La Roche Posay • Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer with SPF 15 • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 aidanqm on 4/17/2014 2:02:00 PM more reviews by aidanqm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Summary: While this product is moisturizing, it clogged my pores and broke me out badly.

Con's
* Broke me out and clogged my pores almost immediately!
* My skin was also slightly itchy.
* Too heavy, made my skin look greasy. And my skin is very dry.
* Expensive!

Pro's
* It does moisturize for those who don't mind looking shiny
* It blend in well and does not leave a white cast

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaMiaDolceVita on 3/27/2014 12:43:00 AM more reviews by LaMiaDolceVita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Each time I attempted to use this, I woke up with sore, under-the-skin spots on my forehead the following day. If you are prone to facial KP, redness, and clogged pores, I would avoid this. It's fairly expensive in the U.S. at $35 from CVS or Ulta, but you do get a decent amount in the tube. I've switched to Philosophy's Hope in a Jar Oil-Free SPF 30 with better results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 3/18/2014 4:32:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this sunscreen would be a good option for my dehydrated oily skin but unfortunately, it was too moisturizing and contributed to foundation oxidation.

I purchased this at CVS because they have a decent return policy. It was $35 before tax but I did use a 20% off coupon, which CVS offers pretty regularly.

I had read this product was very moisturizing so I skipped my own moisturizer and just went with the sunscreen. It was creamy and melted onto my skin nicely. When I used a full 1/4 teaspoon, which is the recommended amount for one's face, I looked like a white, greasy mess. Fortunately, the white cast went away after a couple of minutes and the sunscreen dried down decently to a semi-matte finish. Decently only because I felt the finish was a bit tacky even after several minutes.

While I had no problems applying any of my makeup on top of the sunscreen, my foundations oxidized more than I was comfortable with. I'm sure the issue had something to do with the sunscreen being so moisturizing and my skin already being on the oily side (even as it is dehydrated too).

Speaking of moisturizing, this is not a drying product in the least. I wore this sunscreen on a couple of cool days and I got oily pretty quickly. I did not experience melting foundation or anything drastic but my skin did feel uncomfortable.

I would not say this is a tenacious sunscreen because I found that it washed off my hands fairly easy. I do, however, always use an oil-based makeup remover for anything I wear on my face.

One other issue I had with this product was that it contains avobenzone. I don't have an issue with the filter itself -- no breakouts or anything -- but I find that it is a bit of a headache trying to avoid unstable sunscreen combinations such as avobenzone and octinoxate. Not a huge deal -- just a personal inconvenience considering some of my foundations do contain octinoxate.

Overall, a nice sunscreen for someone who isn't oily.

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone 2%, Ecamsule 2%, Octocrylene 10%.
Inactive ingredients: Carbomer 940, Carbomer Copolymer Type B, Cyclomethicone, Cimethicone, Edetate Disodium, Glycerin, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Isopropyl Palmitate, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Propylene Glycol, Propylparaben, Purified Water, Stearic Acid, Stearoyl Macrogolglycerides, Stearyl Alcohol, Trolamine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crawfore on 3/2/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by crawfore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent moisturizer. It isn't greasy or tacky and leaves a semi-matte finish on my combination oily/dry skin. And it's comfortable to wear. Physical sunscreen moisturizers tend to feel dry on my skin. This doesn't. The SPF is low for outdoors but it works fine during the week when I'm indoors all day. I highly recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ebyanne on 1/30/2014 9:40:00 AM more reviews by Ebyanne

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cream. I wish it were called a moisturizer instead of a sunscreen because I think more people would try it. It is my "go to" moisturizer. I don't know of another brand that has Mexoryl sunscreen in it. Mexoryl screens out damaging rays better than creams with higher SPF's. You can read a more in depth review at http://www.anniesnuggets.com/2011/04/second-best-sunscreen.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 1/19/2014 5:40:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry/dehydrated combo skin that can break out from spf or moisturizers. This is the best I spf moisturizer I have found and I have been on the hunt! It feels so light. I put it on my husband's hand and he hates spf and won't wear it. He was impressed and couldn't feel it. Rubs right in fast and leaves no white cast. It is very light feeling - not greasy. There is zero sting or temporary redness, which I some times get from other chemical ss. I really like putting it on, as opposed to can live with it, as it protects and softens my skin. Too bad it's not 30 spf, but the protection is said to be excellent. I can use it around the eyes, with no irritation or watering. It is expensive, but they tube seems like it would last a long time. I wouldn't say it has zero shine though. Some days I do have more shine. It does have silicones, so if they clog you or you have oily skin it might not be for you. I found it soothing and protecting on my dryish skin out in the wind and cold. It's very simple and the that is the beauty of it - so few ingredients to create problems. Another plus is that it has no added fragrance. It does have a mild spf smell from the ingredient. The smell fades fast! I have been looking for a light weight, no-clogging, oil-free spf moisturizer. It goes on thick and while it absorbs, it remains tacky. Feels like you have glycerine on. On my body, that be heaven. It's a bit sticky as a moisturizer. Can make my eyes water.

