La Roche Posay • Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer with SPF 15 • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(105 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 seashell8 on 11/2/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by seashell8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The best!! I have tried a lot of high-end dermatological moisturizers and sunscreens. I even formulate my own moisturizers. Nothing beats this product. I very much appreciate that it is a moisturizer and suncreen in one, and that the SX sunscreen provides such great UVA protection. I am the type of girl who does not like having a lot of product on my face as it can feel heavy and just plain gross. Also, I hate complicated skincare routines that involve sooo many procedures and products, so I embrace anything that will distill my daily routine. This does it for me. Right as I get out of the shower, I spritz some of my antioxidant toner with glycerin all over my face and apply this moisturizer. Bam! Done, and out the door in a flash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimma64 on 9/30/2014 6:44:00 PM more reviews by mimma64

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh boy, this is the best moisturizer! A dermatologist prescribed it for me. I am 72 and both my husband and I use it daily. I apply it before applying my foundation. It is SPF 15. My skin is a little dry and this really helps to hydrate. We use it every day and it says it lasts for 24 hours. You can buy it on line. It doesn't require a prescription and is in the $20 range. I don't ever use any other product. It is not greasy as some moisturizers tend to be. It works and we will never be without it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aidanqm on 4/17/2014 2:02:00 PM more reviews by aidanqm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Summary: While this product is moisturizing, it clogged my pores and broke me out badly.

Con's
* Broke me out and clogged my pores almost immediately!
* My skin was also slightly itchy.
* Too heavy, made my skin look greasy. And my skin is very dry.
* Expensive!

Pro's
* It does moisturize for those who don't mind looking shiny
* It blend in well and does not leave a white cast

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaMiaDolceVita on 3/27/2014 12:43:00 AM more reviews by LaMiaDolceVita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Each time I attempted to use this, I woke up with sore, under-the-skin spots on my forehead the following day. If you are prone to facial KP, redness, and clogged pores, I would avoid this. It's fairly expensive in the U.S. at $35 from CVS or Ulta, but you do get a decent amount in the tube. I've switched to Philosophy's Hope in a Jar Oil-Free SPF 30 with better results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 3/18/2014 4:32:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this sunscreen would be a good option for my dehydrated oily skin but unfortunately, it was too moisturizing and contributed to foundation oxidation.

I purchased this at CVS because they have a decent return policy. It was $35 before tax but I did use a 20% off coupon, which CVS offers pretty regularly.

I had read this product was very moisturizing so I skipped my own moisturizer and just went with the sunscreen. It was creamy and melted onto my skin nicely. When I used a full 1/4 teaspoon, which is the recommended amount for one's face, I looked like a white, greasy mess. Fortunately, the white cast went away after a couple of minutes and the sunscreen dried down decently to a semi-matte finish. Decently only because I felt the finish was a bit tacky even after several minutes.

While I had no problems applying any of my makeup on top of the sunscreen, my foundations oxidized more than I was comfortable with. I'm sure the issue had something to do with the sunscreen being so moisturizing and my skin already being on the oily side (even as it is dehydrated too).

Speaking of moisturizing, this is not a drying product in the least. I wore this sunscreen on a couple of cool days and I got oily pretty quickly. I did not experience melting foundation or anything drastic but my skin did feel uncomfortable.

I would not say this is a tenacious sunscreen because I found that it washed off my hands fairly easy. I do, however, always use an oil-based makeup remover for anything I wear on my face.

One other issue I had with this product was that it contains avobenzone. I don't have an issue with the filter itself -- no breakouts or anything -- but I find that it is a bit of a headache trying to avoid unstable sunscreen combinations such as avobenzone and octinoxate. Not a huge deal -- just a personal inconvenience considering some of my foundations do contain octinoxate.

Overall, a nice sunscreen for someone who isn't oily.

