Jergens • Skin Smoothing Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(90 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 12/13/2013 5:39:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was a little disappointed in this lotion as I expected it to be more hydrating. It does nothing for my dry winter skin. It is ok for the summer. The use of parabens in this product does not surprise me, but overall it does not affect the efficacy of the product. If you are looking for more intense moisture, I would like elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katherine222 on 5/27/2013 12:38:00 AM more reviews by Katherine222

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this lotion. The texture is light. Smell is nice. Once it soaks in there is no greasy remainder, just smooth soft skin. Hard to explain, but my skin really does feel like silk for several hours after using. I use as both a body and facial moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luciaq on 5/16/2013 7:04:00 PM more reviews by luciaq

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is an okay lotion but slightly below expectation. The smell is very pleasant and it feels all right, however it is less moisturizing than other brands such as Nivea, Olay, Vaseline. Also the time it takes to absorb the product can be interesting. I used some before bed and the next morning my skin was still slightly moist and sticky due to the lotion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rebbal on 8/10/2011 11:51:00 PM more reviews by rebbal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I didn't realize how much I loved this lotion untill it's recent dissappearance. I've only been turned onto it within the past year, so so far as the new formula being inferior to the old- I can't say. Likely I would prefer this one, as my skin loves AHA's but balks at the beta's. This has done a tremendous job at preventing ingrown hairs from waxing or shaving, and when I haven't used it, destroying them overnight when they do appear. The reason it gets knocked down to a four is the horrendous smell. I would never put this on and leave the house. For nights I sleep alone, only. Texturally speaking, it wasn't my favorite, either- decent slip, but slow obsorption, and slight waxiness- but again, performance wise, extremely useful. Unfortunately, I haven't seen it in stores recently, so may have to dump a couple of jars of nicel into my hempz for the exfolliating factor. Sigh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sienna0202 on 3/15/2011 6:19:00 PM more reviews by sienna0202

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If you are looking for real smoothness, unbelieveable softness- there are better options such as Nivea, Aveeno, and if you can take the price Cetaphil. I wouldn't recomment this, there are better lotions out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 slstar on 7/23/2010 6:06:00 PM more reviews by slstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with buttascotch1...this used to be the lotion I used exclusively... right up until the formula changed a few years back which I believed was at or around the same time the new packaging came out. I used to stay ash-free and moisturized ALL DAY LONG, then suddenly, not more than like an hour or so. Extremely bad. Pass on this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 queenofthenile on 5/5/2010 11:07:00 AM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Does a fantastic job of moisturising my skin and getting rid of the irritation bumps I get on my legs from shaving. Only downside is the nauseating fruity, plastic-like scent that does NOT disappear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strawberryicepop on 5/26/2009 3:21:00 PM more reviews by strawberryicepop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

First Impression:
I was surprised at all the bad reviews here. I picked this up yesterday since I needed a lotion to exfoliate some slight ingrown hairs on my legs. The consistency is really nice, a clear-ish gel with blue beads that I like, and it makes you really rub the lotion in which I like as well. Just put it on last night and now (the afternoon) it seems to have lessened some of the ingrown hairs a bit, and I also put some on my very rough and flaky elbows; it seems to have smoothed them out as well. I also like the scent, doesn't smell plasticky to me...
Another enormous plus is that with almost very other lotion I've tried, even if they sink in quickly, they still left my skin a little tacky. This on the other hand, sinks in fast and leaves my skin touchably soft right after which I love.


I'll come back after a couple of weeks or so to give an update, but it has left me with a very good first impression :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 razorbladeshoes on 5/13/2009 3:29:00 PM more reviews by razorbladeshoes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I never used the old formula, but I can say that the new one is a waste of money. If you're looking for an effective lotion with AHAs, this is not it. The AHA content must be so low, because it made no difference on my skin. The second ingredient is "glycerin," which leaves me skeptical. This appears to be more of a hydrating lotion than an exfoliating one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mountaingem on 3/31/2009 11:02:00 PM more reviews by mountaingem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Jergens Skin Smoothing Cellular Renewal Moisturizer is my HG lotion! It exfoliates well without stinging my sensitive skin and makes getting a close shave a breeze!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jergens products

More Lotions/ Creams products