NYX • Jumbo Lip Pencil - Hot Red • Lipstick

rated 4.3(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 CaptainxCasper on 11/4/2012 1:56:00 AM more reviews by CaptainxCasper

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE this lip pencil! I have very fair skin, and I've always loved the way red lips looked but I never thought I could really pull it off. I have small-ish lips, so I thought I always looked like a clown because I could never stay inside my lips with actual lipsticks, but problem solved! This lip pencil doesn't dry your lips out at all, and it almost feels like you only have lip balm on your lips, which is one of the reasons I love it so much. I find lipsticks to feel heavy. The lasting power isn't that great, after about 3-4 hours it ends up looking like I only have lip liner on, but I just reapply it. It's so easy to apply, I just pull it out of my bag and in 3 seconds I'm done! For the price, it's such an amazing lip pencil, I recommended it to all of my friends!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sarahmascara on 10/8/2012 7:20:00 PM more reviews by sarahmascara

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First of all, this TOTALLY would be my HG lipstick because the color saturation, the application, and the price are all hugely in its favor. The biggest drawback that is driving me to rate this so badly is that once the product is on my lips, it stays great if I don't go anywhere near my lips while its on. If, however, I take a drink out of a cup, or dab my lips with a napkin, or accidentally brush the vicinity of my face with at some point during the day, the lipstick smears EVERYWHERE. We're not talking about a little smudge, we are talking about a streak of bright red up my cheek or down my chin. Attempts to clean up are stymied by the fact that the color saturation is so strong that it will stain your skin, so even if you get the smearing under control, you will have a discernible red "haze" around your lips and anywhere else the lipstick might have gone to (hands and fingers being especially prone to transfer). So, if you can avoid putting anything near your face while you're wearing this lipstick, you won't be disappointed. It is a gorgeous color, comparable to NARS "Cruella", which is why I bought it in the first place because I was hopping to find a drug store dupe that wouldn't cost me $$. However, after wearing this for a week, I decided to just invest in the NARS because it stays much better and has much less of a transfer and smearing issue. I will keep the NYX jumbo pencil and use it sparingly until it is gone, but I doubt I'll buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nlt87 on 9/28/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by nlt87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this lip pencil its so pigmented and such a pretty color. I like to use this and then apply nyx lipstick in snow white which is a true red over it and it literally lasts all day. I apply it at 8am and at 5 its still there. This lip pencil is also very moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 90sbaby4eva23 on 9/15/2012 3:31:00 PM more reviews by 90sbaby4eva23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Although Mac ruby woo is pigmented natural muddy lip color still peaks through. I searched for cheap red lip liners to use as a base & fill in my lips underneath it. One day at my local beauty supply store I got one for $1.99. Still canít believe how much this compliments ruby woo & DOESNíT CHANGE ITS COLOR, red hot is the exact same shade/tone but w/ an ever so SLIGHT HINT of pink. Also a neutral toned red love it so much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mararum on 4/3/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by mararum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I liked that the color is not a typical red. It applies without streaking and is fairly moisturizing. I had problems with the staying power. Overall, it's a good product, but I don't see myself buying it again because I like my other red lipsticks better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vaporeon on 1/29/2012 4:00:00 AM more reviews by Vaporeon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product from the cherryculture website feeling a little skeptical, partly because I live in Australia and the shipping cost is magnanamous, and also the fact that I've never tried it before. I received this in the mail a little over a week ago on special ($3.00 AUD?) and I have to say I LOVE IT. I expected it to go on as a somewhat dryish, lip-stick type of texture but I was absolutely wrong. It glides on my lips and seems to feel more like a lip balm, yet the colour (I got hot red) is vibrant and very pigmented, even without a base. Brownie points to NYX for not testing on animals. Definitely recommend this product to everyone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 5/5/2011 5:09:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Love this color. It's SUPER bright pink. Works awesome as a base for their hot pink shadow. I wouldn't recommend using this on its own. Definitely works best as a base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ToriaH on 1/14/2011 6:14:00 PM more reviews by ToriaH

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up today at Jean-Coutu, and WOW! What a bright, warm red! This is exactly the kind of colour I've been looking for. It doesn't seem to show the lines in my lips as much as my Rimmel lipstick does, and it doesn't appear to be drying. However, it tends to come off fairly easily. Also, it cost me $4.99 CDN, which isn't bad, but I've heard people say that they've found it for under $3.99.
There's no smell, which I like, but I'm wondering how I'm going to sharpen this thing, since the product is so soft. Either way, I'd call this a good buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tandee on 7/10/2010 8:27:00 PM more reviews by tandee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love the color, still getting used to the "pencil" aspect. Very hard to sharpen, and I tend to apply with a lip brush because the pencil is jumbo and obviously not very precise. I've noticed it tends to fade fast but very moisturizing so I don't mind reapplying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sydneythekidd on 5/5/2010 9:58:00 PM more reviews by sydneythekidd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The color is gorgeous: the absolute perfect you-knew-what-you-were-doing-when-you-put-that-on red. The top(the lid or cap or whatever you may call it) breaks on the pencil when you try closing it too hard and makes an absolute mess of the super soft pencil AND makes it impossible to store. The product requires sharpening but because of its ridiculously soft texture cannot be sharpened easily and not without making a disaster area of your sharperner. The staying power is not great, but not bad, and all in all this pencil is really good and you really should give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products