mark • Mini Brush Kit- Go With the Pros • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.1(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sadielovesmakeup06 on 11/26/2012 6:42:00 AM more reviews by sadielovesmakeup06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this several years ago, and i was pleasently surprised with it! the case that they came in was cute. it was brown and the zipper was pink. it had slotted spaces one for each brush, and came with a lip brush, eyeshadow brush, powder brush, concealer brush, and an eyeliner brush. they are half the size of their original brushes, and each is labeled. they are dense for their size, and deposit a great amount of product. they are easy to clean, and keep their shape well. after over a year of having them i lost them :( they are a steal at about 16$, def worth it if you travel often

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 5/9/2012 9:50:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Mark.'s Go With The Pro brush kit is a 5 piece set of travel sized mini brushes, all zipped up in a cute little pouch. Mark. doesn't specify if these brushes are made of natural or or synthetic bristles. Because Avon and Mark. products are not tested on animals, I'm under the assumption that these are synthetic. Mark. products are made in the USA. The set retails for $16, but I got it for free as part of my rep kit.
The small brow brush case is made of polyeurathan, with a polyester lining. The case was made in China. The zipper is baby pink, a cute contrast against the brown pouch. The case is roughly 6 inches long and about an inch and a half thick when zipped closed, so it won't take up too much space in your purse or makeup bag. I'll review each brush individually.
I don't really have much experience with the concealer brush, as I prefer to apply concealer with my fingers. The brush is paddle shaped and definitely made of synthetic bristles. It's stiff and silky, but I honestly can't give an opinion on how it applies and blends concealer
Mark.'s mini powder brush received some pretty tough reviews on Makeup Alley, but I quite like it. Actually, it's my favorite brush in the kit. The bristles are dense and soft, with a rounded top. I use this brush for buffing powder in over foundation. Many complain that this brush sheds and has a odor. Honestly, I don't think it has too much of a smell, and I have no shedding issues at all.
Next up is the eyeliner brush. The eyeliner brush is thin and comes to a rounded point, with a medium stiffness. I rarely use it for applying gel eyeliner. I much prefer a stiffer, finer, angled eyeliner brush. This brush is too round and gives too thick of a line for my eye shape. I do use it to apply gel or cream shadow/liner to the lower lash line.
Mark.'s eyeshadow brush is a flat and paddle shaped. Though the size and shape are perfect for eyeshadow application, this brush has too much give for packing on color. It's best used for sweeping color on or light blending. Though it has a lot of flex, this brush keeps it's shape well, with no bristle splaying.
I'm not a fan of Mark.'s lip brush, which is is the last brush in this kit. I don't use lip brushes frequently, nor do I own many of them, but this one is the one I like the least. Though this brush comes in the perfect tapered, pointed shape, but it splays horribly, which makes for streaky, messy, uneven application. It's also very hard to get all the product out of the bristles.

These are attractive, well made brushes that look pretty high quality and sleek. All the brushes have shiny, black plastic handles with firmly attached ferrels. Each handle features the Mark. logo on one side, and the function of the brush written in both English and French on the other side. All writing is white. Looks good bro.
These brushes are pretty durable, and do not shed. None of them splay except the lip brush. All of the brushes wash well (except the weakest link, lip brush).
Go With the Pro is my second set of mini Mark. brushes, the other one I got 6 or 7 years ago, and is still in tip-top shape. Mark.'s brushes are good quality and made to last. I'm not sure if pay the $16 for it, personally, but it might be worth it to you if you need to invest in a set of small brushes that will take care of your basic makeup needs. This isn't a perfect brush kit, but it's pretty solid. You'll get several years of use out it too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Icaria on 6/19/2011 7:37:00 AM more reviews by Icaria

