Paul & Joe • Protective Foundation Primer UV • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.4(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 3/14/2013 1:46:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly this did not work for me, mainly because of the color. It's very cool/peachy and I'm very warm/yellow so we do not go together. The lightest shade is light enough for me (NC15), just the wrong tone. It makes me look like I have a pink mask on. It's also got a strong fragrance. The nice thing is that it did not cause me to breakout, which is unusual for me. I got this from Beautyhabit, one of the only places you can buy this in the US, for $30 usd. Unfortunately you cannot return it if it doesn't work for you. Keep that in mind when you buy from them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherriesandpie on 8/25/2012 6:19:00 AM more reviews by cherriesandpie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this :D! I was having trouble with my mu not lasting for even four hours, with setting powder. I used this, because I needed some SPF (hadn't used it in a while so forgot really how good it was!). And it amazed me! It has a horrid sticky texture when you first apply it, but that goes away in a couple of minutes. But it kept mu mu on from 5pm till 1:00am! Amazing stuff! Also provides a nice glow, which can seem a little oily but can be fixed by a setting powder :). It also has no ingredients which break the skin out or irritants in it :). It's also easy to use in terms of packaging, squeeze bottle is easy and efficient :). And it has a very cute packaging. You also don't need to use much at all. Holds my mu on far better than MAC primer everyone raves about here :) - that did a little to smooth but didn't provide the luminosity and fabulous lasting power this did. GREAT product :).

It's also water based so make sure to check that you are using compatible water based foundation and concealer :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blister on 7/30/2011 1:25:00 AM more reviews by blister

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Update: Stopped using this since I'm still gearing towards easier to blend and smoother finish primers. This tends to clog pores and feels quite heavy on the skin. Although this may be perfect for summer days because of the SPF but at the same time this would also make you feel like you have something heavy on your skin, and I really hate that feeling during hot season.

I sometimes use this alone as my sunscreen specially during out-of-town trips. I just use a synthetic brush or the beauty blender to apply it on my skin.

Old:This is my HG primer! Tried all the best rated primers and this is the only primer that held my oilies for hours. Most of the expensive primers such as Smashbox photo finish light and bare escentuals only held my very oily t-zone for an hour. I got compliments for how flawless my foundation was and I know this was the culprit :p The only setback was, the price was a bit steep. That's why most of the time, I'm really careful on how much i was putting on my face because I might ran out and be forced to buy again. That's why I also wish this would be much easier to blend because the sticky formula makes it a lot hard for me to lessen the consumption.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ariella1726 on 6/27/2011 7:07:00 AM more reviews by ariella1726

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

a product that works ! I was really surprised because the past two primers i've tried have been no good, but Paul and Joe's protective foundation primer is outstanding. Makeup application was very smooth, and the foundation itself is slightly tinted so it already gave very slight coverage to hide some of the redness on my skin. And of course the most important factor is that it kept my makeup fresh for the whole day. I applied it at 10am, and I got home at 12am and was very surprised to find that my makeup still looked flawless (definitely a first for me.. usually by 5pm the blotchy red patches of my natural skin are showing ew.. )
Photos from that night also came up on facebook and once again to my surprise, my face did NOT have a white cast, which i was scared of because of the high spf. And it was also photo evidence that my makeup stayed all day long because my skin looked great :D
Usually I dont like primers with scents, but the scent for this one is light and goes away quickly after application.
Also ! it didnt oxidise or change the colour of my foundation so thats another bonus !

