No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Squalane Oil (Olive Derived) • Moisturizers

rated 4.4(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rsanzio on 2/9/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by Rsanzio

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is the bomb. I buy it from a Garden of Wisdom, it is super cheap (compared to high end labels that sell it for a fortune), and my skin loves it -- particularly in winter when it gets dry.

I use it at night on top of Hado Labo skin plumping gel cream, which contains hyaluronic acid. I spray Avene thermal spring water on top of it (though any water will do), and then apply squalene oil. I wake up with super hydrated baby's bottom skin, even though I am using pretty strong Retin A.

One of the best beauty discoveries I've ever made. Thank you MUA and all the people who recommended this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Taraelizabeth6 on 3/26/2013 11:04:00 AM more reviews by Taraelizabeth6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

In 2 days it gave me the worst blackheads (which I normally don't get anywhere but my nose). So many clogged pores! & it worsened any existing acne to insane proportions.

Acne prone/sensitive skin, beware!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mmtt on 10/3/2012 1:59:00 AM more reviews by mmtt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried a lot of things and think this is IT!!! I've tried to be more simple/basic/natural in my skincare and have tried lots of things, but mostly ended up changing after several weeks to months. I've used this for 6 months after I tried out a cream that made me simultaneously peel and break out in hopes of helping recovery. I've been using it ever since. I get mine online from Swanson who sells it for $10/2oz. It comes in a glass bottle with a dropper. The oil is clear, thin in consistency and has no fragrance. You do need only several drops for the eyes and face. It is easy to spread and does not look oily. This has caused no breakouts!!!!! Instead it actually makes my skin look better. I don't use it alone; it absorbs very quickly almost like a dry oil. I use a fragrance free hyaluronic cream on top and I'm good to go for the day. At night I use the squalane, then a retionol cream, then a moisturizer. It just makes my skin feel more comfortable and look better. It's also great around the eyes. I'm so happy I found this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thegoodbadugly on 6/19/2012 12:27:00 PM more reviews by Thegoodbadugly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ditto the other positive reviews! This has been a great success for me in resolving dry, scaly patches on my face and I now use it as my only oil for post-shower body skin hydration. I pat on 1-2 drops at night after washing my face and then follow up with EpiSilk Premium Facial Cream, which also contains squalene. It's listed as squalene on the label, but the Episilk manufacturer confirmed that it's olive-derived oil. During the winter, I was using GSO as a follow up after squalene on my body which also meant a longer wait time for getting dressed. :-) Squalane oil absorps fast, does not leave a greasy-feel, and does not aggravate the mild KP on my forearms, which exactly describes the undesirable results I got from a trial of using only sunflower oil or EVOO. I purchase this from GoW and have not been able to find a less expensive alternative that is derived from olives. Squalene is a key component for maintaining the epidermal skin barrier and unfortunately as we 'mature' that content decreases. Very pleased!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starspex on 4/16/2012 7:13:00 AM more reviews by starspex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

You ladies are right, this particular oil is more of a rare lesser known beauty treatment especially compared to the well renowned standard Olive oil (which is also great). I love MUA for this purpose- there is so much knowledge here to be discovered & uncovered <3

So far so good with this. Since tossing aside branded moisturisers in Jan & switching to natural oils instead i'm so impressed, surprised & amazed by how wonderfully they moisturise my skin WITHOUT leaving any greasy residue! And a little goes a long long way as this oil is 100% pure & concentrated which means every drop is highly potent.

The use of this oil on my skin easily supersedes the performance of any moisturiser I used to use & i've tried loads. I always had issues with still feeling tautness on the skin after application especially as UK water is so dry so I grew accustomed to then applying more by never liked the accompanying greasy or coated feeling. This is never the case with this oil.

These are the overall qualities that Olive Squalane has that i'm particularly enthusiastic about: Moisturising, UV protection, anti aging, skin smoothing (make-up glides beautifully over it), has some anti fungal abilities & above all it is NOT GREASY! Dries to a lovely barely there finish. And as I can use it sparingly on face/neck/chest it should last me at least a year & the shelf life is 2 yrs.

Since switching to natural products my skin has gradually been changing for the better & this is a contributing factor as it doesn't clog my pores or break me out. Its so nice to use, I just pour a little in to my palms, rub together & then massage over my face. I believe that it has helped refine the contours of my face too so overall smoothness (of fine lines) has improved which is where it gets its 'face lift in a bottle' label i'm sure! This is my current staple

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jmltan on 2/21/2010 5:06:00 PM more reviews by jmltan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Using olive derived squalane was an initiative I had, to use more natural products instead of moisturizers with a long list of chemicals in them.

Purchased this from the garden of wisdom. I'm not quite sure how to rate this product. It was great for all parts of my face except the forehead. My monthly pimples got more and more "fierce". At one point I had clusters of pimples in the same spot - you could literally see the 2 or more pus filled heads in the same spot. I even had pimples after my period was over.

I visited an acne treatment clinic in my city and the doctor said not to use oil-based products on the face, no matter what I read on the internet x=. He said stop whatever you are doing and just use cetaphil to moisturize.

