MAC • Studio Tech • Crème

rated 3.5(891 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bunniluv88 on 4/19/2014 5:43:00 PM more reviews by bunniluv88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I was at the MAC store recently,because I had ran out of blush and needed to pick up a new one.I noticed the studio tech foundation section,and I decided to give it a try.This is a full coverage foundation that can feel cakey and heavy if not applied with a light hand.I use the skunk brush (145) to apply.It gives a flawless even finish when applied with a brush.I highly recommend,and would purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LolaKandler on 3/24/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by LolaKandler

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation can be very heavy, I use NW23 and I'm naturally quite tanned, however this foundation is quite orange, and I found it didn't rub in too well. It's expensive, and I don't think I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 swtlitchi on 3/19/2014 11:00:00 PM more reviews by swtlitchi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Erp, I wasted my money on this fdtn... I used to love MAC's Studio Stick which has been discontinued for a few years. After I used that up, I bounced around between brands and fdtns, and decided to give MAC Fdtns another try.

I was erroneously thinking that this foundation would be kind of like the Studio Stick but in pan form when I bought it. Boy, was I wrong! This foundation is undoubtedly a medium/full coverage, and reminds me of those girls in HS who used to pile on the fdtn to cover up acne (done poorly). It is a creme, but doesn't sink into the skin at all, instead I feel like it sits on top of my face and feels heavy. The foundation transfers easily and seems to accentuate any imperfections from dry skin, even though it should supposedly be creamier than a powder foundation. I've had this foundation for a year or two? Had started to hit pan but lost interest in it, and switched to another foundation. ALSO, I have very dry, eczema-affected skin on my face that can flare up during seasons, stress, etc. During most of the past year or two, I have not been wearing a lot of makeup because of my eczema... but before that period of time? I was using this foundation. I am not sure if it was a contributing fact to my skin drying out even more, but I don't associate this foundation with good skin. I also saw more acne pop up on my cheeks- near my cheekbones (and I am in my mid-late twenties who predominately would break out only on my nose and chin from hormones).

I am sure that there are better full coverage foundations out there! I give it two lippies more for the wide range of colors because I am so yellow/warm and it is hard to find a match sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleViolet on 2/23/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

MAC's color matching is great, but the makeup can be heavy.

I used this product when I was in my early 20s and living in gross, humid, Houston. I was also waiting tables. So I was usually a sweaty, shiny mess. This makeup does have great coverage...my transvestite friend was actually the person who turned me onto this--he used it to cover his beard once he shaved for performances! So that tells you how much coverage this offers.

I am just too oily to work well with this heavy of a foundation. Even with a blending sponge, it was too suffocating for my skin. Didn't lead to breakouts or streak, but I had to switch to something else.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kalihagen1 on 12/29/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by kalihagen1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

MAC Studio Tech is officially my HG product! For years I had worn MAC Studio Fix Fluid foundation and had been unhappy with the way it settled on my skin. While at the MAC counter looking for a different shade of the Studio Fix Fluid, a woman stopped the MAC artist and told him that in her experience as a makeup artist, she found that the MAC Studio Tech creme foundation typically works the best for my skin type. I have never been so thankful for a piece of advice in my life! I quickly fell in love with this product. At first, I found that the product was thick and cakey. Soon I learned that the brush or sponge must be wet to achieve the desired, stunning look. Nothing I have tried before or after this product quite compares. This is also the first product I have bought from MAC that matches my skin perfectly. MAC Studio Tech creme foundation is definitely a product that I would recommend to everyone looking for a good, consistent foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OmbreJane on 12/29/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by OmbreJane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love love LOVE this product. Finally I found my holy grail. After a 10 year search lol. Ok, first thing first. I used like a hundred foundations in my life, never being completely happy about one of them.
I bought expensives ones and the cheaper ones. The only foundation I bought twice is the mac sculpt. But I didnt like the way it seemed to not blend in my skin, it kinda 'lays' on you're skin. After reading almost every single review on the studio tech, I thought I gave it a try, with not really high hopes, but yeah, it is an amazing foundation.

My skin problems are having large pores on my cheeks and freckels on the side of my face which looks like a beard of freckels lol. I use a good concealer for the side freckels, and I wanted a foundation for my whole face. I wanted it to have full or medium coverage. But still looking natural and 'fresh' and also easy to apply. Well a lot of high coverage foundations seem to sink into your pores, I always check in daylight to see if the pores didn't turned into hugh crators cause of the foundation. I do use a good primer.

When I first tried this foundation I was so curious,I couldn't wait and I put it on right away, without any primer or creme. And I thought it looked so smooth, and it felt smooth. When checking my skin in the daylight, I was suprised it didn't made my face look like a Swiss cheese, since I didn't use a primer.
The next day when I did use a primer and this foundation, I look airbrushed. Perfectly smooth and it gives the covarege that you want, you decide. It looks natural. It doesn't make pores look bigger. It makes them look smaller. Easy to apply (I use my fingers)
It does give you kinda a glow, I guess. It's not completely matt, but I always use a powder to finish my make-up. I have the mac studio fix and foundation powder, also an amazing product, but I find it too heavy to go with this foundation. I don't need more covarege with this product, I need it only for setting the foundation or touch ups (Gonna try Mac's sheer pressed powder to go with this one)


I truly recommend this product to the girls who are looking for the same things as I was in a foundation. Yes, I will buy this product again. And again, and again. :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adeballesteros on 10/14/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by adeballesteros

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Another reviewer said: My Holy Grail Foundation. i agree with her. Best foundation i ever had.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thatmakeupgirl on 10/7/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by thatmakeupgirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I went and got the perfect shade picked out for me so it is so comforting not to have to worry about lines. It went on and was instantly perfect. My imperfections weren't visible. It stayed on all day as well. I put Mac Primer on beforehand too. I just love everything about this and would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saynotococo on 10/6/2013 10:58:00 AM more reviews by saynotococo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using the mineralize foundie, and was curious to try this one. The MUA said this one is slightly more matte than the mineralize. After trying, I can say that it is pretty similar to the mineralize foundie . I honestly can't tell/feel the difference b/w the two.
The one thing I really love about this foundie, is that it gives you a pretty good coverage that you can easily build up thru layers as you go along.... AAANNDDD it doesn't make my face look cakey. Coverage is not 100% perfect, you still need a dab of concealer to totally cover redness/dark spots, otherwise you can still see just a bit there.
I also really love how easy it is to use this product. It ain't messy at all (unlike liquid), just dab the sponge and work by layers.
Using a primer beforehand can achieve greater results. I use MAC bb beauty balm, and it makes the foundie stick better to the skin and holds the oil better, therefore it last longer.
Sometimes I don't use powder on top (if I'm in a hurry) and it still looks ok.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amary18 on 9/4/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by amary18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the only face makeup I wore throughout college. Simply amazing, it's def my go to. I have combination skin, and the coverage is just perfect.

Looks natural, even in the day time :). Using it everyday (M-F) and occasionally on weekends, a palette lasts me around 3-4 months. It's a bit on the pricey side...but keep your containers. Once you hit 6, you can trade in through the recycling program for a lipstick/eyeshadow

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Crème products