Clinique Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK

4.4

205 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

isododecane, cyclopentasilosane, polyethylene, barium sulfate, trimethylsiloxysillicate, disteardimonium hectorite, propylene carbonate, lecithin, phenyl trimethicone, ethylehexylglycerin, hydrogenated polyisobutene, methicone. May contain: mica, iron oxides, carmine, titanium dioxide, yellow 5 lake, ultramarines, manganese violet, chromium oxide greens, bismuth oxychloride, ferric ferrocyanide, blue 1 lake, chromium hydroxide green.


on 4/12/2015 6:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

MAYBE but most likely I would buy this again, this is my 2nd cream/gel liner type eyeliner that I bought. The other one I tried was Loreal's. My thoughts on this:

PROS:Color A deep matte-ish black that brushes on true to color with very little streaks or patches.

Consistency- This is not a gel, this is a cream! And it's so soft and non irritating too. This NEVER dries out, I have even left it open overnight and all day and it was still like new. I cant say that for the Loreals that dried up very quickly.

Application- Very easy to make cat eyes, mini flicks, dramatic, or subtle.

Wear&Removal- Doesn't smear everywhere or flake even with the tears. I wear contacts and sometimes I need to refresh my lenses with drops and my eyeliner is still intact. Removes easily with an eye makeup remover. More or less waterproof-ish.

Price- More expensive than Loreal, but cheaper than BobbiBrown and MAC. Not bad!


CONS: Wear Time- It doesn't flake off but it slowly fades throughout the day.

Application- You NEED a decent brush to make this work. Sometimes application can be a bit chunky as its very creamy and lots of product gets on the brush. I have to wipe the brush on the sides of the pot to make sure I dont have too much. I think this takes more patience to use compared to a pencil eyeliner or a pen.

Finish- This is a personal preference, but I would like to have a more shiny lacquer black eyeliner rather than matte and I thought this would be it but it wasn't.

Besides the cons, this is a really good cream eyeliner. I dont use this everyday but often. I bought this almost a YEAR ago and it's still creamy and applies like new.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/10/2015 9:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This eyeliner is a little on the pricier side, but totally worth it. Thought I didn't like cream liners until I tried this one. The pigmentation is great and the consistency is like butter. Application is super easy, even for those of us who suck at eyeliner application. I got this as a gift but I will be repurchasing as soon as I run out. Probably my HG cream liner product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2014 9:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This little guy is my new best friend. I absolutely love this product. I was using Clinique's Wet/Dry liner, but decided to try this one. Discard the brush that comes with it and use a good quality one. I dip the brush in the product, swirl it around on the brush using the inside rim of the jar, and WHOA LA! PERFECTION. I can make dramatic cat eyes or I can apply a thiner more natural effect. The product stays put all day and does NOT irritate my eyes. I have very sensitive eyes, which is why I trust my babies to Clinique. Well done, Clinique!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2014 10:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've got to say, this is the best gel/cream eyeliner I've tried. I love the Maybelline ones, but they dry out if you don't use them in time. I've had this Clinique pot for probably 5 years and it's nowhere near drying out.
This product is very black, very creamy, and very easy to work with. It also lasts quite well. I always reach for it when going for a gel/cream eyeliner look, and I never regret it. It's sort of a staple, and a pot lasts forever. I will definitely repurchase, if I ever even have to!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2014 4:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The blackest gel eyeliner I know. Has a little bit of a glossy finish. The formula is kind of wet so it applies quicker comparing to MAC fluidline. I do find it does smudges a little bit at the very end of the day, the line is not as precise as I draw it. I still don't know which formula I prefer between this and MAC fluidline! :\

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2014 9:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is my go to liquid liner. To be honest, I haven't tried that many others, but for a mid level price range it's perfect. $17(CAD) makes it half the price of others at Sephora and it lasts forever. Goes on super smooth and stays put all day. I'd recommend staying away from the brush that's included, waste of plastic, and use a high quality one with a very fine point.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Use this every day. super smooth and pigmented. Wasnt sure how i would like this (im a bit picky - look at my other reviews lol) this was my first foray into cream/gel liners as had always used liquid.

Was pleasantly surprised at the ease of it.


I ditched the little brush that came with it as it was clumsy, not stiff enough and made too thick a line for my taste. I went and bought a super super fine brush from an art supply store for 0.99 and it works like a dream. (generally dont recommend these type of brushes for any other products!!! )

this product does not smudge or flake off on me and i have lots of trouble keeping things like eyeshadow on.

Would def purchase again.. but it is lasting me a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2013 11:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This just doesn't last. It transfers like crazy (even using my HG primer underneath) and smudges all over my lids. I've had it for about four months and so far it hadn't dried in the pot, and every single time I try to wear it, I magically become a raccoon 2 hours after leaving the house. It has such great reviews, I'm very disappointed :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2013 10:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My cousin got this for me for Christmas a few years ago, and I actually didn't start using it until recently. Even after sitting in the pot for a few years, this liner still works extremely well.

I really like this cream liner- I use the Sephora Pro Bent Liner Brush #23 for this. Originally I used the Sephora Pointed Liner Brush #17, but I find the bent brush works better for me, and it's easier to apply and make a wing at the end.

This stays on me all freakin' day. I love it. I never even have to check in the mirror to see if it smudges, because it honestly never does, and I have really watery eyes.


on 8/11/2013 7:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Black gel eyeliner is my #1 make-up staple and this is my HG gel eyeliner. It's very black, applies smoothly, dries quickly(on your eyes, not in the pot!), no smudging, lasts all day. I've had it for about 3 months and it's just as wet as the day I opened it (and I have a tendency to leave it open until I finish both eyes). My only complaint is that when I tried using this to tight-line, it transferred to my contacts. I'll stick to pencils for tight-lining but as far as gel eyeliners go this is a winner for me. Eyeliner isn't something I'm willing to "experiment" with; I want an eyeliner that can look as good at the end of the day as it did when I put it on that morning.. This does just that, at a lower price than many other department store/high-end make up brands. (I use a hard angled brush with it)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top