I would really hate it if using this caused all that acne for which the post inflammatory hyperpigmentation marks are going to take months and months to fade. I'm thankful I did not have any scars. My opinion is that a real doctor would be more correct than someone who sells essential/carrier oils or articles on the internet regarding the benefits of oils, so people, please be careful of what you read on the internet there is just so much junk everywhere you see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laskintech on 12/13/2009 1:06:00 AM more reviews by laskintech

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using Mayumi Squalane (2.17 oz. found online at iHerb only $15.48!) for about a year, and it has entirely removed any dry patches on my face. I've also been using Now Hyaluronic Acid Joint Support capsules (2 in the morning and evening) which plumps up the skin (less wrinkles), and Now Hyaluronic Acid Serum. In the morning and evening I apply the Hyaluronic Serum first, then the squalane (I apply it to my face, including my eyelids and under my eyes, neck, and chest) and then a bit of moisturizer. I also mix Hyaluronic serum and Squalane in with my body lotion. It's truly amazing on cuticles and dry feet! I make sure I apply it to my tootsies before bedtime. Don't forget to wear socks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* novelist on 10/21/2009 1:08:00 AM more reviews by novelist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

ETA: I recently purchased through amazon Botanic Choice squalane and this product is far superior to the one from Ice Elements. I receive even better results in the undereye area with even less product!

I have used olive-oil based squalane (from Ice Elements) for over three years now, and though I first started using it for flaky dry skin around my eyes, that situation has virtually vanished for a variety of reasons but squalane is one of them. Now, at age 54, I use squalane mainly under my eyes as a base for Bobbi Brown products (EyeBright/corrector/concealer). The key to using this very light oil is restraint and allowing your skin to absorb it. Ten to fifteen minutes after I rub in a drop or two, I can apply the eye area products, and they blend perfectly into the squalane. My undereye area is usually moisturized all day without any lines, creases, crinkles, weird effects. There is just a natural feel to it. I do not put any powder anywhere in this area because trouble follows (the idea of setting concealer with powder is horrific). On those later summer days when the humidity here in my region is 12%, at the end of the day I use Bobbi Brown's RIch Hydrating Cream at the corners of my eyes.

I cannot say enough about this product. It is fairly inexpensive, takes forever (1-1/2 years) to use a single bottle of the product and it is reputed to help cell renewal. With all of the hype out there for expensive products that do not work or work only a bit, this simple derivative of olive oil is an amazing find. On days when it is raining and I want to give my skin a break from sunscreen, I apply squalane on the entire face and neck. Just a small amount works, and if you apply too much, rub it off of your face and use on elbows.

I will buy this product forever, and that's a long time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KayBella on 5/8/2009 3:49:00 PM more reviews by KayBella

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have waited about one and a half weeks to write this review. I purchased this oil after using EVOO on my face (which worked very well. But I am “of a certain age”, and wanted to ramp up my products, so to speak). I read that squalane oil is olive derived (it can also be shark derived…just say no), and is like a concentrated olive oil, with tons of antioxidants in it.


Well, I am completely blown away by this oil! I love this product, and won’t be without it again. I use it every night, after I wash my face, but before I put on a treatment lotion. It sinks in quickly, and feels very light. Then I continue on with my regular anti-oxidant lotion. I have also started putting a drop or two on right after my shower in the morning, when my skin is still moist. I use it first thing, and then put my makeup on over it. My foundation seems to blend in a little better, and I haven’t noticed any extra oiliness during the day.


I am a results oriented girl, so in order for me to make a recommendation for a product, it has to WORK, and boy, does this one do a great job! My skin *glows*, for lack of a better word. I have noticed a difference in my age spots, but I keep telling myself it’s too soon for the oil to be working on that. Maybe it’s my imagination, but then again, maybe not...my beloved BF told me several times over the last few days that I have been looking “radiant”!


I bought it on-line at Garden of Wisdom, and was very happy with the price ~ $12 US for 2 oz, and around $30 US for 8 oz (not including shipping). Considering I only use about 3 or 4 drops a night, this stuff will last me years! I will continue to experiment with this (I would like to try it as a scalp massage/hair deep conditioner) and report back if anything else fabulous occurs. But as a facial moisturizer, this is wonderful!


I gave the packaging 3 lippies only because I had to replace the top that came with the bottle so I could better control the amount of oil that comes out.



EDIT: 2 months later, I still LOVE this oil. I use 1/2 EVOO, and 1/2 Squalane on my face every night, and my skin has never looked better. (Well, it looked better when I was 21, but there's not a whole lot I can do about that.) I would still reccomend this product with NO hesitations at all!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luv4taffy on 2/19/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by luv4taffy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow I am surprised that there arent many reviews on this. I guess its a big beauty secret not too many people know about. This stuff is great. I use it every night and morning with Argan oil and the results for me has been great. A great moisturiser that doesntleave you greasy when you wake up. Research this product ladies and try it...it is truly a great product and I am picky.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Moisturizers products