A little expensive but definitely will repurchase :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinklipstick23 on 11/10/2010 5:54:00 AM more reviews by pinklipstick23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing product! I really like the texture, and the fact that it makes your skin glow! It really makes my foundation stay on the whole day. I even used it on a holiday to Indonesia for a month in the very hot weather and my foundation had no trouble to look good all day. The sun protection is great, no need to use an extra sunscreen. Only thing I don't like about it is the smell, but that will disappear a few minutes after applying. I found out it works best for me if i put it on, wait a few minutes, then put on my foundation. Packaging is good, little expensive but worth it! Will definitely buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lak195 on 10/27/2010 12:11:00 AM more reviews by lak195

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this when I ran out of my Clinique City Block and wanted to try something different. I was after a primer with SPF (i'm from Australia, so this is a must), and this was one of the few that I've found. I bought it in colour 01 (I have really fair skin), and the colour is fine. It's about the same colour as City Block, doesn't add any colour to my face at all, which is good. The texture is slightly thicker/stickier than City Block, but I don't mind it. It doesn't leave my face leaving greasy or anything. I will keep using this, and maybe repurchase. For reference, I bought this on beautybay.com and ended up costing me about $31AUD with shipping, which is about the same price as City Block so I think that's okay. beautybay ship to most countries as far as I know.
The smell is quite nice :) a few reviews I've read say that it's really floral. I wouldn't describe it as floral, not sure what though...i'm used to unfragranced Clinique products, but did not mind a little scent at all.
Recommended :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Macgirl10 on 8/20/2010 10:29:00 AM more reviews by Macgirl10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this primer. I have been through SEVERAL primers and will stop my quest for an HG primer because I have found it in Paul & Joe's Protective Foundation Primer. It's so good, I am considering buying the foundation to go along with it.
First of all, let me tell you about the texture. It's hard to describe (and this is going to sound weird) but it almost provides a glue-like tackiness when you first apply it. You just know your foundation is going to 'stick'! It has a slight tint to it, but that only serves to even out your skin tone. I almost forgot to put foundation on afterwards.
The only gripe I have is, I can't buy it in Canada - I bought it online at asos.com. The other gripe is it's a little expensive for the amount you get. That won't stop me from buying it again though. I've only just started using this bottle and am already placing an order for a second, just to make sure there is no down time in between.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maashi on 4/29/2010 5:58:00 PM more reviews by maashi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had a few samples of this in colour 02 - looked a bit light for me (NC35) but the colour was minimal it seems. Did help with foundation application, and stopped me from oxidising which is my biggest problem with foundations. Wear didn't seem to have increased, but I never seem to get that benefit from primers anyway. Overall a good product, bit expensive, but does a decent job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misscurlylocks on 10/1/2009 1:42:00 PM more reviews by misscurlylocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a prime primer...I am not a big fan of primers but I heard some rave reviews about this and thoughtmaybe I'll try a primer agian. SoI did and I'm glad.
At 19.00 it is very expensive I would pay half that price or less normally so I was expecting this product to work wonders and do its job well. I was NOT disapointed this product is fabulous.

Firstly it is like a light moisturiser that is peachy-pink in colour that helps provide a glow as well as a base for make-up.
I dab this all over the skin to ensure makeup stays on all day as I place my foundation all over my face I want to ensure it all stays on evenly. I place my foundation on about two minutes after so the base sinks in and then I place it on top everywhere. I notice that the foundation is lighter because it mixes with this glowing base and this provides a fresh, youthful look that isnt dewy or greasy but stays put.
I have noticed my make-up stays on for a few hours rather thatn a couple of hours like it would without primer.
This primer is non-drying and that is a bonus and I am totlally sold on this primer I just wish I could afford it permaneantly.
The packaging is cute and old fashioned vintage style in a cream tube with just under 30ml in contents which is not much for 19.00 but still it is worth it espacially compared to allt eh other pointless primers out there this one does its job well and doesnt give me spots or dryness or irritation.
The bonus is 40 spf so its great for the summer.
As it is pricey I will probably buy a tube or two a year and use it on special occasions. But I would rcomend this espcially if you wnt a primer for hat special occasion like a wedding day when you want make-up to stay put and look fresh this is the product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doe_eyed_kitty on 9/23/2009 8:55:00 PM more reviews by doe_eyed_kitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

5 lippies :) i use this on a daily basis under bb cream or liquid foundation and it acts both as a primer and sunscreen. I have the new one that is spf 40 in a squeeze tube. This dosent leave a white cast or look chalky like some sunscreen products do. It gives me a glowly look even when i use it alone with loose powder on top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul & Joe products

More Primer/ Corrector products