MAC • Technakohl in Greyprint • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 2/14/2013 11:22:00 AM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I've circled back to using pencil eyeliner, but I love this product. Seeking something longer lasting and better for tightlining than the pencil liners I had been using, I started experimenting more than five years ago with gel and cake liners. But the gel liners always dried out too fast, and the cake liners inevitably smudged, though not badly.

I bought this liner on a whim at the Cosmetics Company Outlet (it had some sort of special edition packaging). I cannot believe how much I love it. It's soft enough to tightline my upper lashes and to smudge along my lower lashes. But then it sets to a budge-proof finish and lasts all day. And it's so much quicker than applying liner with a brush--and more travel friendly too.

The color is perfect for me too. I have very fair cool-toned skin and want my makeup to look very natural, so, this gray color is great for adding a bit of definition without being too obvious. I love liner so much that I plan to buy it in Earthline too for when I wear taupe/cool brown shadows.

Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, hydrogenated olive oil stearyl esters, polyethylene polybutene, silica silylate, candelilla wax, octyldodecanol, microcrystalline wax, theobroma grandiflorum seed butter, sodium hyaluronate, zinc gluconate, magnesium aspartate, tocopheryl nicotinate, sodium ascorbyl phosphate, water, copper gluconate, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, aluminum powder, bismuth oxychloride, black 2, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens, ferric ferrocyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 2/13/2013 8:45:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

For a while I was really mad at myself for buying this liner -- the twist-up style is impossible to keep "sharp" after a few uses, so it becomes difficult to do any kind of precise look. Plus, the shimmer in the colour made it look more like a highlight shade on my upper lashline than a liner. Not a great look for me.

However, I recently started experimenting with lighter, smudgier liner on my lower lashline and this liner works perfectly! Especially since it's very long-lasting; it doesn't migrate downward through the day and venture into dark-circle territory. That said, said I wouldn't buy again, because I think it's overpriced for what it is, and would rather have a simple pencil and control the sharpness myself. But at least it wasn't a wasted purchase and has a place in my routine, now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vmalenfant on 2/7/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by vmalenfant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nice light Grey, I like to use this with my Guerlain L'instant fume (a nice taupe eyeshadow). I just love it! But after the first used the tip of the pencil got stuck in the cap of the pencil :(. What's that about??? So the packaging is a big no no for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Breve on 5/7/2010 1:19:00 PM more reviews by Breve

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great eyeliner. It is a medium navy blue, with some grey, on me. On me it is more of an indigo than a grey. I don't like blue eyeliner but I think this one has enough greyish tone to it to look nice. I love to wear it smudged a bit over a darker brown liner. It gives a sheen/slight pop of color that brings out the navy rims around my irises. It looks fabulous on green eyes; I have a friend with green eyes as well and whenever I see her wearing this I think her eyes really pop. It looks best by itself on the lower lid- don't really like layering it on the bottom, it just looks weird there. I'm giving it 4 stars because it's not completely versatile- I mostly wear neutrals and brown shadows and this only looks good with lighter eyeshadows like pinks.

I love the technakohls too; they really glide smoothly, don't smudge and are easy to apply a clean line with. The powerpoints and kohls by MAC I find, are very easy to get messy and I often have to start over when I use them because I get they eyeliner all over the place. But the technakohls are easy to control. There a few things I don't like about the technakohls though: They/dry pretty fast so you have to use makeup remover to remove if you get any on your fingers or face. The tip breaks off easily so you have to roll up just a little bit of the eyeliner at a time. Also NEVER STICK THE CAP ON THE BOTTOM! I've done this accidently with 3 different technakohls and the lid got stuck. Luckily I was able to get it off after several attempts with two of them. But I'm careful not to stick the cap on the bottom end anymore!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Connie11 on 3/21/2010 7:24:00 PM more reviews by Connie11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Greyprint is a medium grey. I use my Powerpoint in Grey Utility a LOT more than Greyprint because it's darker and richer. However, if I'm wearing really light/pastel e/s, I use this color and it's perfect! This is a great color for green eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 girlwhosoldtheworld on 1/16/2010 11:24:00 PM more reviews by girlwhosoldtheworld

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a good grey eyeliner. One of the better ones I've tried. Easy to use, nice glide. The color is a bit light but looks better when used on top of black-rimmed eyes- it adds depth to the smokey eye and is just really pretty.

Good buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juicygirl15 on 10/27/2009 1:14:00 PM more reviews by juicygirl15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently decided I had to have a gray eyeliner, so I stopped by MAC, and bought this one. Over-all, it's a pretty good eyeliner, but I feel that I could live without it. It's about the same price as the rest of MAC's eyeliners, and the color is nice, but no matter how much I put on my waterline, it just doesn't show up. I don't use it very much, but when I do, I use it for my top lid and apply black liquid eyeliner on top of it, because it gives a nice sparkly affect to it. I probably won't buy this again, but over-all it wasn't the worst make-up purchase I've ever made.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessijay on 1/14/2009 7:50:00 AM more reviews by jessijay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Finally, a color for the palefaces! I am loving this liner for my PPP skin w/green eyes!!! Greyprint is a cool, gunmetal grey with just a HINT of sheen. Texture is very soft, & easy to apply. Because shadows blend easily into/over it, I find it a very versatile shade. Longwear without smudging. I am definitely going to look at other Technakohls now!

As other reviewers mentioned, the kohl is very soft. If you are looking for a very sharp and precise, line, this is not the liner to choose. IMHO, if this automatic liner had a tiny sharpener in the other end (like Colorstay), it would be even better. Have been using this almost daily for several months.5 lippies from me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Helen031 on 1/10/2009 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Helen031

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is perfect for the bottom lash line for me. Usually, I wear this when I'm doing a smokey eye. I use black on the top lash line and this on the bottom as black all over would be too harsh. The color is a beautiful pure grey which is just the right shade for the bottom lash line. It's not too dark and not too light. The texture is the same as the other technakohls as well as the good staying power. Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oddinary on 8/29/2008 9:44:00 AM more reviews by oddinary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My new HG liner. Greyprint is a pure grey with subtle shimmers that disappear upon application (but doesn't make a great difference whether its there or not). The formula is very smooth and I believe needs a few seconds to 'set' after you apply it. I haven't tried this thoroughly yet but this is my first technakohl. I've used plenty of kohls and powerpoints, but I find technakohls the softest. Downside to this is that the colour comes out quite sheer; I have to layer it many times to get the colour I want, but I don't mind this because I love the effect on me (this is using it on the upper lashline only)!


If you're looking for a softer alternative to black, charcoal is the next shade up - MAC makes a couple (Phone Number, Industry) - but if you're looking for something *even* softer your best bet is Greypoint or Grey Utility. Out of these, Greypoint is the lightest. I can't wait to try this more, because I'll be definitely wearing it everyday!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products