MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish in Lightscapade • Highlighters

rated 4.2(192 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bubbelbad on 10/22/2014 4:49:00 PM more reviews by bubbelbad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

I've been wanting this for years and I finally caved in. I got this off ebay since I don't like the new packaging (stupid reason but still). The product is really amazing. Mine doesn't have too much of an obvious veining, but that's fine by me. On my warm-toned skin, it's a pinkish/champagny highlighter, definitly on the cool side, but not too cool. I can't say if it will look ashy on darker skintones though (I'm fair). Although I would have preferred it to be a *tiny* bit more finely milled, it still doesn't have any big shimmer. I reach for this whenever I want a no-brainer highlight that isn't as obvious or hard to work with as the Mary-Lou Manizer (my other favourite). The lasting power is pretty good. It didn't count it in hours, but there's still a hint of it at the end of the day. The pigmentation is perfect and not too powdery. I will repurchase it, but it's too bad MAC isn't cruelty free. Normally I only buy makeup that it cruelty free, but for this I made an exception. That's how much I adore this. Would recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 9/30/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I caved and got this because it used to be a limited edition product and there was so much hype around it. I got it when it was still an LE product so there was some pressure behind this purchase.
I'm somewhat underwhelmed, although I think this does have a purpose. It is a very understated highlighter. It is much less in your face than other highlighters I've seen and that can definitely be a positive thing. Especially if you're working in a very professional environment or simply don't want a shimmer bomb of a highlighter. I do like my highlighters to be a tad more shimmery than this, but this definitely has a purpose like I said. Mine doesn't have as many blue "veins" in it as I've seen in other pictures of the product, which I'm kind of bummed about.
This is a descent highlighter and would work for someone who likes an extremely subtle and somewhat boring highlight shade. However, if I'm looking for a subtle highlight I could find something at the drugstore for less than half of the price that is very similar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* knitsnbytes on 9/27/2014 9:24:00 AM more reviews by knitsnbytes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this originally when the "Danse" collection came out (one of my all-time favorite MAC promotions.) It was originally limited edition, then it was repromoted in 2011 or so, then it came out permanently and wow is it more expensive! (I think it used to be $20, now it's 32 which is a fifty percent increase. Cu-razy.) However, of all the highlighter powders I've tried, this one is different. I have used Smashbox and Laura Geller and Bobbi Brown but Lightscapade works all over my face for a really beautiful glow, and it doesn't look too glittery. I don't have the wear issues that some people report having. I put it on at seven in the morning, coming home at five pm, I can still see that glow on my face with no re-application. I apply mine either over liquid foundation or mineral foundation (I use Laura Geller) and it's equally effective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 9/25/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an all-time favourite, go-to highlighter for me. Unlike most of the other MSF they put out, Lightscapade doesn't have a full on metallic finish to it. Instead, what you get is a soft pale glow that is perfect for NC/NW10 to NC/NW30 (Dior Star 010 to 021, NARS Sheer Glow Deauville.

The colour is a cool-tone ivory with a soft lit-from-within glow that looks good. It doesn't make you look greasy or anything either.

When I'm going out, I like to put this lightly under my eyes for that latest celeb trend. It also looks gorgeous on the browbone on a daily basis.