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This little kit is ok for the price. The only brush I use everyday is the concealer brush. True, like other reviewers have stated, the blush/powder brush is a bit hard and did smell at first. I payed less for it than the regular concealer brush so I consider I made a good deal but I wouldn't recommend to buy it full price. Not worth it. Good size for travelling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Betzy04 on 4/1/2011 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Betzy04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this for free when i joined mark, it's a nice way to try out their brushes with out spending to much money in case you don't like them. I don't like how their small, but they do the job just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* earthymoon on 8/5/2010 4:14:00 PM more reviews by earthymoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The truth about these brushes, they are not fantastic. However, they are suffiecent for travel use. A couple of the brushes are part of my everyday routine.
The concelar brush is comparable to higher end brushes. I have two of these. I use one to apply eyelid shadow while traveling and I use the other to apply my benefit boing concealer. I feel the size is perfect for my blemishes.
The powder brush sheds and is IMHO is only good for apply finishing powder touch ups during the day. I do use it for applying blush on the apples of my cheek while traveling. It's not good for cheek contour. The application is too uneven. This brush is useless for mineral foundation because of uneven coverage.
I personally love the eyeliner brush for applying shadow on my bottom lid and adding highlight to the inner corners. However it's a little to thick for liner on the top lid. I own the larger eyeliner brush as well. It's part of my everyday routine.
The eyeshadow brush is great for my crease because it fits the shape of my eye well. This brush is a denser version of the eyeshadow brush that comes with the mark magnetic palettes. I feel it doesn't apply eyeshadow to the lid very well. It's good for sheer applications but not good for application of vivid color.
I really like the lip brush. It's soft enough that lipstick glides on smoothly but it's stiff enough to give me precision for a sharp lip line. The tip of the bristles are contoured well for precision. The brush also picks up a nice amount of product. If I wasn't a stain/gloss girl, I would probably use this everyday.
I do feel the price for this kit is too high. I know brushes can be expensive but for the quality, I think I can find comparable or better kits at the DS for a similar or lower price. I usually wait until mark gives these away as a GWP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dapich on 4/9/2010 7:57:00 PM more reviews by dapich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this brush set because of the good reviews here and regretted my purchase. The blush brush feels hard and does not apply product precisely. Yes it comes in a small travel bag but I much prefer to use my larger brushes for better make up application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cindyt36 on 3/31/2010 2:01:00 AM more reviews by cindyt36

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like all the brushes except for the powder brush. It smelled and very harsh

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marcellacharlotte on 9/5/2009 2:22:00 PM more reviews by marcellacharlotte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this travel brush case, it's fantastic!!! The brushes are comparable to other more expensive brushes from Sephora and the like. The blush/powder brush is super soft and does not shed after the first intial wash! I would definitely buy this again, I bought one for myself and my sister loved it so much I got one for her birthday. This brush set is a great quality for the price. You get the entire travel set for less than the price of one MAC brush!!!
Check out the mini brush set here at this mark site: http://marcellawright.mymarkstore.com (Orders over $25 qualify for FREE UPS shipping!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nicolebailon on 9/5/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by nicolebailon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

its okay. all the brushes are pretty good except the powder brush. its horrible. it doesn't put the product on well.. its just messy and sheds like crazy. the case is cute but not that impressive as the brushes would slip and slide out of place when you open it. its not the best . i got it for about $20 and i think thats too much to pay for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinarumbera on 8/3/2009 1:17:00 PM more reviews by lareinarumbera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

overall it's a pretty good brush kit for the price. one lippy off because the blush/powder brush is crap and it sheds. the other brushes are pretty good, however. i mean, it's not a MAC or bobbi brown brush, but for the price, i have no complaints!

i use this brush kit for touch ups when i'm doing stage makeup (ballroom dancer w/ frequent shows). normally i don't wear much makeup so i don't bother carrying blushes. these apply the necesary products and is not humongous to carry around, and do a pretty good job of it... i even use it on my dancer friends, and they want them too!

if any brushes break i'll just buy another one. seriously, for the price i am not complaining!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More mark products

More Makeup Brushes products