Pros:
light weight
invisible - no white cast
not greasy
no fragrance
softens skin and protects
great UVA/UVB protection


Cons:
Expensive
Only 15 spf
Leaves a shiny greasy finish, though light
Can make mu slide and adds shine

Update: having huge problems combing makeup and spf under in general, which they all do. Make seems fade fast. If they are dewy they get more so. It's greasy and that stays. Lucky I am dry skinned. But

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rburney on 12/31/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by rburney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate sunscreen. It's smelly and usually feels awful on. That being said La Roche-Posay Anthelios SX (SPF 15) is the most tolerable. It has the least amount of odor and from what I researched the broadest range of protection without paying achingly high prices on European imports. It is an excellent light duty (non waterproof) sunscreen. I'm Fitzpatrick type V, so the SPF 15 is fine although I wish they would approve Mexoryl XL and some of the other European sunscreens in the US. I can tell it works because I can use my winter foundation well into mid summer if I am diligent in my application. The only negatives are 1) it can be a bit greasy in the summertime. This is easily remedied with a light dusting of powder. 2) It's on the expensive side. I usually stock up when I get a coupon or it goes on sale. Otherwise, A+ until something better comes along.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StephNetti on 9/8/2013 11:28:00 AM more reviews by StephNetti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product after my dermatologist recommended it. She said it provides the broadest sun protection of any sunblock on the market in the US and said she uses it herself (her skin is gorgeous so I figured I would take her word for it). I have been using it every morning for 2 weeks and so far so good. I am a product junkie, so I have tried quite a few moisturizers... And I really like this product. It is a straight forward, semi thick cream... It is very moisturizing and has been nice under my makeup. I have mild rosacea and fair skin, and haven't experience any breakouts or irritation. Since my derm recommended it so highly (and looking at her as proof of its effectiveness) I will be sticking w it for a while looks like!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RThorn on 6/19/2013 8:24:00 AM more reviews by RThorn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This has been a mainstay sunscreen for me for several years now. I have dry skin, and anything with a dry or matte finish (as a lot of sunscreens have) dries me out too much. This is like the polar opposite of that. It's not just a moisturizer; it's a cream, and incredibly emollient. When fully absorbed, it leaves a somewhat shiny finish, so you have to wear makeup over it (at least I do). I tend to wear a fair amount of it because I want the sun protection as well as the moisturizing benefits.

I would say it absorbs decently well. It's not the kind of sunscreen that you just smooth it on and it's gone--you have to work at it a little bit. On the other hand it does become fully absorbed and doesn't just sit on top of the skin. It has a really nice feel to it.

The price is a little high, at $10/ounce, but if you buy it with a 20% off coupon online or at the drugstore it becomes more reasonable, especially if it takes the place of two products for you (sunscreen and moisturizer). The packaging is OK, but I wish there were an easier way to get the last bits out. I always keep an empty 1/2 ounce jar on hand and when no more will squeeze out I cut the tube open with kitchen shears and scrape out what's left. It always comes to 1/2 ounce or more! That's $5 worth of sunscreen left in the tube.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautycalls09 on 5/6/2013 1:54:00 PM more reviews by beautycalls09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Did some research and found that this is the only mexoryl-containing product for sale in the US. (Mexoryl (ecamsule) is the ingredient that blocks UVA rays responsible for photoaging--it's also way more photostable than comparable sunscreens which is why it is so popular outside the states.) This contains a 2% concentration, and I'm not sure how much that is in comparison to other LRP products in Europe, but I am only looking for a daily moisturizer with good sun protection and not a heavy-duty sunscreen, so it works for me.

If this didn't have Mexoryl I would probably discount it as too heavy (I wear this under my powder foundation) but I'm willing to sacrifice a little bit for the extra protection. It takes 5-10 minutes to absorb completely before I can put makeup on over it, and after that I don't really notice the heavy feeling until later in day when my skin's gotten oily (with this on, it feels oilier than normal.) I don't notice any white residue and I've got a medium, olive skin tone.

This is pretty expensive (for me) costing around $35 dollars for a 3.4 oz tube. I bought it at CVS when they had a $10 extra bucks rebate. It will also last quite a while as I only use a dime size for my entire face.

Overall not a bad product if you're prioritizing sun protection in your search for a daily moisturizer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products