E.L.F. • Luscious Liquid Lipstick in Ruby Slipper • Lip Gloss

rated 3.9(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 KB333 on 1/19/2014 11:21:00 PM more reviews by KB333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A little Minty!! I LOVE these lipsticks! Great pigmentation. Very creamy and smooth. Some have scent and some feel minty! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

Only downside is they have short lasting power, so need to re-apply every hour. BUTTT it's 1 dollar so common!!!

Check out my youtube review at youtube.com/xoKEEBUUxo

:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 12/13/2013 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've had no luck so far with ELF glosses (and don't be fooled by it being called a liquid lipstick, a gloss is what this actually is) so I was happy at first when this gloss seemed to buck the trend. A lovely cool, deep berry, not exactly packed with colour, but it showed up on my lips and was extremely flattering. Less glossy and less sticky than the mineral lip glosses and with a pleasant minty fragrance it became quite a favorite which I would layer over matte berry lipsticks if I wanted more shine. You don't get much product in the click/twist packaging, but as it's so cheap you probably get your money's worth and the applicator is easy and pleasant to use. It's been constantly around in my bag or pocket for nearly a month.

However, I just put some of this gloss on right now and nearly gagged. The doe foot applicator which had been pleasant to use, now smells bad. I mean really nasty, like an old wet washcloth. This can't be healthy. I've just scrubbed my mouth and thrown my beautiful ELF gloss in the bin for fear of whatever the hell has started growing in there.

I do understand that makeup eventually goes off and that products used on the mouth or eyes in particular need to be looked after because of germs that might build up. But one month? I'd have expected it to stay good for longer than that. So disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristina5475 on 9/19/2012 10:55:00 AM more reviews by kristina5475

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a free gift in one of my orders from ELF. I REALLY like the color but it was sticky going on. I don't know if I just got a bad tube of it or what but I didn't like the way it felt on my lips. I may purchase another tube and try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrChris on 6/10/2012 2:35:00 PM more reviews by DrChris

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This sometimes gets pushed to the back of my makeup drawer, because I think (in error) that it's too sheer to wear for "real" makeup days. And then I pull it out to wear around the house, or out running errands, and I realize how much I love it. It has a very good color payoff, a softly shimmery red that doesn't scream RED but still looks sophisticated and polished. It's equally appropriate for work and a day at the beach. The texture is nice, too -- more like a light liquid lipstick than an oozy, slippery gloss. It wears well, and although some of the glossiness wears away after a while, the color remains for a nice long time. The little bit of mint in it also has slight lip-plumping properties, so it makes my lips look very lush and sexy. For $1, this is a better bet than a lot of high-end red glosses that go on sheer and goopy and then fade away after 10 minutes (I'm looking at you, Chanel). I just bought a bunch of these for the summer, so I'll always have one at hand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 3/31/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Nice reddish berry shade, it compliments my NW15 skintone quite well. It's not very pigmented but it's not as sheer as other Liquid lipsticks or e.l.f.'s Plumping lip glaze either. The applicator is a sponge so it's easy to apply without a mirror. I think it's a pretty great product for a dollar but I don't see much of a difference between this and the shade Cherry tart. It has a minty scent and the staying power is decent, maybe two hours without eating and drinking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 3/17/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the Luscious Liquid Lipsticks. They're cheap, portable, lots of colors, slightly moisturizing, easy to apply, and don't taste or smell disgusting.

This color is a magenta/red without a lot of color payoff unless you put on a thick coat, which then becomes pretty tacky and creates tiny peaks when your lips separate. I thought this would be more red than Cherry Tart, but it just had more red shimmer. It's alright for the price, especially to try different colors.

Not bad for a lip gloss, not great for lipstick, alright for liquid lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leilanader on 11/27/2011 10:57:00 AM more reviews by leilanader

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well this is quite surprising, I actually like this. I made an order last Christmas from ELF in order to donate it to the women's shelter. People donate toys to them but forget that these women also need a little something for themselves. I took advantage of this to order a few products for myself to try as I have never purchased anything from them. I'm not trying to be a snob but a brand that cheap never gave me high hope. I have to say I am eating my words now (or thoughts?) for I am quite pleased with some of the ELF products that I would actually repurchase them. never thought 1-3$ would give me so much. I have no pigmentation on my lips so I picked the darkest color they had, ruby slipper. This obviously comes out lighter on me than most people but I really like the color. It is just flattering and somewhat natural. the texture is not tacky or sticky and here is the surprise, it lasts longer than other lip glosses from high brands. The shine is decent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 herbgurl82 on 6/17/2011 10:08:00 PM more reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous pinky-berry shade! Very shiney on your lips, with a light mint scent. Does tend to wear off quickly though. The applicator is a little annoying, (too long, and clunky) and you do not get much product in the tube, but for a buck, how can you go wrong?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 haleyanna19 on 6/9/2011 9:15:00 AM more reviews by haleyanna19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE these lucious liquid lipsticks!!!! I have this color, Brownie Points, Strawberry Lemonade, and Baby Lips, which I just got yesterday so I haven't tried it yet. These are fantastic, consistency of a gloss, yet color of a lipstick. I am NC15 and a sucker for darker lipsticks, so I made sure to snag this one. While the color payoff isn't as GREAT as I'd want it to be, I am satisfied for only one dollar. Stock up on these, theyre soooo worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silverwing on 5/8/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by silverwing

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay product but nothing special. I have pigmented lips so on me this shade is very sheer.

The applicator is annoying and I would prefer a wand instead of this thing. To get any product I have to twist a few times and then stand it upsidedown in my purse.

I probably wouldn't but this again since I dislike the applicator and the color, while nice, is not someting that I can't find elsewhere in better packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Lip Gloss products