So glad that this is permanent now. It lasts forever so the $37 isn't so bad either!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shannanleanneeee on 9/23/2014 5:20:00 PM more reviews by Shannanleanneeee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this highlighter by MAC!!
I have been trying to get hold of this gem for ages! Every-time I checked for it online it was out of stock, so I visited a MAC store and grabbed one (remind me never to go to a MAC store again!! The shops are way too small and there are too many people!!)
First off let's talk about the packaging, it's simple and efficient and I really like it!
But, the actual product is what makes it so good!
when I first swatched this I wasn't amazed, it looked good - just like any other highlighter
...but it's not...
Throughout the day I noticed that it just got better and better on my skin, it gave me a gorgeous healthy glow and made my cheek bones pop which is what I want. This highlighter looks tremendous in photographs too!!
The texture it just right, not chalky, but not too 'thin' (I couldn't think of a better word :/ )
The pigment is high quality and the colour of the highlighter means that it doesn't look obvious on your face, very subtle and natural - like highlighter should be (saying that though - it can be built up)
This is my go to highlighter!
I use a fan brush to apply this :)
(I paid 23.00 for this highlighter)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 9/14/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this is simply beautiful just to look at in the compact... it's like an opal. i was introduced to this when mac was sending an email about the "impeccable face" which included CC cream, face & body, and this product. i went out and bought all 3. the CC in neutralize is now a staple (i have redness) and the face and body filles a niche that i discussed in that review. now this powder is a gorgeous highlighter. i never thought i'd need that in daily wear but it really just makes your makeup so much prettier. following some advice from here, i use a fan brush to apply this to my cheekbones (with a small line of blush or bronzer in a neutral shade underneath as to not accentuate redness but to add some dimention; the mac artist told me that the highlighter works synergystically with a blush/or bronzer). i use a denser brush to set my concealer underneath the eyes with this as well and it looks GORGEOUS - like 12 hours sleep in a compact! HIGHLY recommend this beautiful product! i also lightly dust down the nose, put in the cupid's bow, inner corner of eye, brow bone.. etc.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxxomichelle on 8/25/2014 6:25:00 AM more reviews by xxxomichelle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just love love love love this highlighter. Its so subtle yet wow, I feel like this just wakes up my face and gives it more dimension, without being obvious, perfect for that no makeup makeup look. But that being said you can also apply it quite heavily for a dramatic effect (though it does end uplooking more whitish). I don't at all fine this product to be chalky and the shimmer is so beautifully finely milled, none of those chunks of glitter crap that leave you looking like some childhood party fairy entertainer.
while it is pricey, (especially here in Australia where every makeup item is unjustifiably 100x the us price) it lasts agggeeeeessssss, I've used it almost daily for at nearly half a year and have barely hit the pan, and when I do i will defs be repurchasing!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teojia on 8/25/2014 12:03:00 AM more reviews by teojia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So recently I started looking at highlighters and was thrilled when I bought Mary Lou-minizer from The Balm and my friends complimented me on my 'glowing complexion'. Never thought I would be putting glitter on my oily face, but now I'm a highlighter convert! I thoguht Mary Lou was probably a little too shimmery, and when I chanced across this while my friends were in the queue (I was bored) and all MAC items were on a store discount, I bought this on a whim. Swatched it against the Soft and Gentle, but thought that was wayyy too shimmery and golden for my skin.

So this one is just as bright as Mary Lou, but sans the shimmer, and with that oh so subtle glow. That being said, I'm quite fair and this does come up to be a little white, so I'm not sure if its for all skin tones and colours.

Now I am the perpetual glowing angel, and I love it. LOVE IT. On days I forget to put this on I mope a little.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessicarabbit87 on 7/23/2014 4:51:00 AM more reviews by jessicarabbit87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this on a total whim, as my friends were trying out lipstick and I was bored. I'm a sucker for anything iridescent or resembling an opal, so I was very attracted to this. Because I only swatched it on my hand absent-mindedly, I felt regret as soon as the bag was handed to me (it wasn't the only thing I bought, as usual).

HOWEVER, when I tried it out, I was amazed. It didn't look like much going on -- I thought, OK seems like a regular highlighter to me. I am a fan of highlighters, and some of my favourites are Mary Lou by the Balm, Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector, Guerlain Meteorities, and Smashbox. MAC Mineralize amazed me in a totally unique and unexpected way because when I took a picture later on in the day, my face was GLOWING. It looked like there were some awesome Hollywood halo lights around my face. It looked like I have nothing else to do all day but bathe in milk and apply yogurt masks. It looked like I woke up in a field of morning dew.

.. Anyway, we get the point. This seems like your typical highlighter, except it's got an amazing photo finish effect. Also, as others have said, it's got a lovely velvet texture, is very very foolproof, looks beautiful, and does what it claims. A pearly, opalescent colour with cool undertones that would look best on fair skin. Also, recommend swirling a fan brush with this so you don't end up looking too shimmery.

Rock on MAC!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tadukhipa on 7/21/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by tadukhipa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

HOW DID I LIVE WITHOUT THIS TIL NOW!?
I got this through a swap as an extra and now I've become addicted to it.
I cannot believe how amazing this is. I only used a few highlighters before but this one is just perfect.
The down side is that I have huge pores so when I start sweating or my oil comes through it looks a bit flaky but I mean that's not Lightscapade's fault.
I've got so many compliments ever since I started using this.
I look so fresh and bright and a bit goes a long way!
This is definitely my HG when it comes to highlighters. I feel like I don't need to look any further.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products