New York Color • Browser in Brunette • Brows

rated 4.2(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 rockprincess1996 on 3/22/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by rockprincess1996

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll start off with the packaging, when I first bought it, I couldn't figure out how to open it. You slide it to the top to open it. It comes in a clear pouch with a button on it. I don't like the packaging at all, because of how difficult it was for me to open it.
Now, the actual inside of the product. When you open it on the left is the grooming wax and on the right is the powder in the bottom are a pair of mini tweezers and a brush to apply product with. The first time I used it I instantly liked it. And the price was amazing 3.99 at Family Dollar. To apply: you first dip the brush into the wax and then into the powder, its pretty pigmented. It went on smoothly and lasted all day. But I found it hard to take off..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 10/17/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the Brunette.

The wax: Very soft and lasting; however, it comes off chunky so you have to spend time working it in

The color: Surprisingly poor. Crumbles easily.

Tweezers/Brush: The tweezers are uncomfortably hard and the brush is too soft. I opted not to use these.

The packaging: Cute! I love the pull-out tray and pouch.

Overall: This product isn't worth the effort, especially given that there are other, far superior, low cost options from Milani, NYX and ELF.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Christac3698 on 6/12/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Christac3698

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the kit in brunette, and the powder was OK, that's why I gave the product 2 lippies, but IMO, the wax is a joke. It goes on white and I feel like I'm messing up the work I did with the powder trying to make sure the wax is blended in. Definitely not my favorite and I will stick with my E.L.F. eyebrow kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heidiem on 5/15/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by heidiem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sparse brows. Because of TTM, I pulled all my eyebrows out in my early teen years and they never grew back properly. I have been using this since age 12 and I am now 23. It is amazing! I recently discovered that using a different angled brush with more stiff bristles makes for more realistic application, but honestly, the angled brush it has is just fine. I have no clue how many of these I've gone through, and I don't know what I would do if it were discontinued. I usually pair this with a brown pencil, I haven't found an HG brow pencil yet but the jordana one is pretty decent. This is also really cheap and I actually kinda like the mini tweezers it comes with, they're good for plucking out the odd stray here or there, but wouldn't be good for shaping your brows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 3/4/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up when Rite Aid had New York Color products for buy-one-get-one-free. I was searching around for my "free" product" and I saw one of these hanging on the display. It looked WAY too dark for me since I'm blonde and fair but I threw it into my cart anyway.


I'm shocked at how much I like this product. I take an old, stiff Smashbox brow brush that I've had for at least 10 years and mix both the wax and the brow color together. If I use a heavy hand, the color is way to dark for me but if I use it lightly it's perfect for my pale, invisible, blonde brows. I've never liked brow pencils and powders marketed to "blondes" because I'm so pale that I feel I need darker brows to make an impact.


I can see why some people who say the brow powder alone flakes because it's so soft. That's why I feel that mixing the powder with the brow wax gives the best results.


The packaging is cruddy. I threw out the little plastic case since it was too much fumbling early in the morning. The product without the plastic case does not close completely. It's fine the way it is just sitting in my makeup stash but I would not feel safe traveling with it. I still set my brows with Anastasia brow gel and I'm happy with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spookibelle on 8/20/2012 7:43:00 AM more reviews by spookibelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like the wax in this, it holds down my brows pretty well. I don't use the powder at all because it's WAY too dark for me. As far as I know, the kit only comes in "Brunette"- well, I'm a brunette, but I'm pale with naturally light-brown brows. I think the powder would only work for someone with naturally dark brows. I guess it works as a matte eyeshadow though. I HATE the packaging- it's so cheap, it breaks and the powder must be too soft, because it flakes off and gets in the wax and all over everything, yuck. I don't like the brush that comes with it because it's too tiny! But for $3-4 the wax does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CristabelJ on 8/2/2012 11:13:00 PM more reviews by CristabelJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This powder did not last very long and was a hassle to apply since it produced a ton of fall out. The wax that it comes with has a creamy texture, it would have preferred a solid wax... I did like the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AutumnBliss on 6/15/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by AutumnBliss

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Really nice product. A pressed powder on one side and wax on the other. Comes with angle brush and tweezers. This brunette shade matched my brows, and filled-in nicely. Looked more natural than others I have tried. It wasn't too golden or red. I have over plucked my brows, so I am glad I decided to try this to fill-in those bare areas. This is so inexpensive, and easy to use. I'd say I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HoneyBlunts33 on 4/28/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by HoneyBlunts33

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product works decently for the price, if the color matches your own natural brows. For me, slightly reddish brown, it did, but I have been breaking out on my eyebrows AND eyelids (? ew) with no other rational explanation.
I'm gonna try and use the powder alone. F*ck that wax. To me it looks and feels like bacon grease. I'll update.
***
Okay. About a month later, after using the powder alone, MUCH beter results. More natural looking and not a zit in sight. I give you all the go ahead to avoid that nasty paste.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cheniece19 on 12/30/2011 11:44:00 PM more reviews by cheniece19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have to say I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! This is the best brow kit that I have came around. I use to use the Sonia Kashuk brow kit, but it was okay...I like this one a little better and I defintely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Brows products