New York Color • Browser in Brunette • Brows

rated 4.2(56 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wendy1954 on 7/19/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by Wendy1954

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the wax but the only color available was brunette which is way too dark for me. I'm going to try it with a different brow brush and use it lightly to see if there's a difference. If I can find a lighter color, I will try that but as others have said, the price for just using the wax is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 az1 on 7/19/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by az1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great brow product! The key to this product is to use a better brush that is thinner that the one that comes with it. If you don't use a good angled thin brush the product will come off to heavy and it will look very dark. It looks very natural I love the wax and it really makes for a even application. Sometimes I used the wax with another powder, depending on the look I am going for. Love this!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diosmar82 on 4/27/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by diosmar82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Ok, I genuinely love this stuff. I usually use E.L.F's brow kit, but it makes me look fake and ugh, so I chucked it. I started using this little gem today again and my brows look naturally full . I love it.!!!! HG for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockprincess1996 on 3/22/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by rockprincess1996

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll start off with the packaging, when I first bought it, I couldn't figure out how to open it. You slide it to the top to open it. It comes in a clear pouch with a button on it. I don't like the packaging at all, because of how difficult it was for me to open it.
Now, the actual inside of the product. When you open it on the left is the grooming wax and on the right is the powder in the bottom are a pair of mini tweezers and a brush to apply product with. The first time I used it I instantly liked it. And the price was amazing 3.99 at Family Dollar. To apply: you first dip the brush into the wax and then into the powder, its pretty pigmented. It went on smoothly and lasted all day. But I found it hard to take off..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 10/17/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the Brunette.

The wax: Very soft and lasting; however, it comes off chunky so you have to spend time working it in

The color: Surprisingly poor. Crumbles easily.

Tweezers/Brush: The tweezers are uncomfortably hard and the brush is too soft. I opted not to use these.

The packaging: Cute! I love the pull-out tray and pouch.

Overall: This product isn't worth the effort, especially given that there are other, far superior, low cost options from Milani, NYX and ELF.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Christac3698 on 6/12/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Christac3698

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the kit in brunette, and the powder was OK, that's why I gave the product 2 lippies, but IMO, the wax is a joke. It goes on white and I feel like I'm messing up the work I did with the powder trying to make sure the wax is blended in. Definitely not my favorite and I will stick with my E.L.F. eyebrow kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heidiem on 5/15/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by heidiem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sparse brows. Because of TTM, I pulled all my eyebrows out in my early teen years and they never grew back properly. I have been using this since age 12 and I am now 23. It is amazing! I recently discovered that using a different angled brush with more stiff bristles makes for more realistic application, but honestly, the angled brush it has is just fine. I have no clue how many of these I've gone through, and I don't know what I would do if it were discontinued. I usually pair this with a brown pencil, I haven't found an HG brow pencil yet but the jordana one is pretty decent. This is also really cheap and I actually kinda like the mini tweezers it comes with, they're good for plucking out the odd stray here or there, but wouldn't be good for shaping your brows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 3/4/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up when Rite Aid had New York Color products for buy-one-get-one-free. I was searching around for my "free" product" and I saw one of these hanging on the display. It looked WAY too dark for me since I'm blonde and fair but I threw it into my cart anyway.


I'm shocked at how much I like this product. I take an old, stiff Smashbox brow brush that I've had for at least 10 years and mix both the wax and the brow color together. If I use a heavy hand, the color is way to dark for me but if I use it lightly it's perfect for my pale, invisible, blonde brows. I've never liked brow pencils and powders marketed to "blondes" because I'm so pale that I feel I need darker brows to make an impact.


I can see why some people who say the brow powder alone flakes because it's so soft. That's why I feel that mixing the powder with the brow wax gives the best results.


The packaging is cruddy. I threw out the little plastic case since it was too much fumbling early in the morning. The product without the plastic case does not close completely. It's fine the way it is just sitting in my makeup stash but I would not feel safe traveling with it. I still set my brows with Anastasia brow gel and I'm happy with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spookibelle on 8/20/2012 7:43:00 AM more reviews by spookibelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like the wax in this, it holds down my brows pretty well. I don't use the powder at all because it's WAY too dark for me. As far as I know, the kit only comes in "Brunette"- well, I'm a brunette, but I'm pale with naturally light-brown brows. I think the powder would only work for someone with naturally dark brows. I guess it works as a matte eyeshadow though. I HATE the packaging- it's so cheap, it breaks and the powder must be too soft, because it flakes off and gets in the wax and all over everything, yuck. I don't like the brush that comes with it because it's too tiny! But for $3-4 the wax does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CristabelJ on 8/2/2012 11:13:00 PM more reviews by CristabelJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This powder did not last very long and was a hassle to apply since it produced a ton of fall out. The wax that it comes with has a creamy texture, it would have preferred a solid wax... I did like the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Brows products