wonders for me!


on 2/5/2015 12:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have an interesting relationship with Mat Velvet +. I have acne-prone, oily skin with dry spots due to acne medication. When I was in high school, I cleared up my acne almost 100% and would only get a pimple or so around my period but that was it.
I used this for almost a year back then and it would keep my face matte and make my complexion much more even and brighter. I never had problems with it breaking me out.

I went through a bunch of other foundations as this one highlighted my dry flakes way too much! I then came back to this, I'm now in college, because I was looking for a foundation that would NOT break me out. Knowing that I previously had an okay experience with this and no breakouts, I tried it out again.

This time, my skin is much more moisturized and I barely have any dry flakes so the finish was really nice and it performed well. It's not as long-lasting as Estee Lauder Double Wear or Almay TLC but it's good enough for me as long as it won't break me out.

I guess my skin has become more sensitive now because this broke me out in CYSTIC ACNE. Oh my god, I've worked so hard to get my skin clear again, only for this to break me out even more... I don't know what happened but my skin just doesn't agree with this anymore so I won't be repurchasing. It's a good foundation though and I can see why people like it but I can't continue using it because it's breaking out my skin.

For reference I am in the shade #40 in this + I'm in the shade Tawny for Estee Lauder Double Wear, Sand in Almay TLC, #203 in Mat Duo, #8 in Clinique Stay Matte.
This foundation definitely feels thick for me but I like that it covers up my light pigmentation marks and makes my skin look even. It looks really great on photos. Be weary if you have dry flakes because it will accentuate it! I mix this with my moisturizer as that makes it go on a lot easier and a lot more seamless.

It's really too bad because I used to love this foundation... give it a try if you're not as acne-prone as I am!


on 2/2/2015 11:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This foundation is a HG for me now! Since I have super oily skin, this foundation keeps my face almost SUPER matte even after 5+ hours of wear. It does dry to a powder finish quite quickly so you have to blend quickly as well. It's a medium matte coverage foundation if you apply it with a brush but if you apply it with a beauty blender the finish is a little bit more dewy (it won't make you look like a disco ball but it does oxidize a little more) but the coverage stays almost the same it's just a little more thinner. The price is a little expensive retailing about $36 but it is so worth it! The packaging is definitely not "high end" but it is actually very simple and it lets you get out every single drop of the product from the squeeze bottle. A lot of people are comparing this to Loreals Mafic Nude or Revlon Colorstay and this foundation is a 100x better. Revlon and loreal tend to oxidize pretty badly and turn to a different shade which is really annoying but this foundation doesn't go to that extreme. When this oxidizes it's not horrible at all, like I could go without blotting and be alright but I just prefer to look as matte as possible. I tend to get 1 shade lighter than the shade that matches my neck because after applying bronzer and stuff it matches my neck and it's also a "precaution" from letting it oxidize to a different color. This foundation also didn't break me out AT ALL which is amazing because I usually do but this is non comodegenic. Overall I absolutely love this foundation!


on 1/22/2015 8:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I read race reviews and thought I would try it out. My history is I am half Mexican half Caucasian with Grady acne (blackhead) prone skin. Battling this since I was 15 and will occasionally (every other week) get a large zit that never comes to a head. Anyways I have used Jane iredale amazing base for 8 years and thought I would try a liquid. This says non comedogenic. I won't buy anything that doesn't say that on the packaging. This has broke me out unbelievably. I know it's this because it's the only change in my makeup routine. I am getting cystic acne all over my forehead(typical place for me) but am also getting whiteheads on my cheeks and chin and I NEVER break out in these places. I will be returning this to sephora for in store credit (I threw away the receipt ) I also have a dermatologist appointment in two weeks only bactrim can help me now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Update* okay I think this is my favorite foundation now....because when I use my fingers it gives me way better coverage, and it just looks nicer on the skin. But it doesn't hide my scarring or not enough :(( but whatever its no big deal cause this looks so pretty on the skin anyways and is such a good match for my skin tone it scares me, the shades seem to have blends of yellow and pink and even olive or green and it makes it look so much more realistic.
I wear shade 53 btw and am...or well used to be nc42 but I have no idea what I am now cause living up north is changes my skin tone.

Okay first of all, this isn't super full coverage. Maybe it is for people who have only a bit of scarring or pimples but for people who have dark under eye circles hyper pigmentation and stuff your going to need at least three layers of this stuff to cover it. (But maybe thats what people mean by a foundation being full coverage) And even then that might not be enough but hey, that's what concealers for right.
What I love about this foundation though is that it has a bit of a powdery finish and that it stays flawless for a long time. For the first time I can just apply my foundation and not worry about if my scars are noticeable after a few hours which is a huge plus, even with Revlon color stay I would be able to see imperfections after five or so hours. Plus I go through color stay fast....I dont know what it is but I feel like I end up using more of the colprstay than foundations that are light or medium coverage and the bottles done in like three months. Weird.

OH YEAH I FORGOT this foundation makes it look like your not wearing fohdnation! (As long as u keep it under one or two layers) but that's crazy because when I first applied it I was like "what the heck where did the foundation go?" When I was blending this in a small spot on my cheek (that didn't have any weird skin problems as well so it was like normal) that can be frustrating to some but really good for others. It was frustrating for me because I kinda like seeing the foundation just a bit..it makes me feel like I'm getting coverage


2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top