Johnson & Johnson Head to Toe baby wash


389 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $


NEW FORMULA:Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, PEG-150 Distearate, Phenoxyethanol, Glycerin, Citric Acid, Fragrance, Sodium Benzoate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Polyquaternium-10, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hydroxide, Potassium Acrylates Copolymer, Yellow 6, Yellow 10.

on 8/29/2015 6:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm loving the improved formula since it has a lighter scent. Some body washes are either too strongly scented or some fragrance-free smell rancid. It's very gentle, I can use it anywhere, hence my private female parts. It's not as moisturizing as the Johnson's moisture wash but it's not drying either. I prefer the head to toe wash to other Johnson baby wash because it has the best and lightest scent.

I just love this scent.... it's so a breeze in the wind. I feel so pure and clean with this scent. This is the perfect light scent for a baby or anyone since sometimes some fragrance-free products tend to smell rancid. I guess a little amount of fragrance is good to keep it from smelling rancid.

Gentle for anywhere on the body(face, ect.)
Very light scent
Perfect light scent

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 8/16/2015 12:03:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I started using this to wash my eyelids when I had constant itchy eyes. Baby shampoo was recommended but I found this to be milder. If the object is to keep the lashline perfectly clean, this does the job. Just a drop with water on a baby wipe, squeeze it to create lather and it removes eye makeup very well. You have to be ultra gentle with the wipe but I think they are less rough and more effective than washcloths. I never used this on the rest of the face or on the body. Oh yes, I also use it to wash my beautyblender and makeup brushes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 5/15/2015 6:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I started to use this because the formula of my favourite-Dove sensitive-has changed and is fairly pore clogging.
I must have a chronically impaired lipid barrier, because cleansers at the "proper" pH if 5.5 seems to dry and irritate my skin. Cleansers in the 6-7 range are better. Such is the case with dove and J&J head to toe.
I don't find it *too drying , but it can be so a bit of moisturizer is required. That sucks because I hate Moisturizes when it's warmer than 5�C outside.
Ive been using this for about 3 weeks. Will update.
As promised I've been using this to wash my face for nearly a month. It's a great, all purpose mild cleanser. The detergents used in the formula in Canada are largely amphoteric and non-ionic. The pH matters and for whatever reason, a pH of 6-7 works well for me. However The main reason this is such a good face wash has to do with the surfactants cocamidol Betatine and sorbitan laurate (aka PEG 80) Since surfactant micelles can penetrate the stratum corneum, using a cleanser with these detergents mean larger micelles are on the skin-not penetrating the Aquaous pores-there is little to no irritation and inflammation.
That said it is pretty boring. It's not going to do much more than cleanse your skin. Really that's all I want.
***UPDATE*** Ive tested the pH of this wash. It is 5.5
I trust this wash. I'll probably use it for the rest of my life. It hasn't irritated my skin, dried it out or bothered me with its light scent. I hope J&J can just leave the formula alone.
***UPDATE*** (Insert facepalm emoji here) after a few months of consistant use, I could help but notice how much older and and plain washed out I was looking. The weather hasn't been great, that's true but I don't look this...old and dehydrated in the dead of winter.
I came back to MUA to look at the "lowest first" reviews to see what was said.
Then I googled quaternium 15.
I hoped the damage I've done to my skin isn't permanent. Please, please don't wash your face with this. If you don't want to age ten years in three months, stay far away. I'm going to either try dove again.,.or not wash my face at all. My skin has driven me nuts for YEARS. Look at my reviews. I don't review makeup much, just soap soap & more soap. Well, face wash and skincare tools. Honestly, I am freakin' done with it. The less i do, the better.
*Last word~ thankfully its not permanent. I went back to Dove and so far things have been pretty ok :) The "orange peel" look to my skin is gone. That is the hallmark of stripped skin. That and dehydration lines in the apple of the cheeks. If you notice this and a general washed out pallor, it may be this stuff ruining your skin.
***UPDATE*** Wrong again. The Canadian version doesnt even contain quaternium 15. What a dummy. Yeah it was probably due to the fact I'd sworn off all BHA and AHAs and manual exfoliation doesnt seem to "get it done"
Anyway, I tried to love this stuff. Cheap, non ionic detergent based cleanser witha confirmed 5.5 (I emailed Johnson & Johnson) but it does make me look dried out and pale. Yeah sure, it's not irritating but it also sucks the life out my skin.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 2/1/2015 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

After trying out countless cleansers I can happily say this is my favorite one.

I enjoy it's gentle yet effective formula and the fact that it's super inexpensive and really accessible. It's never stung my eyes or caused dryness or tight skin.

I like that I can purchase large quantities for cheap prices at numerous retailers. A big bottle last me a while (I wash my face twice daily).

My only con of this product is that it takes a pretty hefty pump to fully cleanse my face. Other than that it's an amazing product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 12/22/2014 10:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

We use this as our family body wash due to other body Soaps Fragrance . I use for my makeup brushes and weekly mix with baking soda for face scrub. I use dove bar the original and switch between this baby wash and others . No complaints.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/23/2014 2:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

After about 9 years of purchasing this, I stopped, and my husband really missed it. His eyes are very sensitive to soap, yet he has no problem with this. I've now placed an order for another two large bottles!
I Love how makes my skin feel and smell.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 9/23/2014 2:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite body wash for about a year now. The new improved version lathers much better than the old version. However, I do prefer the scent of the old version. Recently tried Johnson's Natural Baby Lotion and really liked it. I think I will try the Natural Head to Toe Baby Wash next.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 7/31/2014 9:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is amazing, If you didn't know it has a new formula, it's safer now. I've been using this for about 5 or 6 months, this when i had dry skin senstive skin because of accutane and this never dry out my skin or game a rash or any allergic reaction. It doesn't moisturized but it doesn't leave your skin dry and It doesn't clog my pores at all. Don't use this to remove make up it fails on that. It may help you remove residue of makeup but not all of it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 5/12/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

HG for me. This does not give me acne, and is extremely gentle. I use it all over, including on my face. I follow up with Witch hazel for toner and then sweet almond oil for moisturizer. This regimen works perfectly for me.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

on 11/17/2013 2:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i usually buy the generic version of this from my grocery store (HEB for those lucky enough to be in Texas).

i was out and at another store and bought this instead thinking it would be the same thing.

well for me it was MUCH more drying and it made my scalp itch!

i took it back and will never stray again from my generic :(

too bad - i love the cute little bottle.

Popular Body Skincare Products

All Products
All Products
726 Reviews
Healing Cream
Healing Cream
321 Reviews

Top Rated Johnson & Johnson Products


Baby Powder

165 reviews

Purpose Cleanser

107 reviews

Baby Shampoo

336 reviews
Back to Top