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone 2%, Ecamsule 2%, Octocrylene 10%.
Inactive ingredients: Carbomer 940, Carbomer Copolymer Type B, Cyclomethicone, Cimethicone, Edetate Disodium, Glycerin, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Isopropyl Palmitate, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Propylene Glycol, Propylparaben, Purified Water, Stearic Acid, Stearoyl Macrogolglycerides, Stearyl Alcohol, Trolamine.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crawfore on 3/2/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by crawfore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent moisturizer. It isn't greasy or tacky and leaves a semi-matte finish on my combination oily/dry skin. And it's comfortable to wear. Physical sunscreen moisturizers tend to feel dry on my skin. This doesn't. The SPF is low for outdoors but it works fine during the week when I'm indoors all day. I highly recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ebyanne on 1/30/2014 9:40:00 AM more reviews by Ebyanne

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cream. I wish it were called a moisturizer instead of a sunscreen because I think more people would try it. It is my "go to" moisturizer. I don't know of another brand that has Mexoryl sunscreen in it. Mexoryl screens out damaging rays better than creams with higher SPF's. You can read a more in depth review at http://www.anniesnuggets.com/2011/04/second-best-sunscreen.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 1/19/2014 5:40:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry/dehydrated combo skin that can break out from spf or moisturizers. This is the best I spf moisturizer I have found and I have been on the hunt! It feels so light. I put it on my husband's hand and he hates spf and won't wear it. He was impressed and couldn't feel it. Rubs right in fast and leaves no white cast. It is very light feeling - not greasy. There is zero sting or temporary redness, which I some times get from other chemical ss. I really like putting it on, as opposed to can live with it, as it protects and softens my skin. Too bad it's not 30 spf, but the protection is said to be excellent. I can use it around the eyes, with no irritation or watering. It is expensive, but they tube seems like it would last a long time. I wouldn't say it has zero shine though. Some days I do have more shine. It does have silicones, so if they clog you or you have oily skin it might not be for you. I found it soothing and protecting on my dryish skin out in the wind and cold. It's very simple and the that is the beauty of it - so few ingredients to create problems. Another plus is that it has no added fragrance. It does have a mild spf smell from the ingredient. The smell fades fast! I have been looking for a light weight, no-clogging, oil-free spf moisturizer. It goes on thick and while it absorbs, it remains tacky. Feels like you have glycerine on. On my body, that be heaven. It's a bit sticky as a moisturizer. Can make my eyes water.

Pros:
light weight
invisible - no white cast
not greasy
no fragrance
softens skin and protects
great UVA/UVB protection


Cons:
Expensive
Only 15 spf
Leaves a shiny greasy finish, though light
Can make mu slide and adds shine

Update: having huge problems combing makeup and spf under in general, which they all do. Make seems fade fast. If they are dewy they get more so. It's greasy and that stays. Lucky I am dry skinned. But

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rburney on 12/31/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by rburney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate sunscreen. It's smelly and usually feels awful on. That being said La Roche-Posay Anthelios SX (SPF 15) is the most tolerable. It has the least amount of odor and from what I researched the broadest range of protection without paying achingly high prices on European imports. It is an excellent light duty (non waterproof) sunscreen. I'm Fitzpatrick type V, so the SPF 15 is fine although I wish they would approve Mexoryl XL and some of the other European sunscreens in the US. I can tell it works because I can use my winter foundation well into mid summer if I am diligent in my application. The only negatives are 1) it can be a bit greasy in the summertime. This is easily remedied with a light dusting of powder. 2) It's on the expensive side. I usually stock up when I get a coupon or it goes on sale. Otherwise, A+ until something better comes along.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StephNetti on 9/8/2013 11:28:00 AM more reviews by StephNetti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product after my dermatologist recommended it. She said it provides the broadest sun protection of any sunblock on the market in the US and said she uses it herself (her skin is gorgeous so I figured I would take her word for it). I have been using it every morning for 2 weeks and so far so good. I am a product junkie, so I have tried quite a few moisturizers... And I really like this product. It is a straight forward, semi thick cream... It is very moisturizing and has been nice under my makeup. I have mild rosacea and fair skin, and haven't experience any breakouts or irritation. Since my derm recommended it so highly (and looking at her as proof of its effectiveness) I will be sticking w it for a while looks like!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products