Revlon • Shiny Sheers • Lipstick

rated 4.0(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissNRI on 11/12/2011 1:28:00 PM more reviews by MissNRI

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I must admit these lipsticks took some adjustment for me...as I am one for very heavy, opaque, buttery creamy lipsticks and the thought of sheers seemed like such a dramatic change. I tried Sparkling Sienna and Rum Glow and was surprised that I actually liked them...provided I have an opaque, long wear lipstick underneath as a base. Shiny Sheers are very pretty, with nice shades and a pretty semi-glossy finish. I just prefer more coverage and color from my lipstick which is why I don't wear them by themselves. But if you are looking for a sheer lipstick I would very highly recommend these. And for those of you like me who prefer opaque lipstick, layer a Shiny Sheer over your typical lipstick...they make great "transformers" to change colors and finishes a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie35 on 3/12/2011 9:43:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have Shiny Sheers in Rum Glow and Sparkling Sienna, and I must say that I am impressed!! These lippies are beautiful, moisturizing, and pigmented!!


Rum Glow is a burgundy red/brown shade that compliments my pale skin, hazel/green eyes, & light hair. Most lippies of this color range pull orange on me, or too much brown. Hate that! But not Rum Glow. Seems to be a perfect balance. My favorite shade (and formula) of all my lippies!!


And Sparkling Sienna is more of a pinky red on me with a hint of gold. Hard to describe! It gives a punch of color that brightens my face without being OTT.


I will def will be getting backups and will be trying more shades!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlepickle on 2/6/2010 9:03:00 PM more reviews by littlepickle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I only found these lipsticks when they were already reduced to clear, but they are the best $10 I've spent on lipstick :) I have them in 802 - Sparkling Sienna and 817 - Sunlit Pink. They're both lovely, flattering shades. The sienna looks a little scary as it's quite dark in the tube, but when applied it is a gorgeous, deep rose gold. The Sunlit Pink is a sweet, if somewhat generic shade, which can be swiped on for a pretty, nude look. I love glitter, so didn't mind this in these lipsticks and as they seem to be more casual than other lippies, I kind of expected it. If you can find these on sale, and are wanting to graduate from lip gloss to a lip stick, but like the look of lip gloss, these are definitely for you. I'd definitely stock up on more of these if I found them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 balmmom on 9/30/2009 11:19:00 PM more reviews by balmmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Shiny Sheers and was disappointed to learn that they've been discontinued. If you have a Big Lots near you, they might have some to stock up on. I found most of the shades for $3 each at Big Lots today.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjx3pooh on 5/23/2009 1:42:00 AM more reviews by cjx3pooh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Color: Extremely sheer, which should be expected since it's in the name and the shade name (I got it in Sheer Afterglow)
Texture: Somewhat smooth & moisturizing, with chunky glitter, which is why I'm giving it a low rating
Value: For $8, you're getting very little product, which is similar to the MAC slimshine, except you're getting chunky glitter
Lasting power: Since it's really smooth, it doesn't last too long, but probably more than a gloss since it's not liquid
Packaging: Takes a while to twist up, very little product again; I like the see-through top, but that's typical of Revlon lipsticks
Verdict: Since it's been discontinued, I can't purchase it anymore on sale anyway, so yeah. I'm glad I tried it, b/c I found out I'd probably not buy this kind of lip product, since I'd rather apply a lipstick then a gloss

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katiedid0985 on 3/12/2009 11:48:00 AM more reviews by katiedid0985

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love love love these! I'm not a huge fan of lipstick due to the texture and because I prefer a more sheer color, so this is perfect. It feels like lip gloss but gives me a nice light color and a little bit of shine. I have glistening rose which is the perfect color on me, a light pinkish red with a little bit of sparkle. I also have the light pink (sheer blossom I think) and the ruby or cherry one, can't remember. I love them all. I'm worried they're discontinuing them though because I can't find them in the stores much and they're not on the website anymore! I really hope not because this is always my go to lip color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msguna1 on 1/2/2009 7:55:00 PM more reviews by msguna1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Okay, so I found this product on clearance for 4. 15 and decided to give it a try. I am not much for lipsticks but this one is sheer enough to try. I got the very last one in peachy sheen. I LOVE IT. It does have a slightly gritty feel to it, but if worn above any lip balm it should be alright. The color is beautiful on my skin tone, I am a pacific islander, so slightly darker than your typical Asian. Overall for a chick who doesn't typically put on lipstick or lipgloss, I would buy it again if my tube runs out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WendyW on 12/6/2008 7:18:00 AM more reviews by WendyW

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wears off way too quickly even if you don't eat or drink. I have lip balms and Chapstick that wears longer than this product. Would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xosimplyrandomxo on 11/27/2008 1:12:00 PM more reviews by xosimplyrandomxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought one of the Revlon shiny sheers l/s in ruby radiance. I love this product because even with the darker shades (such as the red I purchased), it's not a bright red but adds just enough color on your lips to make them look like they're alive. I believe it works with all skin tones. The color selection is ok but I hope they expand. The tube is skinny and the top is clear so you can see the color of the actual product, which is quite nifty. It has an spf of 15 so that's a plus.

The price at my cvs is 7.99 but if you're lucky, you can get revlon products for a bogo. The amount of product isn't a huge amount but it will last (if used everyday) for at least a month or so. But I don't use it everyday so I have a goooood chunk of it left.

The lipstick is creamy and soft and easy to put on.

My particular one is a ruby color, as the name suggests, with red shimmers. It's not gritty at all.

I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who's looking for a good go-to lipstick, something they can stick in their pocket, purse, jacket, etc.


Hope that was helpful!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlepickling on 8/27/2008 1:18:00 AM more reviews by littlepickling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I picked up one of the Peachy Sheen shade in this range at a cosmetics & perfume sale a couple of weeks ago and adore it so much that I went out and bought Sunlit Pink a few days ago. This lipstick is incredibly moisturising, slides on like a gloss and lasts like a lipstick. With their sheer nature they're almost universally flattering, too. I found the second one I purchased on the sale shelf of one of the local pharmacies so it looks like they may be discontinued in New Zealand, but I hope not - I really love wearing them. They're also SPF 15, which is great. The one problem I have is that my Peachy Sheen cap always comes off, so I've had to cut the top off it before due to getting other makeup reside on it in my makeup bag. But that just seems like I got a faulty tube, so no real complaint.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products