Jane • Shimmering blush • Blush

rated 4.1(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thecharm on 12/16/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by thecharm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have seven Shimmering Blushes. "But thecharm," you might say. "There are only 4 shades: Roses, Peony, Natural, and Wisteria." Yes. And no.
I have some that are years old and others that were recently purchased--and they are not the same at all! Check my profile for comparison pictures. I'm thinking they were reformulated after the bankruptcy. I had Peony, Roses and Wisteria in the old formulation. I now also have all four new formulations. I really like my old-version Shimmering Blushes in Roses and Peony as blushes--they are quite nicely pigmented. (Old Wisteria is a white-ish highlighter, not really a blush at all.) When I saw the new ones, I thought, "HOT dog! This is like getting 4 new blushes from a line I really like!" However, I unfortunately found that the quality has also decreased somewhat. My new ones feel a little less silky (but still nice for an inexpensive product) but the shades are quite different--new Roses is more muted and more neutral, new Peony is faded. New Wisteria is darker and more pink than old Wisteria--very similar to Roses. Not only are the shades more wishy-washy, but the pigmentation is positively anemic. They're pretty highlighters, but they mostly look the same on my skin. :( Peony is a little pinker, but it still is very sheer and light. My only other problem is that the powders in both the old and new versions have an icky, heavy floral scent. It's a downgrade.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sw33tvi3tchic on 8/26/2010 11:57:00 PM more reviews by sw33tvi3tchic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in Peony and I really like it! I actually do use it as a blush, but along my cheekbones and not the apples of my cheeks. I've gotten so many compliments that my face looks "skinnier." LOL I never knew people thought I had a chubby face in the first place :( I only weigh 125 pounds but it's ok this blush is awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lolomakeup84 on 3/23/2009 1:27:00 AM more reviews by lolomakeup84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I recently found that I had an ulta store that opened in my town so thats where I bought my first Jane shimmering blush in peony. I love love it!! Its of course shimmery! I'm into pink/coral shades and this caught my eye. Plus I got a $2 off coupon! I got my other one from Rite Aid in Roses. I like it a lot! its not as pink as the peony, but its good if you want a natural cheek glow. Its a must have and must rebuy 4 both!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 samanthamaeee on 2/2/2009 10:04:00 PM more reviews by samanthamaeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Found this in Walgreens on clearance for $1.36! I took the last one available in 01 Natural, and found it very attractive.

Not fond of the brush that is included, kind of scratchy and doesn't pick up product well at all. Leaves somewhat of a streaky finish with the brush.

This is definitely not a blush, but more like a highlighter or even a blush topper. Good over cream blush or matte blushes.

You can use this as an eyeshadow but I warn you, this blush isn't pigmented. Great for tear duct and brow bone area. I recommend you apply it wet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 WenChriste on 1/4/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by WenChriste

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought it in Natural 01.
Five shimmering lines of colors in this little package. I swirl my brush and use it all over my face. Not for blush though, its way too light, I use it strictly for the bit of shimmer it gives my face. Hence, the 3 rating. Good for shimmer- not blusher.
For some reason I have a hard time finding blush anymore with a bit of glitz. Not 80's glitz, but yanno, some shine. This works over my blush and around my face for a nice glow. That's about it. I bought it at Wal-Mart for $5.34. A little too pricey for what I use it for but I'd probably still buy it none-the-less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haleyhay on 12/31/2008 7:12:00 PM more reviews by haleyhay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this blush, it gives a nice pink flush with a hint of shimmer to it. Though it looks like it might just be all shimmer it's not. It is very pretty. It lasts a decent amount of time and is great as a blush or a highlighter over a darker or brighter blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 twiggychic3 on 11/1/2008 2:58:00 PM more reviews by twiggychic3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i got this in NATURAL and i dropped it only a week after i bought it and it completely shattered inside the case. i was soo upset because the effect it had over my usual cream blush (tarte blushing bride) was truly beautiful. it certainly gave off a really natural looking glow, and my boyfriend (who never really notices/comments on my makeup) said my cheeks looked "really soft and rosy."

well now that all i have is a case full of little blush crumbles, i've been using the individual shades (this one comes in 5 different stripes of colors btw) as highlighters and eyeshadows.

my fave would definitely have to be the second row from the top which i now use on the inner corner of my eyes. it really brightens up my eye makeup look, and gives me that wide-eyed effect. check out the picture i uploaded in my gallery

another thing that i like to do is apply a layer of rosebud lip salve to my lips and then take a little chunk of the broken 5th stripe (the orangey one at the bottom) and smudge it over the salve for a really nice natural lip look. it's just the right amount of pigment and shimmer for me.

definitely a versatile product when it's broken...but i'm gonna go out today to get one that's not crumbled so i can actually use it on my cheeks!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egoh on 10/15/2008 6:27:00 PM more reviews by egoh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this during Walgreen's BOGO Free deal :) I got the Shimmering blush in Roses (shades of pink in a checker patterned). Looking at the packaging, I was kind of hesitant because I'm not a big fan of ULTRA shimmering things on the face. I tried it today and it's actually very very nice, just the right touch of shimmer with a nice touch of pink (looks like i'm blushing, excellent!) :) Because of the slight shimmer, my skin looks more dewy (even though i'm on the drier side due to the weather changes). Definitely will repurchase this again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amyfairy on 5/14/2008 5:04:00 PM more reviews by amyfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this in "natural" and I love it - light, transparent natural glow. Helps my skin look moister and healthier than it is. Exactly what i want in a blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WhereAmI on 4/28/2008 4:01:00 PM more reviews by WhereAmI

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

NC25. I have this product in Natural, which consists of stripes of beige, light pink, mauve and peach. I can't see many using this as a blush, due to its super-shimmer and barely-there pigmentation (when blended together, icy pink shimmer). I sweep a light dusting of this product on my cheekbones. Very glowy and pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane products

More Blush products